We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cabin in the woods, great deck and...”
Hastings Hideaway Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hastings Hideaway Cabin
Front deck has a gas BBQ, not charcoal
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Hastings Hideaway Cabin
Front deck has a gas BBQ, not charcoal
Front deck has a gas BBQ, not charcoal
Living room with 32' flat screen TV and fireplace (wood provided in season)
Kitchen
Dining area seating for 5
Bedroom has a King bed
Full bathroom with long vanity
Full bathroom, different view with shower/tub combo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wawona, Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GerryHert...
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old and tired accommodation that could have been so much better”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Whilst the property was clean, all the decor and soft furnishings were very old, tired and full of "bobbles" - not a good look on bed covers and cushions. .The dark green shag pile carpet in the bedroom was revolting. I could not walk on it bare foot. We did not use the lounge area as the settee mock leather covering appeared to be disintegrating.

The cabin is very dark, due to the dark wood everywhere. .The inside of the wooden kitchen cupboards were unlined, which did not encourage us to want to use the crockery or cutlery. given that we had to pay in advance for this property to be cleaned, and also an additional insurance premium for breakages, it was slightly ironic that the crockery and cutlery didn't remotely match, and the bare minimum was supplied.

The bed linen and towels were very clean and crisp, which was great and did compensate for the poor quality bed blankets and coverings. The bathroom area was also very clean.

The saving grace was the fantastic decking area with a large picnic bench and barbecue. We ate all meals on the deck, and even though the table cover was old, it was more pleasant than being indoors.

This rental was booked through Trailfinders for us, as part of our fly drive holiday. It was the only accommodation that we had any issue with at all, and was extremely disappointing.

Date of stay: September 2015
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the decking area
Liked least: The quality of the decor and soft furnishings
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2015
Thank you for your review. Sorry you were unhappy with your cabin. I will pass on to the owner your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hen03
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely cabin in the woods, great deck and everything you need.”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cabin was great - clean and spacious. It had everything we needed for a relaxing holiday. The outside space was also great. It was nice to sit on the large deck after a day's walking in the park and have a drink and bbq. I would love to stay again sometime.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The opportunity for self catering within the park.
Liked least: No air conditioning
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2015
Thank you for your review. Please come back and stay with us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theminxal...
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Great location!”
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in May 2014

The cabin we stayed at ( #84 Hastings Hideaway) was a great little home away from home. It had everything one might need for a comfortable stay - everything from can openers in the kitchen to extra pillows to sleep on at night. The extra large deck was such a treat, and having the whole place WiFi accessible was perfect for checking your morning emails whilst watching the wildlife mill about down the streets.

It was such a nice place to vacation, I wish we'd had more time to stay and enjoy it when we were in the area!

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Please come back and stay with us again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia Canada
Reviewed December 13, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Date of stay: October 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2014
Thank you for your time spent reviewing our property! We are excited to have you as our guest again!

Truly yours,

~The Redwoods In Yosemite~
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Santiago
Reviewed December 12, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Date of stay: November 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2014
Thank you for your time spent reviewing our property! We are excited to have you as our guest again!

Truly yours,

~The Redwoods In Yosemite~
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco
Reviewed December 12, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Date of stay: November 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2014
Thank you for your time spent reviewing our property! We are excited to have you as our guest again!

Truly yours,

~The Redwoods In Yosemite~
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing