We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We loved this cabin”

Review of (23A) Big Cedar

Front entrance of cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front entrance of cabin
Large open kitchen area Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Front entrance of cabin
Large open kitchen area
Dining area
View of kitchen and dining area from living room
Living room with rock fireplace and flat screen TV
Reverse angle of living room
Reading area
Bedroom 1 with king and twin beds, attached 3/4 bathroom
Bedroom 1, reverse angle
Bathroom 1 with shower only off bedroom 1
Bathroom 1 with shower
Bedroom 2 with king and twin beds
Bedroom 2, reverse angle with flat screen TV
Bathroom 2 with tub/shower combo off bedroom 2
Bathroom 2 separate vanity
Stack-able washer & dryer in cabin
Large wrap around deck with gas grill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wawona, Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KJH999
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“We loved this cabin”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We loved the cabin, thought it was perfect location for exploring Yosemite. Located inside the park means no queuing to get in each day.

The cabin is fitted out to a very good standard with full kitchen facilities, comfy beds, good wifi, cable TV and a nice sitting area. There was also a great deck area that we didn't use because of the smoke.

There's a small convenience store within easy walking distance of the cabin that has most things you need (including beer).

Unfortunately our stay was cut short by the South Fork Fire, but the staff in the Redwoods admin centre couldn't be more accommodating in letting us leave early.

We needed more time here so will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate our guests' comments and insights. It's good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us even though the South Fork fire that was in the area cut it short! We were more than happy to accommodate you leaving early due to the unforeseen circumstances. Thank you again for all of your understanding and we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesmH31...
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved, loved, loved everything about this cabin!!!”
Reviewed February 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful! First class cabin! I traveled with my husband and 3 year old daughter. The cabin was perfect! Very cozy and fully equipped with everything that we needed during our 3 night stay. The staff at the Redwoods were spectacular. I would not change a thing and would highly recommend Big Cedar!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2015
Thank you for an outstanding review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your cabin and stay with us. We hope to see you and your family again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewed December 14, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2014
Thank you for your time spent reviewing our property! We are excited to have you as our guest again!

Truly yours,

~The Redwoods In Yosemite~
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
edds04
Hertfordshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal Yosemite base”
Reviewed August 4, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Big Cedar Cottage was a perfect base to explore Yosemite from Wawona. Very clean, comfortable and well equipped. Great kitchen and beds meant we ate a slept very well. The deck is a good size with great furniture and we used the grill every day. Quiet location at the top of a loop road close to the shop.

Our children loved the cabin and when we left our five year old daughter kissed the cabin goodbye.

Whilst there we visited:

Valley Floor Tour - good fun but the valley gets busy and very hot
Glacier Point - worth the drive to look down into the valley
Ranger talks - great fun to sit around a campfire as the sunsets
Mariposa Grove - amazing trees - take the tour to the top and walk down
Swimming in the Merced - cold but a great way to cool down at the end of a long day

The Redwoods Cabins are well orgainised and the front office is very helpful when booking

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: mosquiotos !
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2014
Thank you for your time spent reviewing our property! We are excited to have you as our guest again!

Truly yours,

~The Redwoods In Yosemite~
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing