We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, clean hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice, clean hotel.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was very impressed with my recent stay here. My room was very clean, my bed comfortable and I felt safe on the property.

The location was close to good dining and the staff smiled each and every time I saw one of them.

The only drawback was the breakfast.... It was free but not very filling.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkps1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear jkps1;
Thank you for such a positive review, we will keep working even harder to make our guests happy. Thanks again for choosing our Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    212
    85
    19
    8
See reviews for
191
121
40
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, nv
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I would have to give this an overall rating of 3 because it was so loud! The bed was great, but you could hear the traffic all morning, someone above us was pounding on the floor, and every move in the hallway could be heard. We were unable to sleep in which was a bummer because the bed is great!

We stayed here for one night and took the bart to Berkeley for one night. It was a fun adventure. The hotel was walking distance to the bart.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenoJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear RenoJen;

Thank you so much for staying with us and provide us with your feedback, we are really sorry about the noise you experienced. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Dated hotel that has lots of cosmetic problems. It was clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff was excellent. My room had a large drywall patch over the bed that was very amateur. Nice court yard and pool in the center of hotel. One tjing I would like is coffee and pastries available for business guests who are out before the breakfast is served.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustyelectrician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Dustyelectrician;
Thank you so much for you remarkable comments in regards to our service and I am sorry about the inconvenience in your room. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here while attending a friends wedding and we enjoyed the room. I was pleasantly surprised by the free breakfast, they had awesome cinnamon rolls. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Woods, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The staff remembered me from my last visit. I got there a little late but my room was waiting for me. They also gave me some bottled water which was nice. The hot breakfast was very good and no charge. Free wi fi too. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear meeser;
thank you so much for coming back to our Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for a tghree day trip to San Francisco rather than pay the inflated prices of the city centre hotels, using the nearby BART, which was clean, fast and efficient, to get into the city. The room was large and had all that we needed except perhaps a small fridge, the beds comfortable and the bathroom spotless. The staff were welcoming and invariable helpful (Jairo and Donna) and the complimentary breakfast more than adequate. Lots of parking - and free, unlike a lot of the other hotels we considered. We think we got an excellent deal via Lastminute.com and had no regrets at being away from the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoMac110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel for one very short night - arriving at midnight and departing at 8 am. I arrived in the unfamiliar area late at night after a long day and found a full parking lot. No worries, though, as there is underground parking available.

Hallways looked clean, lobby was nice. The room looked nice and had all of the expected amenities, i.e. coffee maker, flat-screen TV, big bed, and decent supply of towels. But it reeked of cigarette smoke. Not just smelled faintly of cigarette smoke, but REEKED. It being a long day and late, I didn't bother going to the front desk to request another room. I wish I had because I woke with a killer headache as a result of the smoke, and I'm sure my clothes and suitcase still reek of it. For the record, this was a non-smoking room. Whatever the "odor removal treatment" is that management referred to in resonse to a prior review is . . . it's not working.

I will definitely seek another hotel when I return to the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BankerLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear BankerLisa;
I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek due to a smoking smell in your room. I will work even harder on addressing that type of issue at our hotel. I hope you give us an opportunity to make the next visit a better one.
Sincerely,
Steve Dodaro.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
0.8 mi away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 5 in Pleasant Hill
481 reviews
1.9 mi away
Diablo Mountain Inn
Diablo Mountain Inn
#5 of 7 in Walnut Creek
78 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Concord
Hilton Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek

Property: Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Address: 2730 N Main St, Walnut Creek, CA 94597-2732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Walnut Creek
#2 Family Hotel in Walnut Creek
#3 Business Hotel in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek the perfect hotel for business or pleasure in the East Bay area of San Francisco. The Holiday Inn Express has transformed into a warm and modern hotel featuring contemporary furnishings, a natural light conservatory and a relaxing library area. The Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA hotel, minutes from Concord, Pleasant Hill and Moraga, offers access to I-680 for access to Oakland, San Francisco, San Jose, and all parts of the San Francisco Bay Area. Or, if you prefer to avoid driving, BART is 3 blocks away and takes you to San Francisco within 30 minutes. Visiting St. Mary s College, Concord Pavilion, & the upscale Broadway Shopping Plaza of Walnut Creek are all easy from the hotel.If you re working in Walnut Creek, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel makes visiting PMI, Siemens Oncology, Kaiser Permanente or PG&E easy and stress-free. In Contra Costa County, the Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek, CA is well known for being one of the only hotels in Walnut Creek to offer free high-speed Internet access, free parking, and free shuttle service within 3 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek Hotel Walnut Creek
Holiday Inn Walnut Creek
Walnut Creek Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing