We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lobby, pool, breakfast with older feeling rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yakima
Level Contributor
123 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice lobby, pool, breakfast with older feeling rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I typically stay at another property when in this area but it was sold out and they booked me at this Holiday Inn. It was a busy week and I got the last room and it was at a higher rate ... I understand supply and demand though.

The lobby, pool area and breakfast all feel modern and nice. There was always people milling around the pool area, I wished I had time to go read my book poolside for a bit. Front desk staff was helpful. My room wasn't quite ready upon arrival and they offered me a water bottle. The room was then done quicker than they expected which was nice.

My room felt a tad bit dated, older windows, felt like it needed a pick-me up. It was also a handicap accessible room. I was a little surprised after walking through the lobby that I liked. Wireless worked at acceptable speeds.
Location near highway didn't bother me and I slept soundly. A few different restaurants within walking distance. They have a partnership with the gym next door. Plenty of parking. The breakfast was well maintained and very clean.

I'd stay again, especially if I booked in advance and got a more aggressive rate than what I paid. But I was glad to have a room!

Room Tip: I could see where rooms on the actual highway side could be noisier, the traffic is always moving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpeditionMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Guest;
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay. We are very pleased to hear that our hotel met your expectations and we look forward to your next visit to the Walnut Creek Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    199
    77
    18
    8
See reviews for
177
115
40
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Dear Friends, I was pleasantly surprised by the level of excellence at this facility last month.
We had a family event, coming from various parts of the U.S. The front desk staff was warm and responsive, particularly Jairo Cisneros. The room was very clean and the housekeeping staff friendly and accommodating. When we asked for more bedding they brought the quilts almost immediately. the morning breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of food, presented in a friendly and efficient manner. The grounds were lovely and well-kept. Thank you and please pass on our compliments to the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artistsway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Guest;
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the staff efforts. We will be sure to inform the staff immediately, especially Jairo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

In many ways, the hotel is just a good version of your standard Holiday Inn. It is clean, has a nice pool in a lovely shaded area and the service is pleasant. But the best part is what you get for $99.00. This includes free wifi of good quality, free parking in a garage, a newspaper, a real breakfast--I liked the sausage with a biscuit--and a shuttle bus to take you into town. This is normally one of my least favorite chains--but there can always be an exception. I often stay at luxury hotels. For four times the price, I get a bigger towel, and pay for wifi, parking and breakfast in addition.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank streetguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Guest,
We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and found our staff to be helpful. We always strive to anticipate our guests' needs,. Additionally, we are happy to hear that you were able to start your day off with our fabulous breakfast! Like you, many of our guests take advantage of our breakfast menu and find it an absolute delight! We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fork, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

All was good at this hotel. An older hotel remodeled nicely, in a contemporary fashion. All the standard amenities expected from this franchise. The location was great in that it is near the middle of Walnut Creek and close to most Walnut Creek business centers. Parking available and a friendly local sports bar across the street. My room there was on the freeway side of the hotel and was very noisy making it a little hard to sleep.

Room Tip: My room faced the freeway. I'm sure rooms on the other side would have been much quieter. They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek;
Thank you for taking the time to provide our hotel with a positive review. We appreciate that gesture. I would recommend to purchase a room facing the courtyard area for your next visit. There is usually less freeway noise in those rooms. We really appreciate your business and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

There was nothing special about this hotel. It was clean, quiet. I had a king bed. The fitted sheet was not fitted well. Once I got into bed the sheet would break away from corner. I would try to tuck it in, but it was useless. By the time I woke in the morning all four corners of the sheet were detached exposing most of the bare mattress.. I had to re-log onto wifi frequently. Front desk was useless.

Room Tip: Bring your own sheets..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blucyclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Guest;
We are sorry your experience was not very satisfactory. we will share your comments with the entire staff for resolution,Thank you so much for your feedback. We take all comments seriously positive or negative for our growth and development and to build relationships with our guests. Hopefully we will see you back at our Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel was clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was very good with many options (bacon/sausage,eggs, gravy,pancakes, cereal, yogurt, etc.); it was available for 2 1/2 hours each morning. Location is on a main street and adjacent to the freeway, but noise was no issue. There is plenty of on-site parking. It is near BART, restaurants and shopping. The lack of a refrigerator and microwave in the room is the reason for 4 stars instead of 5. The price was reasonable, and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virgil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Guest;
Thank you for your sharing your experience with the travel community. We really appreciate it. Any Rooms facing the courtyard include a fridge and a microwave.This year we will be adding more features to the rooms not facing the courtyard including new fridges and microwaves. Thank you again and we hope to see you back at our Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

When I booked this trip, I kind of thought I knew what kind of place a Holiday Inn Express would be like...but boy was I surprised by Walnut Creek in California. It surpassed my expectations! Even from entering from the under ground parking lot, they tried to even make that look nice....the lobby is very nice and clean....we were greeted by Margaret, and she was a big help the whole time we were there....she answered all of our questions about the area and the hotel and was always smiling....you could tell she loves what she does, and she is great at it! Next, our room was clean and didn't smell stuffy. I am very picky about cleanliness, and they did a great job keeping this place neat and tidy. Now, for breakfast....Eppie and Janus were wonderful! They were very warm and friendly. They made you feel welcome with a big "good morning". They kept the breakfast area clean and well stocked. The breakfast was above and beyond what I had expected a continental breakfast to be. The pool and hot tub were clean....oh, and the beds and pillows were excellent!!! It was so great being within walking distance to the BART to get into the city in no time, and blocks away from an In and Out Burger didn't hurt either! We loved our stay at the Walnut Creek Holiday Inn Express, and would not hesitate in the very least to go back there again. Thank you so much for helping make our vacation a very memorable one....We will be back.....the Duclos family from Ct

Room Tip: I am glad we got rooms upstairs and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingerduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Guest;
Thank you for your very positive review. We will share your comments with the entire staff, especially Margaret, Janus and Eppie. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
0.8 mi away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 5 in Pleasant Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Pleasant Hill
Courtyard Pleasant Hill
#2 of 5 in Pleasant Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek

Property: Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Address: 2730 N Main St, Walnut Creek, CA 94597-2732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Walnut Creek
#2 Family Hotel in Walnut Creek
#3 Business Hotel in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek the perfect hotel for business or pleasure in the East Bay area of San Francisco. The Holiday Inn Express has transformed into a warm and modern hotel featuring contemporary furnishings, a natural light conservatory and a relaxing library area. The Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA hotel, minutes from Concord, Pleasant Hill and Moraga, offers access to I-680 for access to Oakland, San Francisco, San Jose, and all parts of the San Francisco Bay Area. Or, if you prefer to avoid driving, BART is 3 blocks away and takes you to San Francisco within 30 minutes. Visiting St. Mary s College, Concord Pavilion, & the upscale Broadway Shopping Plaza of Walnut Creek are all easy from the hotel.If you re working in Walnut Creek, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel makes visiting PMI, Siemens Oncology, Kaiser Permanente or PG&E easy and stress-free. In Contra Costa County, the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA is well known for being one of the only hotels in Walnut Creek to offer free high-speed Internet access, free parking, and free shuttle service within 3 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Hotel Walnut Creek
Holiday Inn Walnut Creek
Walnut Creek Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing