We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, delicious food, nice atmosphere”
Review of Plearn Thai Palace

Plearn Thai Palace
Ranked #72 of 296 Restaurants in Walnut Creek
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Walnut Creek, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow, delicious food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband & I really enjoyed our first visit to Plearn in Walnut Creek. We had read that they're always busy, and I can see why! We dropped in on a weeknight and waited for a few minutes for a table. The food was great! He had yellow chicken curry and I had pad thai (Pat Thai on their menu.) Great sauces, textures, seasonings. The staff was very busy but courteous. Not sure how many cooks are in the kitchen; it took a little while for us to get our food but we'd ordered the ghio-krob appetizer, which tided us over till then. The appetizer (fried won-ton stuffed with potato, corn, onion & curry powder, served with a unique sweet-n-sour sauce) was delicious and the sweet-n-sour sauce seemed made from scratch using honey. It was light brown, clear, and a far cry from the red sugary gunk many restaurants serve. We would definitely go back and sample more dishes there again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amastelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Thai”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The kids and I took my wife here recently for her birthday. To serve the group, we ordered a wide assortment of appetizers and main dishes. Everything was well prepared, fresh and bursting with flavor. The service was adequate but not exceptional. Bottom line - we will return again when we are looking for Thai food in Walnut Creek.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LightFighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“flavor central”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Been there many times over the past 3 years or so for both dine in and take out. Always great, fantastic flavors. I enjoy the Tom Ka Gai, Red Curry, BBQ beef, Pad Thai especially. The food reheats in the microwave the next day very well too. For the unique flavor, the pricing is very reasonable.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California/Italy
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Good green curry chicken but...”
Reviewed July 24, 2008

The food was reasonably good, especially the green curry chicken but otherwise this restaurnt has little to recommend it. On a hot evening in a small restaurant with no ventilation or air conditioning, the waiter arrived with our ice water after ten minutes. We had to wait again to order so the service was somewhat shoddy. The trip to the restroom revealed dirt and disorder in the kitchen...not appetizing.

Helpful?
1 Thank LaBernardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Best in town”
Reviewed February 29, 2008

We have tried all Thai restaurants around and this is always the best. Never had a less that great meal. We are locals and know the territory.

Helpful?
Thank markmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plearn Thai Palace also viewed

 

Been to Plearn Thai Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing