We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Destroyed by the Kitchen Sink, but Found it Delicious”

San Francisco Creamery Co.
Ranked #1 of 16 Dessert in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
213 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Destroyed by the Kitchen Sink, but Found it Delicious”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

San Francisco Creamery is well known for featuring their absurd, Man v. Food Challenge, the Kitchen Sink. It was for this reason we traveled to Walnut Creek to visit the creamery. If you don't know, the Kitchen Sink features eight giant scoops of ice cream, 8 different toppings, and you have an absurd 30 minutes to finish it. It was a really fun challenge to try, but i ate about 20% of it. There's SO much ice cream.

If you're not into gut-busting food challenges, the place has a wide variety of ice cream flavors and toppings. My wife ordered a Red & White (vanilla and strawberry ice cream with hot fudge and strawberry sauce) and she really enjoyed it. The service was really good. There were plenty of open tables when we arrived around 3pm on a Thursday. There were several large groups, and the staff seemed to handle them seamlessly. The waiters took good care of us, and kept checking in on me while I was doing my challenge. It appeared to be clean and well-maintained, with a very professional staff.

While I was disappointed I couldn't finish the challenge, I was very pleased with the overall experience. I would certainly recommend this restaurant if you're looking to cool off.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thegreatone3182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    58
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Riding, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old school ice cream joint - grab friends/family and attack the kitchen sink”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

On a visit to San Francisco my relatives mentioned this ice cream challenge from the tv show Man Vs Food. We are fans of the show and thought this would be great to visit the same place. We stopped in mid-day on a Tuesday and had no problem getting a table or served. We ordered this monster sundae called the Kitchen Sink. It has 8 very large scoops of ice cream, 8 toppings, and a mountain of whipped cream. 5 adults and 3 kids only ate about 75% when we cried uncle. Delicious ice cream and a great novelty for us as fans of the show!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinchin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great ice cream!!!!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Have only had the ice cream here and I is awesome! Chocolate lovers dream and when they have it it's on like donkey kong!!!! Very very creamy, great service as well! Ho fudge is yummy too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank havefun135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Yummy delight hot fudge sundae”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A great place for family or a casual date. The ice cream - hot fudge sundae was yummy. Yo should order one scoop/single if you are not an ice cream aficionado - because they give you a lot!
Will never stop eating at the place - you should too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bee_LQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go in with an empty stomach!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Came here on a hot Saturday around 4:30 and had a very short wait for a table for 3. We all ordered sandwiches - tri tip, grilled eggplant and BBQ chicken with cheese. All were tasty plus the homemade potato chips were great! For dessert we each had a regular single scoop of ice cream (toasted almond, apple pie and coffee caramel crunch) with hot fudge topping, whipped cream, toasted almonds and a cherry on top. Be warned! Their "single" scoop is more like a double scoop. We waddled out of the restaurant happy but stuffed. Will definitely return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NosyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco Creamery Co. also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco Creamery Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing