We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest H I Ex”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One of the nicest H I Ex”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We were very pleased with our stay at this Express. Entering the front door we felt we had entered a small resort hotel. The lobby/check-in desk area was large and very clean. The desk staff was very courteous and responsive to our questions. The room 224 was a little larger than most Express rooms. The room was very clean and the bathroom was a good size with good counter space. One of the biggest surprise for us was the breakfast dining area. It was large with many tables. The food selection was typical Express with both hot and cold items. What stood out for us was there were two staff people on duty who keep the place clean and food items well stocked. Our stay was very enjoyable and when I found a way to stay on the high centered mattress, without rolling off, it was really enjoyable. Mattress was a little worn on the edges. Whenever in the Walnut Creek area we would stay at this Express again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimdanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    211
    80
    18
    8
See reviews for
185
120
41
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, CA
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed here overnight due to an emergency, and were extremely pleased. We took the advice to pay extra for a courtyard view, which soothed frayed nerves. Staff was helpful, warned us about the parking situation, and helped us with early check-in. The breakfast was average, and we were glad to see it, with our minimal planning-packing. We will choose this hotel in our area again for ourselves and others over all others we have tried, as we find it suits our needs very well. In fact, my teen daughter encouraged me to write this review, as she like it so much.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MominConcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dgill2306, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
We would like to say thank you to your daughter and yourself for taking the time to go ahead and write a review. We truly appreciate it as we strive to be the best hotel available in the area. Thank you again and we are so pleased to hear you would stay again!
Holiday Inn Express Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We were visiting family in Walnut Creek and wanted a nice place to stay. This fit the bill - the rooms are large, the king bed we had was comfortable, the bathroom had plenty of counter space. We paid extra for a courtyard room and only had noise from the outdoor pool until it closed. The breakfast was not fancy but adequate. The fitness room had a bike, elliptical, and treadmill. It had a parking garage under the hotel and some parking out front. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DustyBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dgill2306, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay. We are very pleased to hear that our hotel met your expectations and we look forward to your next visit to the Walnut Creek Area!
Holiday Inn Express Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

I asked for a quiet room and got one. The room worked out great, bed comfy, has a fridge and microwave. ONLY real problem I had was the Internet was down a few times I was there. Breakfast staff was super!
I'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idahodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dgill2306, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that your stay was solid! We are pleased to hear we met your request for a room. Please know that we have recognized the challenges with the internet and this should not be an issue going forward.
Thank you again!
Holiday Inn Express Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

This hotel is modern, safe, clean, spacious, and low-key. Has a great lobby with several seating areas as well as a comfortable courtyard/pool area to hang out for a snack, drinks, or card game. Thankfully there were no kids screaming & running all over either. I'm so glad we paid a few dollars more to have our window facing the courtyard! (Do it, it will be worth a few extra bucks.) The courtyard is a pretty scene and definitely blocks the noise from the interstate. Excellent coffee and huge breakfast selection. Staff was especially friendly (including housekeeping & breakfast staff). A very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda6381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dgill2306, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
WOW! Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the staff efforts. We will be sure to inform the staff immediately.
Thank you again!
Holiday Inn Express Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Made reservation direct with HI Exp WC and prepaid for entire stay. As I had to leave one day early, clerck on check out said one day's refund would come in "due course" . After 2 weeks I am now told HI does not refund prepaid accommodations and you have to deal with the booking agent, even though I did not use one! I have stayed here several times and have use the Int. Continental group's hotels around the world for more that 40 years, I have never been charged for days not spent in a hotel.
Obviously this is a trick used by this hotel unit. So watch out if you pay in advance!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillemCarlsbad_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dgill2306, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We are addressing this with an immediate attention to ensure you provided with the refund as you were informed. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this and I assure you, this is not the way we provide service.

Thank you for continuing to stay with us during your visits to the East Bay Area and for taking the time to inform us of the challenge you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Rooms are a little dated, but very clean, especially the bathroom - spotless. Nothing fancy, a CRT tv with basic cable channels & hbo, wireless internet that worked fine, a little mini fridge and microwave which was nice. A/C is one of those boxes that sticks out into the room and makes a ton of noise.

Get a courtyard room for $10 -- looks onto a lovely courtyard rather than the gravel factory or whatever it is next door. Immediate vicinity is not all that great, but it's only a mile or two down to Walnut Creek proper.

What one reviewer said about the shower/toilet next door making a loud noise is true - it woke us up in the night when the person next door flushed.

The lobby is super nice - craftsman style, large, open. Rest of the hotel looks like 1960s but they have done a good job with what they have.

Fitness center is 2 or 3 treadmills and a few weights in a small room.

Parking is very adequate. Just don't park in the alley like that one guy -- where (I just checked) there are three signs saying Private Parking and one sign explicitly saying not for Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalifTrav08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dgill2306, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, February 5, 2010
Dear Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you found our rooms exceptionally clean! However, we do apologize for the noise you encountered during your stay. In addition to the noise issue, please be assured that we have noted your concerns regarding our rooms, which you considered "dated." We take all of our guests' feedback seriously and your comments will be revisited for future upgrades and renovations. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! Hope to see you back at the Holiday Inn Express on your next trip to Walnut Creek!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
0.8 mi away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
738 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
0.4 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 5 in Pleasant Hill
449 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Pleasant Hill
Courtyard Pleasant Hill
#2 of 5 in Pleasant Hill
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek

Property: Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Address: 2730 N Main St, Walnut Creek, CA 94597-2732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Walnut Creek
#2 Family Hotel in Walnut Creek
#3 Business Hotel in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek the perfect hotel for business or pleasure in the East Bay area of San Francisco. The Holiday Inn Express has transformed into a warm and modern hotel featuring contemporary furnishings, a natural light conservatory and a relaxing library area. The Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA hotel, minutes from Concord, Pleasant Hill and Moraga, offers access to I-680 for access to Oakland, San Francisco, San Jose, and all parts of the San Francisco Bay Area. Or, if you prefer to avoid driving, BART is 3 blocks away and takes you to San Francisco within 30 minutes. Visiting St. Mary s College, Concord Pavilion, & the upscale Broadway Shopping Plaza of Walnut Creek are all easy from the hotel.If you re working in Walnut Creek, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel makes visiting PMI, Siemens Oncology, Kaiser Permanente or PG&E easy and stress-free. In Contra Costa County, the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA is well known for being one of the only hotels in Walnut Creek to offer free high-speed Internet access, free parking, and free shuttle service within 3 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Hotel Walnut Creek
Holiday Inn Walnut Creek
Walnut Creek Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing