We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, old school feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hi-Lo Motel & RV Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Weed B&B and Inns
Olympia, WA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value, old school feel”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were referred here by the Mt Shasta Brewery. The price was excellent, the room clean and warm, and we had a view of Mt. Shasta. There was a desk, small frig and micro, small bath with a really nice tile shower. As some others have mentioned in other reviews, the wifi is slow, but considering how high an elevation and how remote a local, I was happy to have any wifi at all.
Also, the bath towels are small and there are only two, so it would be nice if the owners would either put in more towels per room or provide thicker, larger ones. But no big deal.
We really were glad to find this place.

Room Tip: We asked for a quite room and were given a room by the creek. It was indeed quiet and did have a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadOlympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    32
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
31
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weed, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The rooms are clean,but not fancy. Right underneath majestic Mt. Shasta, it is right off the highway and easy to find. The prices of the rooms are very reasonable, and the atttached cafe is wonderful too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The room was very nice, but only had wifi as an amenity (in other words, no frig, coffeemaker, etc.) Big bonus points for attached cafe. Great food, beer/wine. We hit terrible weather, and it was most welcome to be able to walk to the cafe and eat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovesNeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

No coffee in the room. bed was to hard for our likings. The walls are thin could hear talking next door.
Older place family owned. Slept good, which was important. No hair dryer. Overall not a bad place for the price. More than likely won't stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Super clean, great rates, and attached to a spectacular restaurant. What more could you want? It was a great little spot, and once again I will stop again if at all possible. The staff are super friendly, and great at their jobs

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Lobby was nice and clean check in was smooth. We were given coins for free beverages to be used at the connecting cafe both for dinner and breakfast and discount on fuel fill-up as well. The room was clean, a little crowded with two queen beds...but the beds and pillows were comfortable. We were on the front side, so surprised at how quiet it was and we had a great nights sleep.

Room Tip: I would take advantage of the free tokens for the cafe..great food and bang for the buck..the portio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is the kind of motel I like--an older, classic roadside motel from the golden age of family vacationing that is well maintained and reasonably priced.

Overall, it was a great value and we would definitely stay here again (in fact, this was our second stay.)

The Hi-Lo is a 1950s-1960s era motel located on what used to be US Highway 99 in Weed, CA, with easy access to I-5. It is a very well-maintained property, especially on the outside. It is freshly painted and nicely landscaped. It is a family-owned establishment and it is clear that they take a lot of pride in their motel (and other related enterprises).

On our trip, we booked two rooms (one for our family and one for some relatives, which gave us an opportunity to compare two rooms).

What we liked:
•The rooms are clean.
•The upper-level rooms have plenty of natural light.
•The furniture is fairly up-to-date and in good condition.
•Some rooms have a refrigerator and microwave (this information is available when booking on the Hi-Lo website).
•The beds were very comfortable.
•The little creek at the back of the property was a lot of fun for the kids.
•The closet area was ample.
•At check-in, guests receive tokens good for free coffee at the property's on-site cafe (which is worth eating at).
•The creekside room offered more quiet and privacy.
•Mt. Shasta is CLOSE! What a view!

What we would like to see improved:
•The Wi-Fi signal was weak in the lower-level (creekside) room, but strong in the upper level room.
•The creekside room, being downstairs, felt a little dark and not as well-ventilated as the upper-level room.
•Thicker pillows or more pillows on the bed would be nice for sleepers who have a variety of pillow preferences.
•The bathroom in the creekside room was OK, would would benefit from an update with some newer fixtures and more counterspace.
•The TV was a tube-type (not flat screen) and the cable was a little limited (neither is a big deal, but there it is.)

Room Tip: I preferred the upper-level room, but the lower (creekside) level rooms are quieter and more seclude...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoSeeCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weed
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Shasta Area
8.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
998 reviews
9.0 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#2 of 6 in Weed
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Motel 6 Weed - Mount Shasta
1.5 mi away
Sis-Q-Inn
Sis-Q-Inn
#4 of 6 in Weed
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi-Lo Motel & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi-Lo Motel & RV Park

Property: Hi-Lo Motel & RV Park
Address: 88 S Weed Blvd, Weed, CA 96094-2607
Location: United States > California > Weed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Weed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hi-Lo Motel & RV Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hi-Lo Motel in Weed, CA is located just about the right distance between Here and There. Whether we're your intended destination or your favorite stop along the way to where you're going, we'll always make sure your stay is quiet and comfortable. We've got 40 clean and cozy rooms of different sizes to meet your needs. From Mini-Suites to Large Suites, they've all got King and Queen-sized beds. Some of the larger rooms even have kitchens, living, and dining areas in case you bring the whole family or a few co-workers. If you happen to be traveling in your RV, we can accommodate you at the Hi-Lo RV Park =located right behind the motel. This quiet, creekside oasis has 16 full-service spaces complete with hookups for water, electric, cable, and free Wi-Fi for those of you who enjoying roughing-it in style. The Hi-Lo Motel & RV Park has been a popular destination for travelers since 1951 because we strive to provide a memorable guest experience for all our visitors. Our goal is to make you feel like family so you come back and visit us again and again. Feel free to contact us via email or telephone with any questions or reservation requests. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hi-Lo Motel & RV Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing