We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little Gem”

Review of (18) Le Fawn

Cabin 'Le Fawn'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin 'Le Fawn'
Living room and dining area Living room with wood fireplace (firewood provided in season) and futon (on TV)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
2 reviews
Cabin 'Le Fawn'
Living room and dining area
Living room with wood fireplace (firewood provided in season) and futon (on TV)
Fully equipped kitchen (refrigerator with freezer, gas stove with oven, microwave, toaster, regular coffee maker...
Bedroom 1, queen bed
Bedroom 1 reverse angle
3/4 Bath,shower only
3/4 Bath,shower only
Side deck with small gas grill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wawona, Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 2 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
eclecticw...
Prunedale, California
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We just finished our second stay at this cabin. The first was our honeymoon in 2010 and it proved perfect for a couple. We have just finished our second stay there with 3 people. As most wee cabins will be, this cabin is creaky and proved a little difficult for early risers or night owls to not wake one another. The amenities are complete though and the bath/shower great for washing off the day's hiking dirt. The wee kitchen can be tough for some but we sorted out all of the cooking just fine. The deck and fireplace for this cabin are lovely and enjoyable. Near to the Chilnualna trail (waterfall) and river and inside the park. Its Wawona location puts it close to the Mariposa Grove but quite a drive to the Yosemite Valley, Tioga Road or the Northmost Hetch Hetchy. That said, all drives are doable and for a more relaxed visit during the height of the summer heat and crowds the Redwoods in Yosemite boast the best of all worlds.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Very charming, deck is great.
Liked least: Kitchen is pretty tight.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
Thank you very very much for sharing your review with us! We truly appreciate your feedback and we are glad you chose to stay at The Redwoods for your Yosemite adventure. Thank you for being a return guest, we hope to see you come back soon and traveled home safely!
Many cheers from The Redwoods Team :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWolf1
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Small and cozy”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This is a wonderful cabin for two people. The stone fireplace is the centerpiece. There is plenty of comfortable seating and reading light, but you can also dim the lights and just enjoy the warmth and serenity of the fire. Plenty of firewood outside the cabin, and they give you free fire starters for each night of your stay.

The kitchen is incredibly small - you basically have to step outside the kitchen to open the lower cupboards. The gas stove is also tiny, and we had one incident where one of us brushed against the control and turned a burner to "low" without realizing it. The smell of gas alerted us to the problem. However, for our purposes, which included making breakfast and hot drinks, the kitchen worked quite well.

The bed takes up most of the bedroom. If you like your bed to be "made", you will need to be either very thin, in order to fit between the sides of the bed and the wall, or very strong, so you can fling the bedding over the bed from the end. There are plenty of extra pillows an blankets. The mattress is a soft, pillow top.

The bathroom is quite functional. Shower is very strong and there isn't any way that we could find to moderate it. I used all the hot water with a quick shower and hair wash - would advise turning the shower off while you lather up! Plenty of towels and washcloths provided - we didn't use them all.

As it was Thanksgiving and a bit chilly, we didn't use the deck or barbecue, but it looked like it was all very well maintained. The only thing we didn't like was the gas wall heater. When we arrived at the cabin, there was a strong smell of gas. We actually had maintenance turn the heater completely off. They provided us with a portable electric radiator, which, in combination with the fire place, kept the cabin comfortably warm. The maintenance guy did say that this heater was due to be replaced, and given how well th cabin seems to have been maintained, I am sure it will be done soon.

We would come back in a heatbeat. It is so nice to be in Yosemite but away from the crowds. Thanksgiving dinner at the Wawona was wonderful, and we enjoyed sitting by their fireplace listening to the piano player and chatting with other guests and diners there.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, being away from the crowds, the fireplace
Liked least: Tiny kitchen, concerns about gas wall heater
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2015
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing