We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location excellent for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is clean and appears modern and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was Holiday Inn Express standard and worked well for us. We were visiting the Bay area and chose the hotel in part for proximity to a BART station (they even have a shuttle service during the week). It turned out we did not use the BART but really enjoyed being right on the extensive walking trail that goes along a water canal and all the way to Mt. Diablo. It looks as if you are walking into a ditch but after going through the underpass beneath Main Street the trail is open obvious and green. It also connects to several other trails.
My 10 year old and I walked to Larkey Park in the morning following the trail that starts near the hotel. There were two large areas of children's play equipment in a clean open green park which also contains a Wildlife Museum. And we were back in time for breakfast. This would also be a benefit for anyone traveling with dogs (of which there were a number of people).
We had only been planning on staying one night but ended up staying three because of the convenience of the location and the comfort of the room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nathanall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 573 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

I arrived very late after being caught in a bad rain storm. I only live 40 minutes from here but could not drive any farther so I searched and found this place. I should have kept searching!!
I do want to say the front desk clerk was very nice.
My issues are with the parking and elevators. All the covered spots were marked compact so I had to park my suv outside in rain and carry everything through the rain. Then finding an elevator was impossible...why don't they put signs? Also directories so you take the right one to your room. I needed to go to second floor and picked an elevator and it was to wrong side. I did not know how to get to my section where rooms are and had to go back to front desk! Also card did not work in elevator slot...ugh soon frustrating when you have to get rekeyed at 1am!!!

I am a business traveler and will pass on this next time

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roadstraveledfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Guest;
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your comments about the signing in the parking garage will be shared with the entire staff for resolution. Thanks again for giving us the opportunity to improve ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here a week while visiting family over Thanksgiving. The property is in excellent condition. The staff members were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was outstanding, with two persons working to replenish and keep it cleaned up. The location is not in downtown, but on a main street with good access to the vicinity. In warmer weather we could have enjoyed the large interior garden courtyard and pool. The underground parking was convenient and would have been desirable if there had been bad weather.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a first floor room facing the garden courtyard, which was very quiet. However, I did not...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill-Nathine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great location, near the freeway. We had a very large room with 2 queen beds, microwave & small fridge. The lobby, corridors & underground parking were all very clean and well lit. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Multiple-night stay while visiting area revealed this gem, Courteous and helpful staff, exceptional Mission/Arts and Crafts style. This is a well-maintained and clean facility. Large lobby waiting area is removed from check-in and exceptionally nice in the morning sun. Enclosed courtyard has outdoor seating and tables for use anytime, and during Wednesday night managers social dinner/barbecue (free).
Breakfast bar was continuously stocked with fresh and tasty food. Staff did a great job keeping everything well-running and clean, even with a large crowd. Nice selection of food, including variety of fresh fruit, and large container of soy milk that could be used for cereal and coffee creamer (Thank You!).
While this is very near a main freeway, traffic noise inside was undetectable. Complimentary shuttle to local destinations earn the top rating this time. Can take shuttle to nearby BART (local rail) station and visit Oakland, Berkeley and San Francisco easily and inexpensively.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Main Street were quiet
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swilrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Very nice experience: clean hotel, beautiful lobby decor, very helpful & pleasant staff, wonderful-complimentary breakfast. Afternoon cookies and coffee/ hot water available all day. Would definitely return & recommend!

Room Tip: upper floor, elevator/desk side
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GailMonroeCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were given what was apparently the worst room in the hotel (all the others that we could see had a stuffed sitting chair and a comfortable office chair, ours had neither) and we paid $12-20 a night more than the couple who checked out just ahead of us (we had AAA and AARP). The cigarette smell in the hall was pretty strong but it apparently had been awhile since the room had been smoked on. On the up side, the staff was pleasant and the room was clean, and the HI breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Avoid room 276.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randolph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Rando2455
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry to hear that you encountered some problems during your stay. We will share this valued feedback with the Holiday Inn Express Staff for possible solutions. Thanks again for choosing us and we hope we will see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
0.8 mi away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Diablo Mountain Inn
Diablo Mountain Inn
#5 of 7 in Walnut Creek
78 reviews
1.4 mi away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 6 in Pleasant Hill
490 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Concord
Hilton Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek

Address: 2730 N Main St, Walnut Creek, CA 94597-2732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Walnut Creek
#2 Family Hotel in Walnut Creek
#3 Business Hotel in Walnut Creek
Price Range: $125 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek the perfect hotel for business or pleasure in the East Bay area of San Francisco. The Holiday Inn Express has transformed into a warm and modern hotel featuring contemporary furnishings, a natural light conservatory and a relaxing library area. The Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA hotel, minutes from Concord, Pleasant Hill and Moraga, offers access to I-680 for access to Oakland, San Francisco, San Jose, and all parts of the San Francisco Bay Area. Or, if you prefer to avoid driving, BART is 3 blocks away and takes you to San Francisco within 30 minutes. Visiting St. Mary s College, Concord Pavilion, & the upscale Broadway Shopping Plaza of Walnut Creek are all easy from the hotel.If you re working in Walnut Creek, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel makes visiting PMI, Siemens Oncology, Kaiser Permanente or PG&E easy and stress-free. In Contra Costa County, the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA is well known for being one of the only hotels in Walnut Creek to offer free high-speed Internet access, free parking, and free shuttle service within 3 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Hotel Walnut Creek
Holiday Inn Walnut Creek
Walnut Creek Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing