We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Mt Shasta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Weed
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Mt Shasta”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just 10 minutes north of Mt Shasta, but the very best view on the mountain, better than in the town of Shasta! Accommodations in Shasta are often fully booked, just drive 10 minutes north to the town of Weed and there is the Quality Inn and Comfort Inn. The Quality inn is the one with the very best view, it does need some update, the look is tired, but the rooms are very clean and the breakfast in the morning has something for everyone. When you are in Shasta you are never in your room, so it doesnt matterif it is not fancy, what matters is that it is clean and a good sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadastealady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    20
    15
    20
See reviews for
36
29
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Reservations through Hotels,com. First mistake. The motel was a dump. We arrived late afternoon with two tired 6&9yr old
Grandkids. Swimming pool was not any thing I would let the kids in. First room assigned was full of motel furniture, beds, mattresses etc. obviously not habitable. Next room assigned the card key did not work. Finally in a room minimum furnishings, no clock, frig,, micro wave oven. T.V. remote did not work. Dirty towel in bath room! Gee all for $110 per night.I noticed, even the truckers were not staying there!! Next morning upon checking out the clerk told us that they were reducing the charge from
$110 to $88. We thought well at least they are trying to make up for the their dump accommodations. To our surprise we received
our credit card statement showing a charge of $110. The hotel never charged our card, boy, did we get stroked. I called
Hotels.com in an effort to get some adjustment and they too gave the run around and refused to take any responsibility.
No more Quality Inns or Hotels.Com for me. art

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arthur c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weed hotels

Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We booked this hotel for one night, when we arrived there was a lady in the parking lot yelling about the bed bug bites she had gotten the night before and how she couldn't get a refund. We went in and looked at our beds and when we pulled back the covers we saw several hairs and at least one blood spot. I saw the maid when she left she was in a big hurry and told the front desk she couldn't finish cleaning the rooms. Looked like she just remade the bed in our room and didn't bother to wash the sheets. Don't stay here!!! They won't give you a refund either.

Room Tip: choose a different town to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed two nights. When packing to check out, my husband pulled the bedcovers to the foot of the bed. He noticed color showing through the bottom sheet. We pulled off the sheet and it was then we discovered that we had been sleeping on a mattress pad that had a large red area on it, soaked through to both sides of the pad. I was horrified, particularly because the red area on the pad did not appear to have been washed. (There were stains that appeared to be urine on the pad as well.) I was very upset to think that this may be someone’s blood on the pad and we had just spent two nights sleeping in the bed without being aware of this. The red area was about ten inches at the widest part, much too large to have been overlooked by the housekeeper.
I asked the manager to come to the room and asked for a full refund but was denied. I felt that it was unconscionable that we should be required to pay for our stay having discovered that we were sleeping in a soiled bed.

Other problems were general cleanliness issues, such as heavy cobwebs across the upper area of the outer wall and window coverings. The desk chair had a heavily stained seat and the side of the cushion was ripped. There was no table and chairs in the room except for the desk, so we attempted to move the desk to a more convenient location and discovered that it had a crooked leg that was just barely attached. The remote for the television did not work but the young man at the desk came in to fix it. There was no WI-FI during our stay.

Problems outside our room include issues with the breakfast which was served from 6:30am-11:00am. On our first morning, we went for breakfast at 7:00am, only to find that there was no batter for the waffle maker and no coffee. We had to wait for those items to be prepared. On the second morning, there as a problem with power to the waffle maker; this turned off twice while I was trying to make a waffle, so I finally gave up and threw the half-cooked waffle in the trash. The toaster would not latch in the toast position so no toast could be made, and there was no fresh fruit available (only canned fruit cocktail).

At the entrance there were several garbage bags that appear to contain curtains and/or linens that were on the ground at the front entrance. When I arrived on Wednesday afternoon to check in, I assumed that the bags were placed there for pick up to be cleaned. However, when I checked out Friday morning, the bags were still there. The carpet in the lobby was absolutely filthy!

Another important issue regarding management is this: from the hours of 3:00pm to 11:00pm, the only employee working at the motel was the front desk clerk. There were no housekeeping or maintenance personnel to address any issues with new arrivals, only one employee to take care of everything during prime check-in hours.
I wrote a letter of complaint but have not heard from anyone about this situation.

Room Tip: choose a room at another motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rowdy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is the poorest quality Quality Inn I have ever visited. Grubby. Front desk clerk was a tornado of complaint. The landscaping is early industrial wasteland. At least the room was clean. A poor value for $100.

Room Tip: try the Comfort Inn nearby or Motel 6 in town
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stopped with the family on our way north to Seattle. Thought it would be a good half way point from L.A. When we drove up the grounds looked a mess, apparently no land scapers available in the area. The grounds were full of weeds and there was trash all around and behind the building. We had a room facing to the north hopeing to escape all the semi trucks that had parked around the front and side of the building (wrong) the trucks park everywhere in the area and there is no escaping it. I asked the front clerk why the trucks were parked everywhere and was told the city had no control or law enforcement, At that point I didn't feel comfortable letting my girls walk to Burger King with so many truckers around. Times must be hard in Weed CA.

The room was very dirty and I don't think the sheets were changed as they were wrinkled and not that white. We slept in our own sleeping bags to avoid the sheets. No hot tub was working and breakfast was a joke so we just skipped it and moved on, the sooner we were out of there the better. I can see why this is not a Holiday Inn Express anymore. We will never stay in this hotel or Weed again and was told Mount Shasta just five miles south is a very clean nice city with better hotels.

A. Jacobs

Room Tip: No good rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I knew we were in trouble when we drove up to the front door and a pile of dirty linen was stacked there in plain sight and cigarette butts littered everywhere. No elevator. No screens, mind you this is July and its hot and tons of bugs. Where was the pool?? We asked for an icebucket nad the receptionist said, "Well, some rooms have them and some don't". My husband said, "Does that mean you can drink in some rooms and not in others?" When asked about wifi she said of course we have it, but if it won't work in your room bring your laptop down here and you might get a better signal. Of course it didn't work. It was a filthy, stinky mess and to cap it all off no hot water. We left the next morning and just wore the old clothes till we checked in to next hotel where we could get a shower.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnesolei_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weed
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Shasta Area
7.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
960 reviews
7.5 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
25 reviews
1.5 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#2 of 6 in Weed
108 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 1830 Black Butte Dr, Weed, CA 96094-9706 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Weed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Weed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Weed
Quality Inn Weed
Weed Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing