We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream Come True”

Humboldt Redwoods State Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Weott
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the 31 mile Avenue of the Giants (Redwoods).
Lorain, OH
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Dream Come True”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

When I was a child, I saw pictures of the giant redwood trees. We have traveled extensively but had never visited in Oregon or California. We had four states left on our "bucket list", so when this opportunity came up-we signed up. It was a Great Escapes/Mayflower Tour and we were joined by area people and several from other states. The entire trip was well planned and we went from Cleveland to Portland, OR by air. Bus trip around Portland and down the coastline to see many sights, including Crater Lake and many waterfalls. The most impressive part was the magnificent redwoods. One feels so humbled by the creation of these huge trees. Each one a little different and hundreds of years old. Almost like being in Paradise! We really did not want to leave, but had a wine tasting promised in the Sonoma Valley! I would recommend a trip like this to anyone, especially to Senior citizens. Leave the driving to the bus driver and enjoy the coastline and it's glory!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dori603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    29
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bull Creek Flats off Mattole Rd at Rockefeller Forest offers Pristine old Growth Redwoods and flat trails.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Take the Rockefeller Forest exit, then take 2 lefts to head west under hwy 101 on Mattole-Honeydew Rd. After about a mile or two driving through spectacular old growth redwoods.........look carefully on your left, for a paved road down to Rockefeller loop parking. The loop is the gateway to some of the most Pristine Redwood Hiking in the Redwood National Forest. Take the loop then follow the signs west up Bull Creek Flats North Trail toward Big Tree for a heavenly, flat, 4, mile/2 hour hike each way. You can return on Bull Creek Trail south on the other side of all year Bull Creek...not quite as flat....but not steep...or turn around for a wonderful 1 or 2 hour hike in pristine old growth redwood bliss! If you miss the innitial turn off to Rockefeller Loop, then keep going another 4 miles to on Mattole Rd, to the Big Tree parking and walk east down Bull Creek Flats North Trail, from the other direction... Camping is nearby at Albee Creek Campground. If they say its full, ask for an "Environmental Camp Site"...much more private and usually available. In my opinion Avenue of the Giants is a bit of a Potemkin's village with a old growth redwoods right on the Avenue, and in the tourist groves...but second growth a few feet away. Bull Creek Flats is Pristine!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Aum22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed at the Hidden Springs Campground in Myers Flat, site 21. We had a tent trailer and were able to get it into the pad and park our minivan sideways. It was a tight fit as most of these sites are small. All the sites are very private and you may be able to hear your neighbors but you can't see them. The only drawback is the campground is steep and is basically located up the side of a hill. All the sites had shade as well and are located in the redwoods and oaks. Of the three campgrounds I would choose this one again. Albee Creek was an amazing drive to get to and I would recommend just enjoying the drive there. The sites were nice but closer together and it was open so you could see all your neighbors. Burlington was a small tent city situated right next to the visitor center. It was populated with families with small children and it was perfectly flat and right along the road. The forest it was in was beautiful and every site was shady but it had no shrubs (madrone or manzanita) between you and your neighbors, but also no poison oak! Hidden Springs was crawling with poison oak but as long as you don't go through the shrubs around your site you would be fine. Myers Flat had a cute but super small and hot grocery store. There was also a quaint coffe shop next door that also made smoothies and milkshakes. It was nothing to write home about but on a hot day the shakes/smoothies were refreshing. They also had cold coffee drinks. As usual there were the interesting locals hanging outside the coffee shop and several bikers coming and going, but that's Humbolt county! It's basically Henry Cowell on steriods! The trees are amazing and I would recommend hiking the two loop trails off of the road to Albee Creek Campground. The trees along that 5 mile road rival the Avenue of the Giants.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationfromvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice Time”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We camped there for two days, which was the perfect amount of time. The visitor center is a must stop to get key info on the hikes and sights that are available. i was surprised that mosquitoes were at the campground, so remember the mosquito spray.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank wingnut457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
858 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“World class collection of Coastal Redwood trees”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Lots and lots of redwood groves are the best reason to visit this park. Lots of options for things to do. There is a visitor's drive, campsites you drive into as well as back country camps, hikes, and swimming holes. There are some historical sites and the towns nearby are kitschy. What makes this place really special is the gigantic trees though. I camped at Hidden Springs, the largest campground, and was happily surprised to find that the tent sites were pretty isolated from each other visually and I did not hear any generators running from the RVs. There was the usual amount of noise from other campers though. Lots of towns nearby to get a hot meal or provisions if you want. Besides the trees, you have a chance at seeing river otters (seems rare) and banana slugs, along with other forest critters including black bears, plan accordingly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hitcher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humboldt Redwoods State Park also viewed

California, United States
Myers Flat, Humboldt County
 
Ferndale, Humboldt County
Weott, Humboldt County
 

Been to Humboldt Redwoods State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing