We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 13, 2014

moved from a pricier Walnut Creek hotel to this pleasant hotel. We were welcomed to check in early for 1 of 2 rooms when we stopped by to check on reservations and parking before taking BART into SF. While the parking garage wasn't pretty, I felt safe & didn't have to pay extra to park under the hotel. The lobby and grounds were attractive and after the first day the staff welcomed us 'back' each time we returned from SF. There was always a urn of fruit flavored H2O available in the lobby. Breakfast offered a choice of items and kept spotless by employees. They offered a shuttle to the BART and there were cabs to take back from BART at the end of day. The halls and rooms could do with an update of carpets and when I arrived the windows were open in the room, which felt welcoming. However while looking out the window, noticed the screens weren't clean and had some tears in them. Managers reception on Weds was the best I've had. All in all this is a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retiredtraveler233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear RetiredTraveler233:
Thanks for staying at our Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek and for your valued feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and our Wednesday BBQ Reception also, we are sorry to hear that the window was not completely clean, I will share your comments with the Housekeeping Supervisor for resolution. Thanks again for your kind feedback and hope that you visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 573 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

Our son-in-law is in the military, and was travelling from South Korea to San Francisco, and then on to Tennessee to be with his wife (our daughter) and their two children. With a one day lay-over, we wanted to make sure he had a comfortable place to rest before catching his flight the next day. Because his flight was a military flight, we were unsure of when he would arrive, and thus were unable to make a reservation. We arrived at the Holiday Inn Express in Walnut Creek at 5:00 AM. We were greeted in a very professional and courteous manner at the front desk by a gentleman named Ian. He treated us as though we had a reservation and our arrival had been anticipated. Ian very quickly got our son-in-law checked in, and offered bottles of water to all of us. Our son-in-law noted that his room was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. When he makes his return trip from Tennessee back to South Korea, we will again have him stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Walnut Creek. There are several hotels to choose from in the Walnut Creek area, but it was the "yes, we can take care of that" attitude that Ian had that made this a unique and wonderful experience. Ian definitely understands what customer service is all about. Without hesitation I can state that in the future when I have family, friends, or business associates travelling to the Bay Area, I will very confidently recommend the Holiday Inn Express in Walnut Creek. Thank you Ian, for your kindness and professionalism, you made our experience exceptional.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeagleMom2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Beaglemom2009:
Thank you for your stay and for such a wonderful review about your recent experience at our hotel. It appears that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest and we appreciate the fact of sharing your comments with us. I will make sure to recognize Ian for going above and beyond for you.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

HI Express in Walnut Creek was perfect. My two young girls and I were attending a Lindsey Stirling concert in SF, and most hotels were full. Only availability was $300+ per night. This was also Bay-to-Breakers weekend. My husband, SF born and raised, suggested we stay in Walnut Creek and take Bart to SF. I was apprehensive of taking Bart so late at night, but it was safe and convenient, station only a few minutes away from hotel. The rates were less than normal rates in SF, plus free hot breakfast and free parking! The HI Express was almost full with Bay-to-Breakers participants but still were able to take care of our concerns, such as room with quieter AC, room away from ice machine and elevator. The rooms were spacious, quiet, and the beds were comfortable. Didn't have time to enjoy the pool but did check it out, very nice. The best part was the helpful ladies at the front desk, who had restaurant suggestions, directions, room change because of AC (after we moved to our new room, I noticed maintenance fixing the AC in our first room), all with big smiles.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tahoemomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Tahoemotof2:
Thank you for the great review and for your stay, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest and those great news for our staff, we will share it with everyone for recognition, we hope you visit us again soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our daughter attended St Marys College in Moraga, and we have stayed at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek every time we visited her, which was many times in 4 years!
When it came time for graduation and we were going to bring many family members, of course we knew the best place to stay. We reserved several rooms for the occasion, and since I wanted all of us to be in close proximity for convenience, I called ahead and spoke to Margaret, who very graciously blocked rooms adjacent to each other. One week ahead,I called again to make sure, and once again spoke to Margaret, who assured me everything was done. Our family had an extremely pleasant stay; we were so happy to be close together for this special occasion. Our daughter will remain in the bay area after graduation, and we will continue to stay there every time! Margaret went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable! Thank You Margaret and Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek!

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor are so convenient, like being home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandmcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear mandmcastro:
Thank you so much for staying at our hotel and for your kind feedback towards your recent experience at our Holiday Inn Express walnut Creek. We much appreciate you as a loyal guest and your kind comments. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

With a student athlete at SMC, the Holiday Inn Express in Walnut Creek has always been our go-to accommodation during our stays. We have always enjoyed the friendliness and professionalism of the front desk and staff. They are quick to respond to any requests or concerns a guest may have . . . and always with a smile.

This past weekend was graduation at SMC and the Holiday Inn Express in Walnut Creek was fully booked, as we anticipated, so we proactively made our reservations a year in advance.

A few days prior to our arrival we received a call from a hotel representative asking if we would be interested in upgrading our reservation from the double room that we had reserved to a king, for they were short on doubles for their guests. We declined because we had 3 adults in our party. However, when we arrived, we discovered that hotel management disregarded our decision and without warning, changed our reservation to a king. We were tired from traveling and very frustrated with the change, especially since our reservations were made a year in advance.

Sylvia at the front desk immediately worked to correct our reservation, which was not an easy task since the hotel was fully booked. Suddenly, the hotel manager, Steve Dodaro came out from the back room and in a very loud and demeaning tone, in our presence, questioned why the reservation was being changed. Sylvia remained very professional and tried to explain the situation to him as he continued to badger her about the changes that she was making. As guests, we felt extremely uncomfortable with Steve Dodaro’s tone and behavior. As a hotel manager and representative of the Holiday Inn Express, his behavior was EXTREMELY unprofessional, totally unwarranted and demonstrated a complete lack of customer service. In comparison, we were extremely impressed with the way in which Sylvia handled herself in working through our reservation, as she remained courteous and above all else professional throughout the ordeal.

This is a big THANK YOU! to Sylvia for all that you did to make our stay enjoyable during our student athlete’s graduation!

This is also a message to Steve Dodaro and to the Carlyle Group and Rim Hospitality. As mentioned above . . . as a hotel manager and representative of the Holiday Inn Express, Steve Dodaro's behavior was EXTREMELY unprofessional, totally unwarranted and demonstrated a complete lack of customer service. We would expect more from the Carlyle Group in choosing a manger for the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek. We've lowered our rating merely due to Steve Dodaro's behavior.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sevib54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, Opearations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Sevib54:
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your thoughts about your recent experience at our Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek. We are glad to hear that we were able to deliver a great experience and we are sorry to hear that there was a misunderstanding fixed by Silvia. We will share your comments with Silvia for resolution and hope that next time in the area you will visit us again.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

To Brian the desk person who made the stay very OK. He was such a nice guy, so helpful & pleasant!!

The Iron Horse Trail, the buffet, the wait people & the housekeeping staff also helped make it a good stay.
Unfortunately, I had very noisy people above me which made sleeping difficult.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Catherine C:
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your feedback, we are glad to hear that Brian, the breakfast and housekeeping attendants were able to deliver excellent service to you and sorry about the inconvenience caused from the noise coming from another guest room located near by your room, we hope that you still consider us for a future visit.
Thanks again for your stay and for your kind word towards our service staff!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

If you are traveling on government business avoid this hotel. I called this hotel directly to inquire about availability at the federal gov't rate. The manager who answered immediately transferred me to the main 1-800 number for reservations (most hotels will answer your questions and not immediately send you to the national call center). Her transfer attempt failed. I called the 1-800 number myself. The agent at the national call center had no idea what the correct Fed gov't rate was. I had to hang up, confirm the fed gov't rate for that zip code, and call back. No Fed gov't rate available-the rate was less than the gov't rate and non refundable or $125. I called back direct to the hotel again. The same female manager answered. I explained the issue and asked if she could honor the fed gov't rate of $117, considering $125 is so close. I explained that I stay at HIEs > 25 nights per year (hint hint loyal business traveler customer) and that HIE's almost always have been able to accommodate a fed gov't rate if they're not sold out. The reply was nope, can't help you...not even a sorry. Pain in the butt and a waste of time. I made direct contact with two other HIE's in the East Bay Area who were able to answer my questions and able to honor the fed gov't rate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
1  Thank lindsay_D2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Lindsay_D2007:
We are sorry to hear that we did not have the government available that night at the $117 and that we were not able to fulfill your request. We appreciate your feedback and we will share your comments with the staff. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
0.8 mi away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
788 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Diablo Mountain Inn
Diablo Mountain Inn
#5 of 7 in Walnut Creek
80 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Concord
Hilton Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
978 reviews
1.4 mi away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 6 in Pleasant Hill
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek

Address: 2730 N Main St, Walnut Creek, CA 94597-2732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Walnut Creek
#2 Family Hotel in Walnut Creek
#3 Business Hotel in Walnut Creek
Price Range: $126 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek the perfect hotel for business or pleasure in the East Bay area of San Francisco. The Holiday Inn Express has transformed into a warm and modern hotel featuring contemporary furnishings, a natural light conservatory and a relaxing library area. The Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA hotel, minutes from Concord, Pleasant Hill and Moraga, offers access to I-680 for access to Oakland, San Francisco, San Jose, and all parts of the San Francisco Bay Area. Or, if you prefer to avoid driving, BART is 3 blocks away and takes you to San Francisco within 30 minutes. Visiting St. Mary s College, Concord Pavilion, & the upscale Broadway Shopping Plaza of Walnut Creek are all easy from the hotel.If you re working in Walnut Creek, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel makes visiting PMI, Siemens Oncology, Kaiser Permanente or PG&E easy and stress-free. In Contra Costa County, the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA is well known for being one of the only hotels in Walnut Creek to offer free high-speed Internet access, free parking, and free shuttle service within 3 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Hotel Walnut Creek
Holiday Inn Walnut Creek
Walnut Creek Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing