We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so happy they were still open on Sunday night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mt. Shasta Brewing Co.

Mt. Shasta Brewing Co.
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Weed
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Situated in the historic Medo-Bel creamery, Mt. Shasta Brewing Company has been crafting and serving some of the North State's finest ales and lagers for more than a decade. Come join us for some hearty pub grub and a delicious beer today!
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“so happy they were still open on Sunday night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were so glad that they were still open when we finally got there on a long drive from Groveland, near Yosemite. The dinner menu wasn't available by the time we got there, but we had an appetizer that hit the spot. We had some great brews. I esp. liked the winter seasonal; it was a Belgian vanilla something (can't remember). Also had the porter, which was very good (and on sale to go in 22 oz. bottles).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NomadOlympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Warehouse pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

A good place to stop in for a nice cold micro brew after snow skiing. Enjoyed conversing with the brewmaster on back country skiing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank subithere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California, United States
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Mt Shasta Brewing is a quaint little brewery/restaurant in Weed, CA. I was intrigued by their menu of specialty beers. My very favorite was a seasonal Jalapeno flavored beer. Although it sounds unusual, this beer was excellent! Just enough "kick" and a light jalapeno note. This beer would be a great accompaniment to your favorite Mexican meal! We enjoyed the sampler selections of the current brews the brewery offered.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Different Brewpub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I totally agree with the previous reviewer, however, I'm a bit less critical of the "eclectic" decor. Yes, it IS a disparate mish-mash of junk and not necessarily displayed in an artistic manner, but we found it amusing and somewhat interesting to look at while we waited for our food. We, too, suspected the waitress was also the cook and, because of that, service was not the best! Our food was okay - kind of like something you'd quickly make at home for lunch - definitely nothing special. The beer, however, was quite good and that was our main reason for going there. So, if you like beer and don't mind average food and very slow service, this is kind of a fun place to kill an afternoon. Too bad the owners don't hire more staff.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobsCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NJ
Level Contributor
330 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Great Beer but what were they thinking?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed in Mt Shasta eagerly anticipating visiting the Mt. Shasta Brewing Company. After all, how can a brewpub in an area called Weed go wrong?
The brewpub is in a warehouse that resembles someone's old garage - bikes hanging from the ceiling, a hodgepodge of junk and furniture, uneven rough small wood tables and diner booth seats that were clearly acquired from some other eating establishment. There is eclectic and then there is the hot mess we saw here. The bar itself looked beautiful and was the highlight of the whole restaurant. There is no air conditioning, just several assorted fans blowing the warm air randomly across the room. The atmosphere could be forgiven if the service was good. It was not. We walked in, took a seat, and sat so long we wondered if we should be there. Just two other tables had customers, and one at the bar. If we didn't see them, we would have left. It was as if someone left the door unlocked and they were closed. A waitress finally arrived, and took our order. Our suspicion was she was also the cook. The length of time it took to bring out food from the simple menu cannot be explained. We're talking chips from a bag and salsa. My sandwich looked like it was made on a George Foreman grill and had a odd taste to it. My son's flatbread pizza was something from a school lunch. My husband is still trying to remember what he had, it was that unmemorable. Hotdogs and brats were also on the menu. Food is served on wooden cutting boards with plastic forks. The only good thing to say about the food is that is was cheap. Oddly enough, the beer is great. How could such a fine product be served in this manner? The sampler was well presented on a wooden tray, and while it cost a bit more than other brewerys to sample, there was plenty of selection. The jalapeno beer was a very interesting choice - it tasted different and unique as a sample, but not our choice for a pints worth. The Hemp beer has a light refreshing lager taste, and the smooth Lemurian Golden Lager was my favorite. The Weed Golden, Mountain High IPA, Weed Amber ale and the Brewers ale were all very good. Getting back to service, we were left to our own devices after we were served, and had to look for the waitress to pay up. The potential for this establishment could be huge if properly organized. Honor the beer with better service and improved food selection.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank newjerseyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mt. Shasta Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing