We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay close to everything in the Bay Area. The staff was courteous on check in. The room was clean, bathroom was well appointed, the beds were comfortable with nice linens. Didn't use the pool but it looked nice. The free breakfast was better than comparable hotels. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Likestodine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Likestodine L:
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your valued feedback. We appreciate your time for this review and the kind words towards the service. The entire staff tries to provide excellent service to all of our hotel guests and when you feel that we accomplished that is very important for the staff to know that their efforts are being valued. Thanks again for your comments and we hope another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    212
    80
    18
    8
See reviews for
185
120
40
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Thankfully stayed here only one night. The lobby and breakfast area are the only great things about this place. Pluses are free internet and parking as well as a good breakfast variety. Our room was very small and cramped and not well cleaned. The floors were grimy as well as thick dust and trash behind night stand and under beds. Seemed like we stayed in a heavily trafficked room that needs a deep scrub!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank yellowmellow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Yellowmellow6:
Thank you so much for your honest review. We are sorry to hear that your room was not cleaned properly. We will share your comments with the appropiate party for resolution. we hope you give us another chance in the near future. Thank you and I wish you Happy New Year .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

From the underground parking to the breakfast room, this hotel made for a great stay on a repeat visit. Of interest to us, for the first time anywhere, we received a "no party" notice which we had to sign and which we endorse highly.

The room that we occupied was very quiet and comfortable which made for several nights' pleasant sleep. We had to request additional towels and the bath soap was amongst the smallest bar we have encountered. These are the only problems.

As for the breakfast room, not only were the furnished items plentiful, but two staff members were constantly cleaning, replenishing and made for an extremely well-run breakfast area even though it was very crowded. The room itself is very large.

We recommend this hotel highly and have already booked our next stay in June.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lightpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear lightpackers:
Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek. We value your business and your kind review. We will share your comments with the entire staff for recognition. We are glad to hear that you liked our no party policy, we just want our guests to have a pleasant stay. Hopefully we will see you back soon. Merry christmas and a 2014 full of nice surprises for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

It's so nice to see that there are still reasonably priced hotels out there that not only take pets but are clean and have wonderful service! A big shout out to Luis who was most kind and helpful. We have stayed here before and will stay again. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Kathleen C:
Thank you for choosing our hotel as your premier lodging option in Walnut Creek. Thank you so much for taking the time to remark the excellent service that Luis Valdivia provided you. We will make sure to recognize him for his efforts. Thanks again and we hope your continous support and wish you a merry christmas and a happy 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here for the Walnut Creek International Marathon and 5K. And it was a great decision on our part as the location is a mere 1.5 mile from the starting line and has free parking… unlike the $20 valet parking at Marriott which is just .7 mile closer to the starting line.
The front desk staff is professional, courteous and very helpful. We originally got a 2nd floor room which is huge because it is a corner room but it is also the room closest to the freeway so it has a lot of freeway noise. We requested a different room and were granted a 1st floor room. Room has a flatscreen TV, free Wi-Fi, comfortable bed and a bathroom with bathtub and sufficient counter space. We also requested and was granted a late checkout.

Hotel has fitness center with 2 treadmills, a bike and an elliptical machine. There were late afternoon cookies in the lobby during the weeknights. The complimentary breakfast - - eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuit & gravy, bagels, cereals, oatmeal etc. is filling.

A Great Value!! We will definitely stay here again when we run the Walnut Creek Marathon next year!!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF_Junketeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear SF Junketeer:
Thank you for choosing our hotel amongst the other options in the area. We appreciate you taking the time to highlight the free parking, the high speed internet access, and the friendly services. We hope that you visit us again soon and we wish you a merry christmas and a 2014 full of wonderful things for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I booked this hotel as I planned to run the Walnut Creek Half Marathon on Saturday December 14, 2013. While doing my usual training run, I strained my calf....just two days before. I didn't want to re-injure my calf further by running the Half Marathon race, and called Central Reservations to see if I could cancel my Pre-Paid Reservation. Central Reservations advised that my reservation could not be cancelled. However, they recommended I contact the hotel to explain my situation. I explained the situation to the Front Desk at this hotel, The Front Desk was kind enough to credit my deposit, even though they didn't have to. It is obvious that this hotel cares about Customer Satisfaction! I plan to see how my leg feels tomorrow....and still might stay at this hotel and do the shorter 5K run. Thank You Walnut Inn Express Walnut Creek.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlmarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Karlmarek:
Thanks for your business and kind feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to write a positive review about your recent experience. We hope you a fast recovery and hope to see you at our Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Have been a long time Marriott customer, stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in WC for the first time on business and would seriously consider switching. Great hotel, service was impeccable...the manager Luis was very accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chertpong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Chertpong C:
Thank you so much for such a positive review about your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek. We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed our services and hotel. We will pass on your kind comments to the staff and to Luis for recognition. Thanks again for your business and review and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
0.8 mi away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
754 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 5 in Pleasant Hill
463 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Pleasant Hill
Courtyard Pleasant Hill
#2 of 5 in Pleasant Hill
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek

Property: Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Address: 2730 N Main St, Walnut Creek, CA 94597-2732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Walnut Creek
#2 Family Hotel in Walnut Creek
#3 Business Hotel in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek the perfect hotel for business or pleasure in the East Bay area of San Francisco. The Holiday Inn Express has transformed into a warm and modern hotel featuring contemporary furnishings, a natural light conservatory and a relaxing library area. The Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA hotel, minutes from Concord, Pleasant Hill and Moraga, offers access to I-680 for access to Oakland, San Francisco, San Jose, and all parts of the San Francisco Bay Area. Or, if you prefer to avoid driving, BART is 3 blocks away and takes you to San Francisco within 30 minutes. Visiting St. Mary s College, Concord Pavilion, & the upscale Broadway Shopping Plaza of Walnut Creek are all easy from the hotel.If you re working in Walnut Creek, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel makes visiting PMI, Siemens Oncology, Kaiser Permanente or PG&E easy and stress-free. In Contra Costa County, the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA is well known for being one of the only hotels in Walnut Creek to offer free high-speed Internet access, free parking, and free shuttle service within 3 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Hotel Walnut Creek
Holiday Inn Walnut Creek
Walnut Creek Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing