We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall good, but certain details could make it better”
Review of El Torito

El Torito
Ranked #10 of 255 Restaurants in West Covina
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Walnut, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Overall good, but certain details could make it better”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We have eaten here since it first opened and the food has always been good. However, I notice sometimes the greeters have no clue about any dinner specials or that the restaurant is very cheap in their offerings of Cinco de Mayo holiday specials. We came to eat there at 6 pm on Cinco de Mayo and they said that the special was only for two hours from 2 to 4 or 3 to 5. I can't remember. Regardless, who has dinner at that time?! I felt that was very cheap of them because they know that no one comes to eat at that time and therefore they will save a lot of money! Pathetic! Despite that, you get good portions for the price and the atmosphere/decor is festive. I love their chiles rellenos! Try it out if you want to enjoy good mexican food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good food, rundown bar”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

After a long day of flying across country it was very late and I wanted something quick and casual to eat. El Torito was across the street from my hotel. I sat at the bar. The service was OK and food came quickly. The chips and salsa were awesome!! My fish tacos were a little bland. Quality of the food was good and the price was amazingly cheap.

The bar itself was very worn and rundown. It looked very old and decrepit. The glasses hanging from the elevated shelving blocked my view to the one and only small TV! Poor design.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Waitress who had to deal with our large crown”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The bar area has karaoke at night and the waitress were sweethearts. They were very patient with our group and service was awesome.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Typical Chain Restaurant”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

As a Hispanic I know Mexican food very well and El Torito lacks the authentic flavor of traditionally prepared Mexican food. On the plus side the at table prepared guacamole is comparable to homemade.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank oldschool1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty Food!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Went there for a Birthday! on a weekday. It was a very nice and festive atmosphere. The Hostess and Servers were very friendly and attentive to your needs. There was a lot to choose from the menu. All dishes ordered were correct and very "Tasty and quite delicious" Also the waiters were kind enough to bring a small dessert to the "Birthday Person" The Big 60TH and sang the Spanish version of HAPPY BIRTHDAY! It turned out to be a very nice and pleasant evening. :) FUN

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patricia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Torito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing