We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out west excursion.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out west excursion.”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This Koa campground was like all the others that we stayed at on our trip, very welcoming, clean and quiet. We are from WV and traveled to San Francisco, Santa Cruz, Death Valley and the Grand Canyon. We chose to stay at KOA locations to save on money and each one was great. The restroom facility here was very clean, each camp site size was roomy and after hours was quiet, not to mention the staff was very friendly. I would highly recommend the Lake Isabella/Kern River KOA!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Lake Isabella was our favorite KOA. It's family run, which makes for a very friendly atmosphere. While it's small in size, it's high on service. They have food and an outdoor kitchen. I preferred this to the many larger KOA's which feel like parking lots. You have to travel a bit for the attractions and the water but it was worth it. Would return again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank moira c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azusa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Great place to camp at. We stayed in a cabin. Very cozy. Clean swimming pool for kids + activities for them to enjoy! Restrooms were clean! Amenities such as store, laundry and ice are good as well. Lake is right around and/or down the highway. Town is also down the road where you have local restaurants and a Vons Supermarket fair priced for being up in the mountains... Please support this Koa Campground! I am sure you will enjoy your stay just as we did! Happy Trails Trip Advisors! Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtieOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights on a 32 day trip out west. I realize they were experiencing a drought during our stay but the sites and whole area is nothing but dirt. Every time a vehicle would enter a dust cloud would follow. Some gravel would go a long way to making this park much nicer. Also they allowed all manner of "guest" vehicles to come and go day and night. These people did not camp at this location. Having a bar attached to the camp office probably didn't help.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Polar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colton, California
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Good place for family. There's a play ground for the kids and a swimming pool. However the sites are close to each other so the sound carries easy. Although campers are asked to respect the 10 pm quiet time, no one enforces it. You can here others late at night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Olomeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I thought I had a nice weekend getaway. I just needed to get away from the city. We had the two floor cabin. One bedroom and a half bedroom upstairs. It was nice and pretty relaxing for the price I paid. However I feel that the futon needed washing, it had pee stains. Also when you shower there is bearly any hot water. I had to shower with cold water. The cold of the night also sneaks in very easily. I was sick the next morning. But I didnt mind as much since I didnt pay much for the stay. However the futon was really gross. I wouldnt sleep on it. It also has its own parking right next to the cabin which is convenient and a convenience store.

Room Tip: Get the two bedroom or the the two floor cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Doris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Outstanding. Excellent facilities. Warm and friendly Staff. Clean clean clean!!! Great pool! The pancake breakfast and the trike rentals were. The kids favorite.. Bathrooms and pool cleaned early every day the general store had all the little things one forgets.. A great place for car camping families ...

Room Tip: Just know that campsites are right beside each other.. We were lucky and had great neighbors.. One b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weldon
10.8 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
132 reviews
8.3 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#6 of 7 in Kernville
56 reviews
15.3 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#1 of 3 in Kernville
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kernville
250 reviews
7.0 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
51 reviews
7.0 mi away
Mount-N-Lake Motel
Mount-N-Lake Motel
#1 of 2 in Wofford Heights
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA

Property: Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA
Address: 15627 Highway 178, Weldon, CA 93283-9721
Location: United States > California > Weldon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Weldon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outdoor enthusiasts will love this KOA. Ideally located in the Sierra Mountains, the campground also backs up to the Kern River Preserve. Poised midway between Southern California and Yosemite or Death Valley, this KOA offers easy access to acclaimed whitewater rafting and kayaking on the Kern River. Enjoy nearby lake access for boating, Jet Skiing, fishing, windsurfing or swimming. Off-road enthusiasts can access miles of trails right from the campground. Facilities for golfing, skiing or snowboarding are a short drive away. Visit the Trail of a Hundred Giants, Silver City Ghost Town and the Native American Cultural Center, hike to waterfalls or experience natural waterslides. At KOA, you'll find everything from large, shady pull thrus to tent sites, a family pool, splash zone play area, camper kitchen, playground, game room, general store and pub. Ice cream socials, crafts, games for all ages, pancake breakfasts and movie nights help make your stay great! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lake Isabella / Kern River KOA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing