We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very formal, okay food”

Gordon Ramsay at The London West Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: West Hollywood
Cross street: Sunset Blvd.
Description: The Rooftop by Gordon Ramsay offers delectable al fresco dining amid panoramic views and idyllic California weather. Under the direction of Executive Chef Anthony Keene, enjoy seasonal cuisine and approachable service at this rooftop oasis. Now open daily for all-day dining.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very formal, okay food”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We went to the London for Dinner on Christmas eve. The staff were fairly rude, as we didn't have a booking. We waited for an hour, they forgot about us! But were then seated, the food was fine dining and was to be expected. Three course dinner was $95 USD which we thought was very expensive.

Nice for a splurge but probably wouldn't go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    90
    57
    30
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Admirable West Hollywood restaurant experience”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had an enjoyable dinner at Gordon Ramsay at the London the night before the Golden Globes and felt we'd had a suitably Hollywood experience, with some studio types at neighbouring tables and plenty of interesting people eating there. The London hotel has a beautiful ambiance to its lobby and the restaurant decor is suitably lux. Tables are a little closer together than we liked and the wooden floor, while beautiful, creates a lot of ambient noise which makes conversation difficult.
Food was well presented and tasty and we found the portion sizes reasonable for what is promoted as small sharing plates. We ordered for ourselves: w2 plates each and then shared desserts, and were satisfied, but some of the menu items would have been difficult to share, as came as single pieces, such as inbone yellow collar fish. We felt it was good value for money given it is a signature restaurant in a high end hotel: and would recommend it as an LA experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank POPs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Best meal ever”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Good service, excellent wine and fabulous food. A dining experience like no other. We had the Beef Wellington for main course & it was perfect. A truly wonderful evening.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HeleneHumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice spot in the sun”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

A pleasant place to have breakfast, the morning sun streams in through the windows in winter & it has nice views. Pleasant ambience, great coffee & a good way to start your day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HeleneHumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing food at a great price”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Restaurant was romantic and from where we were sitting, we had a great view of the LA skyline. Our food was cooked to perfection and the service was great. Considering the price of the food, it was outstanding!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordon Ramsay at The London West Hollywood also viewed

 
West Hollywood, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing