We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What does "title of review" refer to?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Watsonville
Oakhurst, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What does "title of review" refer to?”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Overall an excellent stay. Our only complaint is that the lighting was so dim we couldn't read. We find that to be true in all motels, however. They seem to expect customers to watch TV, which we also do. But I also like to read before going to sleep and, although I have excellent vision, I couldn't see well enough to read.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Sue S,

I am sorry that our lighting was bad. We did have a similar situation about a week ago from another guest. We did buy her a higher voltage light bulb for her room so that she could read comfortably but now that I see your review I have a feeling our lighting needs to be taken care of as a whole facility. I truly appreciate your feedback and I am happy that the rest of your stay was pleasant, we do hope to see you on your next to Watsonville.

Sincerely,
Rachel C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    116
    63
    21
    10
See reviews for
151
80
10
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here because we were visiting family in town, and because it's pet friendly (yea!). I didn't have high expectations, but we were pleasantly surprised...the decor is in good taste, it's charming in fact, with a Mexican flair, which is appropriate for Watsonville. The motel seems freshly re-done, nothing is run down, everything works perfectly, and the gardens are well maintained. The staff was friendly, and even the breakfast was excellent. We usually stay out at the beach, but we'd stay here again because it's convenient for us, and because of the high quality for a decent price.

Room Tip: If you have pets, stay in the back since it's especially convenient with ample parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickiebits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Nickiebits,

I am so happy that you chose to stay with us due to our facility being pet friendly. We love seeing our guests with their furry companions! Also we aren't too far from the beach... In fact we are only 3 miles away! The thing about Watsonville beaches though is that they are FAR from touristy. The beaches are very calm and you generally only see a few locals. Santa Cruz and Monterey on the other hand are quite the opposite so if you are looking for touristy they are only about 25-30 min away! We appreciate your business and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Rachel C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

wonderful employees, better than usual breakfast. Exchanged the light bulb for better reading . Would definitely stay here again. Several members of my family stayed here. Hope I stay here next year for Xmas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank peggek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Peggek,

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to your next stay with us!
Sincerely,
Rachel C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were given a room not close to the others,to get to it you had to walk out the front of the buidling, down the sidewalk to the other side of the building away from all of the other rooms, it was for the manager, it had a kitchen and a door to the front office, which at 5 AM we were up due to loud taking in the front office. We were told at the time of check-in, there were no other rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Mr. Fred F,

I am very sorry you were unhappy with our kitchen suite. It is our newest room and we are still working out the "kinks". We find families to like it the most due to the private entrance with a patio and full kitchen. We do try to accommodate everyone best possible so if you chose to stay with us again we"ll try our very best to make sure you get a room that best meets your needs.

Happy Holidays,

Rachel C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Very nice little motel with lovely Mexican tile decor. Quiet and comfortable with helpful staff. Breakfast included fresh fruit and waffles. Close to markets and downtown, and a short drive to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Jennifer S,

I am very happy you had a comfortable at our hotel.
We did recently add a new talavera mural to our lobby!
We will be posting pictures of it soon!

We hope to see you as our guest again, we love familiar faces!

Sincerely,

Rachel C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I just stayed here three nights on business. The hotel is a bargain with big rooms, full duvet style sheets, good wifi, decent desk, nice decor, and very quiet. Some rooms face out into a blank wall across the outside walkway - don't stay there. The set of rooms facing east around the back are the best, quiet and private. Hotel has a decent breakfast, good exercise room, and tepid hot tub. Great front desk service. Perhaps the best feature is the location. Easy walking to a few good restaurants. Fast access to both the downtown and the commercial strip. I will stay here again

Room Tip: East facing rooms out back. Avoid rooms facing out into dark corridor. Cowboy Kitchen good for break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerimiahJ223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear JeremiahJ223,

Thank you for your kind words.
We always appreciate when we get good feedback about our property and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Happy Holidays,
Rachel C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedreguer
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Checked into this hotel and was amazed at the room. Very clean and good beds, excellent towels and linen. My family loved the decoration especially the vanity unit. Breakfast was simple but enough to get us going. Would recommend and definitely stay again.

Room Tip: No lifts, so stay on ground floor if you have a lot of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Spain01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Rob_Spain01,

I am very happy your entire family enjoyed our hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Watsonville!

Sincerely,
Rachel C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watsonville
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watsonville
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Watsonville
Comfort Inn Watsonville
#4 of 10 in Watsonville
79 reviews
12.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
316 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
12.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rose Garden Inn

Property: Best Western Rose Garden Inn
Address: 740 Freedom Boulevard, Watsonville, CA 95076-3811 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Watsonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Watsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn has just undergone a multi-million dollar transformation capturing the strong Mexican heritage of the local area. We have added complimentary high-speed Internet access, a free Internet kiosk, several new rooms, a meeting/event facility and a fitness center.We are ideally located in the heart of the scenic Central Coast, near the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea, redwood tree parks, championship golfing and prestigious wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watsonville
Watsonville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing