We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Rose Garden Inn
Nearby Hotels
$91
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$125
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$190
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Economy Inn(Watsonville)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Rancho Motel(Watsonville)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
National 9 Motel(Watsonville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Room Service
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveler rating
143
128
75
32
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
128
75
32
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanta cruzbreakfast roomallow petspool and hot tubwarm cookiesyogurtnice place to staybeds were comfortablenice breakfastwould stay here againroad noisegreat roomcomplimentary breakfastmontereymotelbwmicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 391 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Spent 2 nights here this July. Room was nicely appointed and very clean. Staff was very helpful, especially since I left a belong which they found and spent to my home. Would definately stay again. Breakfast room had standard Best Western breakfast, but could have had decaf coffee as well as regular. Pool and hot tub appeared well maintained but we ran out of time to enjoy them. Laundry was clean but a bit tight on space.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Vickie, Thank you for your review. It's always so nice to have the staff's hard work and effort recognized by our guests. I would like to note that we do have decaf coffee available in the breakfast room upon request as well as decaf packs for the coffee makers in the room. Please feel free to ask our staff for anything you feel would make your stay more comfortable with us. We have someone available 24 hours a day to assist in every way we can. We look forward to your next visit to town. Warmly yours, Sharon Bobbitt GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My sister and I just spent two nights here, and have loved it from the moment we got here. Even before that, the very friendly and helpful staff made booking (and changing bookings a couple times before we got the dates right...my fault, not theirs!) the room easy. We were planning a relaxing getaway with some kayaking at nearby Moss Landing, and found just what we were looking for. From the super comfy beds to the soft sheets and towels and the perfect temperature spa and pool, we loved everything about this hotel. We enjoyed a couple really lazy days here and can wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scrable1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here. Thank you for mentioning our easy location to the area attractions. We are about 15 minutes from Moss Landing and the opening of the Elk Horn Slough which is very popular for birders as well as kayakers. We also have the Wetlands right here in Watsonville to walk through for a bit of nature in our own back yard. Picking your own seasonal berries is also another fun outdoor activity here in town at Gizdich Ranch. We are about 20 minutes from the ever popular Santa Cruz Beachboardwalk and 30 minutes from the world famous Monterey Bay Aquarium. We hope you plan on another visit to the area soon and look forward to seeing you. Sincerely, Sharon Bobbitt GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I chose this hotel based on the reviews and was sorely disappointed. For one, the rooms are TINY. We booked a queen plus a sleeper and once you opened the sleeper, there was nowhere to put the coffee table. The hot water was not working the first night and called the front desk. He said it was probably because they were full so wait until the morning. In the morning it still wasn't working. Went to the front desk again and she said they were working on it and would call when they got it back on. Left for the day and came back to find it working. That evening, my kids went to shower and it was broken again. Called the front desk and was told it was just our building and it was almost fixed. No offer to credit us or anything. After being at the beach all day, it would have been nice to shower before going to dinner.

The pool was also tiny and the parking lot barely accommodated the cars. We had to park in the back away from our room. The breakfast buffet was pretty decent but it seemed like the entire housekeeping staff was in their with all their family members every morning talking at the top of their lungs. And there were only 3 tables to sit at.

I guess for the price it was fine but I would not stay here again. Pay the extra $10-20 and find somewhere closer to Capitola or Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Dana, Thank you for posting a review of your experience, both pleasant and not with us. We work hard to try and make every stay the best possible. Unfortunately we have circumstances that are sometimes unpredictable and for that we apologize and try to do everything fairly possible to correct the situation. To address the items mentioned in your review and for future guests to know as well, our rooms by the pool are standard sized rooms. The sizes of our rooms go up from there depending on the room type and location. Our pool is 12' x 26' and goes from 3 ft. on the shallow end to 6 ft. on the deep end. As for the breakfast room we do have a total of 20 seats inside with a few more for outside dining. We have found that most guests prefer enjoying their breakfast in the privacy of their rooms. It sounds like it was an exceptionally busy time in the breakfast room during your stay. The staff has been addressed in regards to congregating in busy public areas and they send their regrets for any inconveniences. As for the water heater breaking, I am so sorry that I was unable to speak with you directly. I did try to have contact with the guests in that building during the situation but did not get to cross paths with a few guests. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly in regards to this and hope you will give me call. I look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Sharon Bobbitt GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We came to stay on a sold out night, there was a line out of the door upon arrival but the front desk remained friendly and welcoming with cookies. The parking was limited but there was additional parking in the back which was super convenient. The breakfast was pretty good too they called it a "continental" but I'd almost consider a full hot breakfast. Check out was easy and just as friendly too. Overall it was a great experience and I'd recommend this facility to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5656rcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. Yes, it looks like you came the weekend of the Moto GP race at Leguna Seca in Monterey which is one of the highest demand weekends of the year here. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our complimentary breakfast. Because we do not serve hot eggs and meat our breakfast is considered continental, however we appreciate your high remarks. We hope you are able to come again to stay with us. I always recommend a shoulder season, either spring or fall, when the weather is nice but the crowds have dwindled. Sincerely, Sharon Bobbitt GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. An overall small, funky placed motel in the middle of a residential/business area. Check in was average, person at desk didn't seem too welcoming. If you bring a dog, you are only allowed on the first floor. We were given a room in the back of the property where you have to drive out of the main lot and around the corner and enter a few driveways down. Actually this lot is way better than parking in the front lot which is very small. If you have a large suv or large pickup truck it will be a very tight fit, if you come late you may have a problem parking period.
We were given a non-smoking room which smelled of smoke. I'm guessing because of the cigarette canister placed right outside our room door. The doors are not interior, they open right into the parking lot or the outside depending where you are. The rooms are not that big, but have the average bed, desk, tv, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker. Small bathroom sink area. The shower tub drain was always clogged so while taking a shower, the tub filled up with water. Our room could have used a good dusting, fuzzy dust on top of the lights ick!
The free continental breakfast was what you would expect, the basics and enought to get you going in the morning. It did not open until 7am though, so due to our schedule we were not able to access it each day.
I am unsure if I would recommend this place or not. I don't think there is alot to choose from in hotels in this area. Pretty pricey for what you get.

Room Tip: Try and get a room by the back parking lot.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheV's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseGardenInn, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear V's, Thank you for reviewing your experience with us here at the Best Western Plus Rose Garden Inn. We appreciate your efforts. I would like to apologize for your finding the dust on the lights as this is not up to our standards. I have asked the head of housekeeping to have all the housekeepers do a thorough dusting of all the rooms immediately. We hope you will consider us again on your next visit to our area. Sincerely, Sharon Bobbitt General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews