We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably poor cleanliness and quality for $ paid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Walnut Creek Marriott
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2006

I have stayed at this property one two occasions this month due to business in the area. The Walnut Creek Marriott is not deserving of the Marriott brand nor the weekday rate of $200 per night.

The parking lot is coned off and guests are forced to valet park. As a business traveler I usually do valet park; however, since everyone is forced to use this parking method it takes upwards of 15-20 minutes to have your car retrieved. Calling ahead doesn't help as my keys had not been pulled on either occasion that I called to save time.

Check-in was uneventful and my first impression was that the lobby looked a bit dated and carpet needed cleaning or replacement. This hotel is spaced into 'pods' surrounding an elevator, so upon exiting the elevator one needs to head in one of three directions. The brass directional signs on the 4th floor were so tarnished that they could not be read at a distance. One is required to physically walk up to the sign to read the engraving that indicates the direction of the room.

On my second stay, I was immediately blown away with the smell of cigarette smoke upon opening the door. I understand that guests' smoking in designated non-smoking rooms are not within the control of the hotel; however, it IS within the control of housekeeping to put the room out of service pending disinfecting of the fabrics. It literally smelled like several people had smoked in this room minutes before I opened the door. Regardless of when it occured, the housekeeping group should be trained that this room was unacceptable and should have been used on an emergency-only basis. I switched to a room on the third floor.

The brass signs on the third floor are a bit less tarnished than the fourth, but one still needs to walk up to them as it is dark in the hallways and the signs are not easily read. My replacement room, as did all my rooms at this hotel, had many stains on the carpet which was green in color. Slippers are not provided and I did not remove my socks as it was obviously dirty. The tub had a grey color on the bottom from hard water and lack of proper cleaning. Furnishings were scratched and worn.

I ordered room service and the food, while more than acceptable, was delivered on plates with gold etching that was worn and chipped from the edges. It appears these plates were all very old and had been used and washed many times before, again a sign that the quality is not well controlled at this property.

I did not sleep well either night I was at this property which I attribute to be my discomfort with the standards of cleanliness. The sheets did not fit the bed properly causing the fitted bottom sheet to come off during the night. I kept thinking about the 60 Minutes program highlighting hotels and grew even more uncomfortable.

Unfortunately there is not much that can be done about this hotel. The rooms look exactly like those pictured on the website, with exception that they are now well worn with scratches and stains. There is so much deferred maintenance that it would literally require they close the property to do a floor to ceiling renovaton. I have sent my comments to Marriott to advise them that a quality audit needs to be performed. This hotel causes inconsistencies in brand quality and given the rate paid ($200/nt) is a poor value for the dollar. No one - at any hotel - should accept unclean accomodations, yet at this hotel my experience with 3 rooms show this to be the norm.

As I still have business in the area, my next stay will be at the Courtyard in Pleasant Hill. I will write a review on that property at the conclusion of my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LAX20531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 807 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles,CA
12
Reviewed June 12, 2006

I stayed at the Walnut Creek Marriott last weekend and didn't enjoy it at all. They had such horrible service. The Hotel Manager wasn't friendly at all. The room I stayed in was very uncomfortable and the aircondition didn't even work. The hotel operator took forever answering the phones and was very rude. I think it's ridiculous that they charge for parking and only have valet. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. The price is too much and the service is bad

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2006

This was my second stay in the past couple months. Very ordinary with little to recommend it. The prices are out of line for what you get. In addition the the required parking plus tips (and the wait to get your car), there was no complimentary breakfast, etc like some of the competitors in the area. The rooms were clean. The exercise facility had broken equipment and although a relatively large space, little equipment for a full workout. The restaurant was expensive and average. There are no restaurants within walking distance (again - got to get your car, and tip the guy and well best to go to bed)

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Drew102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2005

Hard to park even with the mandatory valet parking (which was slow when you needed your car and seemed to have no idea about customer service - so you save on tips). No complimentary breakfast, coffee, snack and the restaurant was average and not of value. The menu was incomplete. Room service was slow according to my business colleague (45 minutes to get a menu to the room!)

Overall, a poor value on a busy street far from walking distance to the nice part of town. Other accomodations in the area are worth exploring

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ANDREW BORGES D... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2005

Date of stay: July 2-3, 2005, Room 493.

I chose the Marriott because of the positive reviews on Expedia and also TripAdvisor.com. We found the hotel easily. Self-Parking was $8. The front desk was very helpful and polite.

Our room, upon entry, was clean and comfortable, although the temperature was about 75 degrees. We set the thermostat for 60.

Looked at the room service dinner menu. The menu's were printed in 2000. We ordered the prime rib (which comes with salad and bread, $20 per dinner), and the Grill said they haven't had prime rib for 5-6 months. We opted to go down to the Grill in the hopes of more menu options. The restaurant menu's were printed in 04/2005. We made our selections and then found that if you dine at the restaurant, salad and bread are NOT included, although the price is the same as ordering from the room. Grr.. That aside, our dinners were excellent!! I had the steak and hubby had a seafood and noodles plate.

We went back up to our room, and noticed it was a little warm (still 75 degrees). Too tired to call the front desk, we opted to go to bed. By morning, our room was at 80 degrees. I called the front desk and she explained that a block of rooms was without A/C and the engineer was working to find a solution. Sigh...

All in all, our stay at the Marriott was less than expected. BUT... I'm most certain ours was not the normal. In general, I felt like the name Marriott should not have been on the building.. it felt more like a facade than a true Marriott. It was nice, but as nice as a Marriott should be.

Of a positive note, Expedia is the BEST for excellent customer service!!! And Trip Advisor is the BEST for hotel reviews!!!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Caren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2004

I have stayed here a couple of time for business and found it to be very very ordinary for the price. For rates up to $200/night I would expect something much better.

Each room I have had has some problem - such as TV reception, Internet problems, plumbing, lighting etc

The staff are not overly concerned with friendliness or service in my experience. When I couldn't get internet connection that I needed for business, multiple requests resulted in no action to fix the problem.

The downstairs breakfast had a lot of staff walking around but no-one willing to serve - the only place in my travels in the US where I deliberately did not leave a tip - just awful.

Last time I stayed there, I asked them to arrange a shuttle bus to Oakland airport for an 11AM flight - one was booked for an 11PM flight!!! This did not surprise me.

I have stayed at many Marriott hotels - this is by far the worst value-for-money. I wouldn't wish to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2003, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MaxShiraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
Thank Sunny658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
1 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 6 in Pleasant Hill
521 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Concord
Hilton Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Creek Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Creek Marriott

Address: 2355 N Main St, Walnut Creek, CA 94596-3544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Walnut Creek
#4 Family Hotel in Walnut Creek
Price Range: $119 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Walnut Creek Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated hotel is just 2 blocks from the Walnut Creek BART station and convenient to San Francisco, Oakland and the rest of the Bay area. A premier green-certified hotel in downtown Walnut Creek, guests are sure to enjoy our outdoor pool, on-site fitness center, business center, fresh cuisine at Atrio Restaurant and 17,500 square feet of banquet space. Visit our beautiful hotel and experience comfortable living with many convenient amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Walnut Creek Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walnut Creek Marriott Hotel Walnut Creek
Marriott Walnut Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing