We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Condition/Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palihouse West Hollywood
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Poor Condition/Great Service”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The staff is great but the condition of the room needs some serious work. We had reserved just a standard suite but we're upgraded to one of the residences. Here are the issues we found.

-Hair in the bed (I am bald and my partner has short hair, definitely not ours)
-Condition of the furniture, everything seems to be scratched up from the table to the night stands. Spots on the sofa and pillows. Holes in the lamp.
-Carpet was stained
-Mold in the shower
-All the walls were marked up.
-Holes in the sheets and my towel tore in half when I was drying off with it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSN97203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, General Manager at Palihouse West Hollywood, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Palihouse on your most recent visit. We wanted to inform you that we are taking your concerns and comments very seriously and doing a thorough inspection in all our linen and general condition on the room you stayed in. In addition, we have put the room you stayed in out of order so that we can address the issues immediately. Please email fernando@pali-group.com directly next time you stay and he will make sure your next stay is much more enjoyable. We promise we won't disappoint you next time.

Warm Regards,

Palihouse Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    44
    12
    12
    22
See reviews for
29
50
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at this fabulous hotel!
The rooms were decorated well and the layout was excellent - the bathrooms were a decent size and it was great to have a lounge area separate from the bed.
The staff were absolutely fantastic - nothing was too much trouble!
We enjoyed eating in the restaurant, the food was delicious and reasonably priced.
The only thing I would comment on is that the couch in our room was in dire need of repair (the fabric was very ripped). Everything else was wonderful - I would definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room as close to the rooftop as possible so you don't hear noice from the cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse West Hollywood, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Corrina,

Thank you for the lovely review and your feedback. It was a pleasure having you as our guest while you visited L.A. It's great to hear our team was attentive to your needs and helpful. Please visit us again soon.

P.S. Our apologies for the couch! We pinpointed the couch and had it replaced right away.

Finest Regards
Palihouse Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

When I first landed at LAX, I didn't really feel like I was "here" yet. Even our cab driver who so effortlessly tried to show us around Beverly Hills and Sunset Blvd upon arriving to the Palihouse still didn't sink in that I was actually in LA. Then I checked into the Palihouse. I finally felt like I was home and that my new home was Los Angeles, California. We were greeted with nothing but smiles and friendliness. We arrived a bit early (around 11am and check in was at 3pm) but Sean, one of your lovely employees, suggested we go grab a bite to eat around the hotel. Being fairly new to the city, I was not disappointed by his recommendations. We came back to open up our room and I was literally in shock as to what I would be living in for the next week.

We were greeted by a 1 bedroom loft that is so beautifully designed to make me want to live there forever. The style of the hotel fit into my needs of what I thought LA would be all about. Reading the negative reviews right now honestly made me sad because the reason you would want to vacation is so that you can relax and enjoy yourself and the Palihouse had everything like that and more.

The partying and the club and the bars -- my only complaint is that I just wish there was more! I mean, hello people, you're in WEST HOLLYWOOD. Honestly I would pay what I paid and more to stay here again. I loved it and it did make my experience in LA the most amazing traveling experience I've had to date. Thank you to everyone there who made me feel like a star in a sky of satellites!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

.......and excellent accommodations. I booked this hotel through hot-wire.com which can sometimes be nerve racking. There was nothing to be nervous about. This hotel is a gem. The location can't be best-off of Sunset in West Hollywood. Close to everything...Beverly Hills, Universal Studios, etc. The room was MASSIVE. 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, big living room, etc.-felt like home away from home. The staff was super kind and helpful. Will stay again AND recommend to anyone traveling to West Hollywood. I understand that there is a Palihouse in Santa Monica as well that's just as nice. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srgardella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse West Hollywood, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Srgardella,

Thank you for the great review. We are excited to hear you enjoyed the accommodations, the super kind staff, and of course the location, location, location! We very much look forward to having you visit again here in West Hollywood and at our beautiful new Santa Monica property. Please email me directly at gonzalo@pali-group.com and I will make sure to take care of your reservation personally.

Warm Regards,

Gonzalo Quintero
AD of Paligroup Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

As soon as we arrived at the Palihouse, West Hollywood, we felt VIPs.
Georgia was extremely helpful and efficient during our check in.
Our 2 bedroom loft residence was amazing! Huge, beautifully cool decorated and hyper comfortable. The beds were really comfortable and the bedding excellent.
The location is perfect. Parking in the house very convenient.
We had dinner at the hotel and loved the food and the patio setting.
Everything is superb! We will definitely be back!
Thanks Palihouse for making our family vacation unforgettable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisviaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse West Hollywood, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Viaja and family,

It was our pleasure to host you at Palihouse during your recent visit. We go out of our way to make everyone feel like a VIP and we are very happy to hear Georgia treated you as so, she is one of our best. Our residence are pretty amazing, aren't they? We put a lot of thought and love into them so it's great to hear the feedback. We are also glad you dined with us at the Courtyard Brasserie and enjoyed the food and ambiance alike. Please return soon. It would be great to see you and your family again.

Best Regards,

Gonzalo Quintero
AD of Paligroup Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Everything is perfect at the Palihouse. The environment is private, pretty, spacious and incredibly comfortable. I love staying at Palihouse because it's so comfortable and inviting. Their two bedroom and one bedroom loft residences are a little piece of heaven. The food is fantastic and fresh. The service is speedy and reliable. Their concierge, Georgia is a gem. Sean is lovely as well. Palihouse is my home away from home forevermore. I'm so happy I discovered it and I don't like sharing it with too many people because it's a secret, hidden gem.

Room Tip: Go for the two bedroom loft residence or the one bedroom loft residence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I read the bad reviews and decided to give it a try anyway I don't know why. Because the rooms looked cool I guess.

> Entered the hotel Juggling with luggage and 2 employees (one of them was the GM I think) stared at me and did not move a finger to help me out down the stairs. Not as staff members welcoming you into the business, not as gentlemen giving a hand to a lady.

> I looked through a lot in their website before going, and I never found reference to the fact that they don't do housekeeping. (only every 3 days)
It might be in there somewhere but it should be posted flat-out in a conspicuous place so you don't get a bad surprise when you get there. Makes them look sneaky by not letting you know beforehand.

Service at the bar and restaurant are non-existent. I had to get up for my menu, after 20 minutes get up to find the waitress, they were out of what I wanted. Some other patrons around me were joking about the appalling service.

> Never said welcome at check-in, but they were quick to warn me about the $100 charge if I lost the key.

> at check-out they didn't ask me how my stay had been or anything other than how much
> I went as a part of a hotel road show. Met with hoteliers from the world and a lot of agencies and people from the area. Whenever people asked me where I was staying (which happens A LOT at these things) I said Palihouse and that it was terrible. Everyone said ' I know, that's what I've heard'

Never been at an unfriendlier place. They're full of themselves and they're not that cool really.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winkingturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse West Hollywood, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Winkingturkey,

Thank you for staying with us and we are very sorry that you did not have a more pleasurable stay. Our goal at Palihouse is to provide our guest with a unique residential style place to come home to without compromising, location, style, or service. For this reason we do not have a door person on staff 24 hours a day but we strive to have a welcoming presence at all times and our staff is mindful of every person walking into the hotel. We apologize if we missed you coming in.

When booking a reservation, we do send all guests a welcome letter in which our housekeeping services are outlined. This letter states we do not provide daily housekeeping but it can be arranged if a guest requests it. This information is also mentioned during the check in process and in an additional welcome letter we provide guest upon arrival. We are happy to announce, however, that due to high demand and a recent trend towards more guests arriving for quicker stays, we will be offering daily housekeeping starting August 1.

As for your experience in the restaurant, we would like welcome you back and invite you to book directly with our restaurant manager Rob Scarafia (Rob@palihouse.com).

We hope you can stay with us again in the near future to experience what Palihouse is truly about.

Finest regards,
Palihouse Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Hollywood hotels
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 18 in West Hollywood
1,624 reviews
West Hollywood
Petit Ermitage
Petit Ermitage
#2 of 18 in West Hollywood
980 reviews
Andaz West Hollywood
#4 of 18 in West Hollywood
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
The London West Hollywood
#3 of 18 in West Hollywood
1,602 reviews
West Hollywood
Sunset Tower Hotel
Sunset Tower Hotel
#1 of 18 in West Hollywood
963 reviews
West Hollywood
Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palihouse West Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palihouse West Hollywood

Property: Palihouse West Hollywood
Address: 8465 Holloway Drive, West Hollywood, CA 90069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > West Hollywood > West Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Luxury Hotel in West Hollywood
#12 Romantic Hotel in West Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palihouse West Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palihouse West Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palihouse Holloway West Hollywood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing