We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every respect”
Review of 82 Fishbourne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fishbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
82 Fishbourne
Ranked #2 of 4 Fishbourne B&B and Inns
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
627 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
“Excellent in every respect”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We decided to stay at this B&B for 2 nights on our way to the West Country, and it was the best decision we could have made. We were greeted warmly by Nik Westacott, the owner, who could not have been more friendly and welcoming. As there was nobody else staying he let us have the spacious suite, which was much appreciated. Our room therefore comprised a large comfortable double bed, quality linen, and a relaxing sitting area with sofa in front of the TV (which was a bonus for me as I was able to watch the six nations rugby in comfort). There was also a small fridge outside with fresh milk as well as drinks and wine to purchase if required. The room is at the front of the house, so on the main road, but it is double-glazed and we weren’t disturbed by any traffic noise.

As might be gathered from earlier reviews, Nik is a professional chef, who now runs his own business in outside catering as well as catering for functions or special dinners/lunches in his small but intimate dining room in a separate building at the front of his premises. This is where breakfast is served – and what a good breakfast it was. It started with a lovely dish of fresh fruit with an attractively presented yoghurt and fruit puree, fruit juice, a variety of cereals and a comprehensive cooked breakfast, accompanied by a selection of breads/toast and muffins. It’s certainly a bonus having a professional chef prepare breakfast, as it was, of course, all beautifully cooked and presented.

We did not sample any of his meals other than breakfast, so can’t comment on the restaurant side, but if breakfast is anything to go by I would happily eat there, as I am sure it would be of the same high standards as everything else.

Highy recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malabarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nn1Sussex, Owner at 82 Fishbourne, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, always a pleasure to look after new and regular guests alike.

Nik westacott
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    27
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
113
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A friend recommended Nik Westacott's restaurant to us, suggesting that the £5 Friday deal would be a good way to have 'a taster'. All well and good but the £5 Friday deal was already so popular when I contacted Nik that they were full throughout the short season; however, Nik had been farsighted enough to offer Thursdays as a fall-back deal and we gladly accepted a date a few weeks later. We're so glad that we did: the dining-room, though relatively small for the number of diners, was arranged in such a way (magic, perhaps?) that it didn't feel cramped at all. Fresh flowers on each table, a jug of cold water and a ready basket of what seemed to be home-baked bread; all these provided without our having to ask. Nik took our order; the choice was good - if inevitably limited by the need to keep costs within reasonable bounds - and the food was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peeyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nn1Sussex, Owner at 82 Fishbourne, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your review about our restaurant facility; "The Old Greenhouse" Really pleased you enjoyed again.

Nik Westacott
Chef/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have been desperate to try Nik's place since he opened but Friday night was my first opportunity......and it definitely won't be my last! Fantastic food, great atmosphere and impeccable service! I can't recommend this place enough - and in fact have been doing so since we left.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
193 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This private party was booked in advance, and I thought it was a lovely setting for a small party. Nik has converted the 'greenhouse' (no longer glass) into a cosy dining area. He laid the tables beautifully, and served fantastic food with humour. Nothing was too much bother. If you are having a function I would highly recommend Nik and this place.This was an absolutely fantastic evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenBNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nn1Sussex, Owner at 82 Fishbourne, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Glad it was such a success.

Nik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a tiny place, not obvious to find - it's opposite The Woolpack in Fishbourne. The food is first class, and although there are not many places (about 16 seats) it has a proper restaurant atmosphere and is by its very essence cosy and intimate. Not stayed in the B&B so can't comment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JumpinJackFlash60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were back in Chichester in November and returned to no 82. We were not disappointed. No drop in Standards since our earlier trip. We had the same large downstairs ensuite room again. Very comfortable bed with lovely crisp bedlinen. The breakfast was as delicious as before with fresh fruit and yoghourt with honey for starters, little extra touches of crumpets and croissants with the eggs and even a sandwich for lunch!! Nik always makes you feel very welcome and special and that's why we keep going back. Great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nn1Sussex, Owner at 82 Fishbourne, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Always a pleasure to greet regular clients. (as well as ne ones!)
Glad your weekend was successful, see you in November.

Nik and Sandra Westacott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
218 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Blimey, I have been in the 5 star joints in major cities and frankly, staying at Nik and Sandra's place was a total joy.

Nik thinks of it all, nothing is too much trouble, breakfasts delish and the Xmas eve feat Nik put on for my wife and I, along with 4 friends, totally and utterly amazing - and such value I could hardly believe it.

Our room on the ground floor, was huge - little sitting area, and outside fridge in which wine and other drinks are stored.

I could go on and on - bur suffice to say - if in Chichester, you'd be mad not to visit. And also - Nik being a brilliant chef, do go for dinner too - totally delish!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nn1Sussex, Owner at 82 Fishbourne, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Christmas is great fun in the house and we were delighted to have you here and make you feel welcome.
Thanks also for your review of The Old Greenhouse, our private restaurant where we supplied your Christmas eve lunch.

See you soon

Best wishes

Nik and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fishbourne
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
2.2 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
499 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#8 of 8 in Chichester
192 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 8 in Chichester
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 82 Fishbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 82 Fishbourne

Property: 82 Fishbourne
Address: 82 Fishbourne Road West, Fishbourne, Chichester PO19 3JL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Fishbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fishbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 82 Fishbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA approved accommodation inspected in February 2015. We also have the AA's breakfast and dinner award for quality. We have 1 ground floor suite and 2 superior double en suite rooms all with king size beds. .Friendly, privately run bed and breakfast, 1 mile from centre of Chichester, 100m from Fishbourne roman palace,100m to Chichester harbour, 15 minute drive to Portsmouth and West Wittering. Fully licensed, private 16 cover restaurant The Old Greenhouse ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing