We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location, but...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pajaro Dunes Condominiums & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pajaro Dunes Condominiums & Resort
San Francisco
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice Location, but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

Pajaro Dunes is a beachside development consisting of homes and condos. Some owners rent out their properties, and the rentals are managed by an on-site agency.

We booked House 128 for two families. The pictures of the house look quite nice. While the pictures were accurate, we did have some problems with this house.

First, the bathrooms are tiny, tiny, tiny. You know, the toilet where your knees are against the wall and the stand up shower that you can hardly turn around in. Second, the house is very vertical (3 stories) and there is no insulation between floors. If someone is in the family room/kitchen (third floor), you cannot sleep in the second floor as the floors creak and squeak and the plumbing is loud, loud, loud. With small children traveling with us, we didn't get much sleep.

Given the price we paid (which was A LOT), we expected much more from this property.

Also, be forewarned that it's about a 3 story hike up from the parking lot to the unit, so to get groceries up is ~ 6 floors.

The house has taken a beating from being on the beach. The doors are all rusted out and hard to operate. There's a lot of glass in this house, and you get a pretty good view of the ocean from the top floor. It's great to have the beach so close, and we also liked the fact that there were no roads or cars between the unit and the beach (even though this house is the third row back from the beach).

  • Liked — Beach location
  • Disliked — Too noisy, bad value
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bob999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    20
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
15
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2006

We (two adults and two children aged 5 and 14) stayed in August. The condo was very good, had everything that we needed and was clean and tidy. Everything worked and was of a good standard.

We had a ground floor apartment and while we did not have a sea view, we faced the sea and it was literally a few feet to the beach. The latter is long, very clean and was largely deserted (the near by public beaches were more crowded).

The complex is relatively isolated, so expect to make your own entertainment. Also, worth doing a shop before you arrive as the supermarket is about 15 mins drive away.

We would really recommend this location, which is also convenient for Monterey and Santa Cruz.

  • Liked — beach proximity, quiet, private
  • Disliked — would have preferred a sea view
  • Tips/Secrets — food shop in Watsonville en route
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonstok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2006

Great location, quiet**, peaceful, but disappointed on this trip. Our unit (3 BR, 2 BA, partial ocean view on beach level) was not maintained or clean. Second BA had urine and more, rugs needed vacuuming, floors sweeing, and throw rugs in desperate need of shaking & laundering. Diswasher and garbage disposal broken and a full load of towels in the dryer. Not happy about this esp. considering the $$ paid for cleaning. Decor also pretty bad - looked like a quick succession of 3 owners with different taste, decorated.

**At night, settling down to enjoy the sound of the ocean, disturbed by periodic sound of loud firecracker or shotgun? This lasted throughout the night, every 45-60 seconds. The security guard speculated it was a sound from the neighboring agricultural fields used to scare off small animals??

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2005

For a conference in Monterey, we decided to book outside the city to avoid congestion. THe commute to Monterey took a little longer than I would have liked, 30-45 minutes, but the stay in Pajaro Dunes was excellent. We had a third floor unit so the view was unobstructed. The beach is a great walking beach. The waves break miles away from the shore and perfect for my small children to play on the beach, collecting sanddollars, watching the birds eat tiny crabs. We walked and walked and walked and loved every moment of it. It is a beautifully melancholy place. We went to the Monterey Aquarium and regretted wasting the time looking for parking and standing in line. We should have stayed at the condo and played in the sand. Our condo was completely delux, with granite countertops and hip silverwares. Shopping and restaurants are few exits away on the freeway. Overall, we really enjoyed the stay!

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank attymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2005

Pajaro Dunes is a great place to stay whether you rent through the agency or direct through an owner. The weather and wind is cannot be predicted during any season. We have had great weather when is should be cold and cold and windy when is should be warm. Our last three (in 20+) times we have stayed was in October, and has been wonderful. We always stay in Shorebirds, where the majority of the one and two bdrm. units are. You can see the ocean from the second and third floors wherever they are located in the building. Pelican (stayed twice) sits back and higher on the dunes, so to find a unit with as good of a view can be difficult, although the units that look over the river are very peaceful, and the birds are abundant. In between Pelican and Shorebirds are the larger private homes and condos. Now that you can see the condo on whatever web-site showing the view, it is hard to make the wrong decision.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2004

I have stayed at this property three times. I think it is a great deal, compared to hotel/suite prices further south (monterey, carmel).

These are privately owned condos and homes that a property mgt. firm is lending out to visitors. I have always stayed in the very early spring, when there is usually an off season special running which historically, has been very good.

The only complaint I had, had nothing to do with the property directly. But the sand on the beach (most of the condos sit on the beach) can blow around ferouciously. "shorebirds" is a series of condos for rent that are primarily as north as you can get. I would try for something else.... the wind here can be the worst. Stay to the south end as you choose a room.

Good luck!

Cindy

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank montereychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watsonville
18.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
8.2 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn
#1 of 10 in Watsonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pajaro Dunes Condominiums & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pajaro Dunes Condominiums & Resort

Property: Pajaro Dunes Condominiums & Resort
Address: 105 Shell Dr, 2661 Beach Rd., Watsonville, CA 95076-9632
Location: United States > California > Watsonville
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Watsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why settle for a room, when you can enjoy a beautiful coastal home?! Nestled along the Monterey Bay is one of the most scenic stretches of California's central coastline. Spanning 1 1/2 miles of pristine beach, Pajaro Dunes Resort is in a secluded, gated community featuring a collection of beautiful beachfront homes, townhouses, and condominiums - available for vacation rentals & group retreats.Looking for a perfect Santa Cruz County family vacation, family reunion or seminar site? Pajaro Dunes is 4 miles west of Watsonville and conveniently, 20 miles south of Santa Cruz and 25 miles north of Monterey/Carmel. Enjoy the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, Santa Cruz Mountain Redwoods, Monterey Bay Aquarium, central coast wineries and world famous golf! When booking with us, you'll enjoy full service! No hunting for a key n the dark like some vacation rentals. We provide personal check in, 7 day on site staff 9-5:30. Visit our Lobby for free DVD movies, tennis rackets and sport equipment, ice, coffee and a morning paper. Our gift shop has almost anything you might have forgotten, along with local winery favorites, fabulous kites, gifts and more. Plenty of tennis courts, basketball & volleyball, walking trails and we'll even set up a reserved beach bonfire with s'mores for you! We offer homes from 1-3 bedroom condos, to fantastic 5 bedroom beach front houses. Choose your level of view and luxury in this memorable getaway. We'll save a sunset for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pajaro Dunes Condominiums & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pajaro Dunes Condominiums Hotel Watsonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing