We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in town but not worth the money”
Review of Johnsons' Steakhouse - CLOSED

Johnsons' Steakhouse
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best food in town but not worth the money”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant is the best in town but priced like an out of town restaurant, such in a SF Bay Area suburb. Service is very good and you do get a view of the golf course. Food is good but that that much better than La Grange, but at twice the price. Thanks but no thanks. I'll stick with La Grange.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GymAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hemet, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Decent steakhouse with a classic feel”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good steakhouse with a decent menu right on the golfcourse. A favorite place for locals to celebrate special occasions. It has an old time steakhouse feel with big booths and little lamps on the tables. Good bar.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank peggy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent food in Weaverville”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have eaten here many times and it is average to good depending on what you order. The little antipasti plate before the meal is a nice touch. The steaks can be inconsistent but the staff is nice and attentive and you are sure to find something on the menu that will hit the spot.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tfagerskog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little bland”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had mixed feelings about this restaurant. The soup was tepid and the steak tasted as if zero seasoning was used. It was also slightly undercooked, served med rare-rare instead medium as ordered. Not a huge issue to me as I prefer that to overlooking, but a steakhouse should know how to tell doneness. Food was quite bland. Maybe if the owners could offer (for a reasonable up charge) a sauced steak, such as au poivre or balsamic reduction it might be more appealing to a younger palate. We noticed most patrons were well into retirement age and perhaps are more accepting of the lack of flavor. Service was friendly and professional.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great steak”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I had a wonderful steak and salad here. Business trip and dinner was awesome service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank txteague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnsons' Steakhouse also viewed

 
Weaverville, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing