We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take your chances - our last meal sucked!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sawmill Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Sawmill Bar & Grill
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
California
Level Contributor
230 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Take your chances - our last meal sucked!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We eat here regularly while fishing the Trinity. Breakfast is always a solid 3 stars. And the place is open at 6am! Dinner is quite variable. On a recent trip, we ate here 2 nights. The first night was ok but the second was a fiasco. How about sending my teacup with "hot" water back 2 times in order to get the water to be hot. Or how about waiting for more than an hour for a lousy pasta dish and an entree type salad with chicken. The pasta was truly inedible when finally served but complaints did not generate an offer to take it off the bill. The best food seems to be deep fried but I cannot eat this type of food and there is little else that is not heavy on cheese or cream or fried in fat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank troutbum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    9
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove Village, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Sawmill was close to our motel, so we ate there twice. The inside is dated, but there are cool historic pictures throughout the restaurant. The meals were average; nothing special but tasty. Service was somewhat slow, but we didn't mind because we weren't in a hurry. A decent place to eat overall.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsummer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Restuarant is somewhat dated, food, service, and price were good. Had the opportunity to eat here about 5 times in a week. None of the meals were spectacular, but all were consistently mediocre. Would recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FFontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good food for reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have eaten at the Sawmill perhaps 4 different times in as many years as we visit Weaverville. It is a good coffee shop environment for enjoying a breakfast, lunch, or dinner. There are many historical photos of the Weaverville area from the past, many having to do with logging. They also have a fair sized bar area which looks quite nice, but we ate int he restaurant area. The food is quite good and not at all overpriced. This last time, I had a grilled fish dinner with a lemon butter sauce, and it was delicious! It came with a salad, which was also great. The only complaint I had this visit was the service (not typical of the other visits). It was extremely slow because there was only one waitress for the entire restaurant. Just we we were leaving, another women showed up to assist, who may have been the owner (my speculation, but this could be wrong). I understand that sometimes employees get sick and their shift must be covered by others, and I assume that is what happened during our visit. But we were in no hurry, and the food more than made up for the speed of the service. I would definitely go here again when I visit Weaverville.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place used to be run down, kind of skanky bar atmosphere, but a few years ago, it burned to the ground and the owners, very wisely, rebuilt it with a family theme in mind. There's still a great bar scene, but you can get a really decent meal for a reasonable price for lunch or dinner at The Sawmill! Nice, pleasant, casual atmosphere.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank peggy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawmill Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Weaverville, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing