We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Sensational and a must visit

The park is a sensational place to spend a full day. There are many stops with short walks and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Anthony S
,
Brisbane, Australia
A must stop

This is a state park that's free (!) and spectacular. You can take the 36-mile drive from either... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
mesatraveler
,
Mesa, Arizona
Read all 461 reviews
  
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveler rating
415
42
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
415
42
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visitor center hidden springs state park humboldt redwoods bull creek founders grove eel river bucket list big trees loop trail awe inspiring amazing trees tallest trees mile drive take your time easy hike fallen trees
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 461 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I liked the cool shade of the redwoods and amazing trees. I really would have liked some tables. The only day-use area was closed when we were there.

Date of experience: September 2012
1  Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We camped at Albee Creek during a weekend in the Humboldt Redwoods. We loved everything about it! We camped at site 25, which bordered the meadow and was close to the restrooms. My husband and I loved the hiking trails from the campground. Very few people were on the trail, which made exploring the Redwoods a magical experience. We were even able to go swimming in the creek, undisturbed by others. My favorite moment was when the Black Bear wandered behind our campsite. I joke that I ate dinner with a black bear as I munched on my hot dog while he (or she) endulged on the blackberries. Although camping with black bears wouldn't typically be my idea of a good time, we never felt that we were in danger and had an amazing time!! I just wish we lived closer so we could visit more often! We also went to Yosemite, this was even better because of how few people are in the area.

Date of experience: August 2012
9  Thank BetsyK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I love this place! Take the Avenue of the Giants Scenic Byway & you can stop along any of the groves & walk through the majestic redwoods, sometime of them are right on the river. There are so many groves along the Avenue- I think I could go there everyday for a year & still not have walked in all of them! My favorites include French Bell Loop, Women's Federation Grove, Founders Grove, Bull Creek Flats, & more!

Date of experience: August 2012
2  Thank PeppyBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

It's easy to see why Humboldt became synonymous with "tune out and turn on" in the 1960s and 1970s. The majesty of the Redwoods combined with the series of tiny towns on the Eel River that runs along the Avenue of the Giants helped us leave our non-vacation world behind and really relax. As many people have said, take your time if possible as there are several stops worth making. The Visitors' Center is especially worthwhile.

Date of experience: September 2012
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This drive is a MUST when visiting northern California. The Founder's Tree is so interesting. There are many stops, so just choose a few and take a hike away from the road. You find it so peaceful,

Date of experience: September 2012
Thank cshager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews