We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good”
Review of Cilantros

Cilantros
Ranked #5 of 134 Restaurants in Watsonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Green Valley Road
Transit: A city bus stop is available in front of the restaurant on Main Street.
Description: In the tradition of El Palomar Santa Cruz, Cilantros has set a standard in Mexican cuisine by combining authentic homemade recipes from the sunny state of Michoacan in Southern Mexico, with the unique abundance of locally grown produce and fresh caught seafood available in the Monterey Bay.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Went there again & loved it again!
Great food & the service was dead on, old school style ( you know, where serving is about making the customers experience the best possible).
Put your napkin on your plate an our server Marisol was there asking if she could take the plate away. she was obviously very talented and well trained.
Price is very reasonable for what you get.
Just go!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank InnstoneDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan E, Owner at Cilantros, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! I'm delighted to hear you were just as impressed as the first time you came by. Marisol will be happy to know you appreciated her warm and attentive service. Looking forward to having you join us for another meal soon!

Best,

Amelia, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 106 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food is OK, a little too "Gringo" for me. Place is clean and service is good. There was no real "A la cart" section on the menu. Location was convenient for me. The area felt a little too cramped and was a little on the noisy side. Chips were nice and warm.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Page1vp_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan E, Owner at Cilantros, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. While I'm happy to hear you were pleased with our service and ambiance, I'm disappointed we failed to impress you with our menu. We pride ourselves on offering our customers authentic and flavorful Mexican fare. I'll be sure to share your review with our kitchen staff to ensure that's shining through more. I do hope you'll give us another chance in the future, I know we can make a better impression!

All the best,

Amelia, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Excellent service, great food, oh those hand made tortillas so delisious, and crispy chips with salsa, I picked the Cilantro's Appetizer,mouth watering....with a cold drink from the bar, You have both worlds, a great Mexican cuisine restaurant with a full bar, with top shelf liquors. Make a reservation or 1/2 hour to 45 min. On weekends pick hours waiting line. A great place to eat....or drink.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pilatos_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is nearly a perfect Mexican restaurant! The chips are usually slightly warm and crispy, the salsa is just right (although every once in awhile too spicy), the margaritas are very reasonably priced and good with lots of upgrade options, and the food is just what you want with a Mexican restaurant. The place has a bar area with tv, separated from the restaurant, and has a larger dining area. You can go there as both a couple and have a fun, personal experience, or you can go as a large group. A few tips: try ordering a side of refried beans the moment you walk in, and use them as for dipping the chips in, along with the salsa--it is amazing and super cheap. Also, personally, I love their cheese enchiladas, which have a unique flavor to them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan E, Owner at Cilantros, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, Aaron! I'm delighted to know our Mexican fare has never failed to impress you. Our Cheese Enchiladas are a tried and true favorite! Excellent tip regarding our refried beans. We'll have to start suggesting that ourselves! Hope to see you for another meal soon.

All the best,

Amelia, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Enjoyed the food here very much. Not your typical mexican food. Nice for a change. Service was good. Restaurant was clean. Great warm chips with tasty salsa. Had the sopa and seafood taco. Both were very good. Would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank theheatonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan E, Owner at Cilantros, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your recommendation! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed lunch with us back in April. We pride ourselves on our unique offerings, so it's wonderful to know our dishes weren't your typical Mexican food! I hope you've joined us for a few meals since.

All the best,

Amelia, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cilantros also viewed

 

Been to Cilantros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing