We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing but a truck stop” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Mount Shasta Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Mount Shasta Area
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Weed
MAGALIA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
“Nothing but a truck stop”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2007

If you are looking for anything but a stop near the freeway exit don't stay here. This is an area of three hotels, a grocery store, a few mediocre restaurant and lots of gas stations. Go to one of the hotels in Mount Shasta (only a few miles away) if you want more. The Comfort Inn is a fairly large three story hotel that has seen better days. Obviously it was renovated a few years ago but that renovation seems to have concentrated on paint and carpets. The furnishings are old and show signs of their age. They must have been quite beautiful when they were new but now they only look used and are not very comfortable anymore. Rooms are large, cleanliness is on an average motel level. Worst experience: the hotel breakfast, because the room was so overcrowded that we could not find a seat.

  • Liked — Easy access from freeway
  • Disliked — Overcrowded breakfast room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buddy-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    64
    43
    15
    13
See reviews for
44
66
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2007

Stayed just one night whilst travelling north.

Friendly efficient staff, athough the ones I spoke to seemed to have limited local knowledge in terms of recommending restaurants etc.

Rooms were a good size and were clean and comfortable. There was hot chocolate in the rooms which was an added bonus. Breakfast was OK, nothing special. There were several take-aways within walking distance, but the area seemed to be lacking a decent restaurant.

The main problem with the location is that it is basically a truckstop with trucks arriving at most times of the day and night. This could disturb some light-sleepers.

Overall, a comfortable hotel for anyone passing through the area. Very convenient for the interstate.

  • Liked — Hot chocolate in rooms, good sized rooms
  • Disliked — Noise from trucks, lack of restaurants
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Abroad_alone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake County
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Comfort Inn Central in Weed, CA. So, because it was our anniversary I reserved the suite on the top story. It had a living room with gas fireplace, big bathroom with huge whirlpool tub and comfortable bedroom. Staying there was perfect because it was only a couple miles from the city of Shasta without the annoying train whistle waking us up every 2 hours, but we still ended up hearing an annoying buzzing every few hours (which I think was the water heater outside.) I was a little disappointed because I was told there was a mountain view (which was being blocked by a few tall trees), and the bathroom smelled like urine (or could have been urine scented cleaner.) The couch also smelled bad, but they gave us a blanket to put over. Next time we go to Shasta, I would definitely stay there again because I cant stand the train whistle, but I probably wouldn’t get that same room under the circumstances. It just wouldn’t be worth the extra money again. However, for a big family- it would be perfect. Just bring your own Febreeze.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honeya68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2006

Our stay at the Weed Comfort Inn reinforced my theory that rooms booked with a AAA discount are always the worst in the building. While this is a really nice Comfort Inn, clean and comfortable, with big rooms and easy access to the highway, we had the most noisy room that I have ever slept in. #107 is next to the laundry room and across the hallway from the breakfast room. I am a very sound sleeper and spent from 4 AM on listening to some sort of pounding on the walls and ceiling of the room. I thought that it was an elevator shaft, but realized at check out that it was not. It was miserable. I'm generally not a miserable person or a complainer. The staff was friendly and the breakfast offerings were pretty standard, but adequate.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Iheartlance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2006

Stayed for one night, Sat. June 17; 2 adults and 2 children ages 4&6 years old. Very surprised at the large room. Very nice looking. Lots of space to spread out. Bed was firm. Room clean. Very friendly breakfast attendant and Michael at the front desk at check out quite nice. The check-in lady sounded robotic -not overly helpful or overly friendly but did give me all the information I needed.

Has one washing machine and one dryer for the whole hotel but the machines sound like they are about to fall apart. Located inside the fitness room which is quite clean with decent machines and no one using them! Small outdoor pool which was clean. Too chilly to swim in though.

Not much to do around town - no parks in walking distance for the kids. Nice hotel would stay here again.

Helpful?
4 Thank TX_Carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2006

Stopped for a night on way back from Eugene to SF. The 1 bedroom suite was very spacious, good for familiy of 4. We had a king in the bedroom (fair mattress- not much support), a pull out sofa and rollaway ( both awful support- but fine for kids).
Good breadkfast choices of waffles/toast/english muffins/ apples/banana's/cereals/hard boiled eggs. Nice mountain view, cafe next door was good, and a quick drive to Lake Siskiyou for a dip on our way home.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2005

We stayed at this Comfort Inn for one night in June. I had reserved the suite, expecting nothing much more than an extra sitting area with a sofa. Instead, what we walked into was truely larger than many apartments! There were two separate rooms; the bedroom and the living room. In addition, there was a side sitting area in the living room, plus a very spacious bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. Opening the windows, you got a beautiful panoramic view of Mount Shsata. If you can, request the "Carmen Suite." This was that room, and it cost us about $90. The lady at the desk said they just have two of such rooms, so try to book early!

The Comfort Inn is a three story building, with indoor corridors. It is located near many family restaurants and fueling stations, which makes it easy to walk to/from dinner/breakfast. Previous reviews mentioned that it is too far from central Weed. I do not see that as a problem. We had a bad dinner in downtown, and the quality and selection of restaurants is much better near the Comfort Inn on the South Weed Exit of I-5 than anything in the downtown area. Even though this location is near the freeway, it is still far enough away, so you do not hear any freeway noise.

I would highly recommend this location, and would look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mfricke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weed
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
7.6 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
7.6 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Mount Shasta Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Mount Shasta Area

Property: Comfort Inn Mount Shasta Area
Address: 1844 Shastina Drive, Weed, CA 96094-9712 (Formerly Comfort Inn Central)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Weed
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Weed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Mount Shasta Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Mount Shasta Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Central Hotel Weed
Comfort Inn Weed
Weed Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing