We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel & friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Walnut Creek Marriott
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed here for both work and pleasure, my first visit to Walnut creek. From outside, I was a bit sceptical but once I entered, the attention, service and friendliness of the staff took me by surprise. When I cheked into the room, I did not like the room as the room did not have any view. I called the front desk and within few minutes, the lady came with another room (supposed to ber favourite) which had the best view in the entire hotel. She apologised profusely and offered to send drinks. It was not even her mistake!!!! Not to mention the personal care taken by the new GM Mr. Eddie Adlair. I felt at home and look farward to my next walnut creek trip!! Thank you all for making the trip so pleasant and memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raju111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 801 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a work meeting. The food was excellent, the room was clean, comfortable and updated. Deena at the front desk was especially helpful and welcoming. She always had a smile on her face and ready to help.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed (as always) at the Marriott from 6/13/13 to 6/18/13. Had a wonderful time. Eddie Adair, the new GM, is a real asset to the hotel and it was such a pleasure meeting him. Iris always goes above and beyond and the personalized service is always wonderful. We enjoy the staff and it would take too much space to name them all. However, they are all outstanding, from the front desk, the restaurant, as well as the maid service . The Club Level is excellent and Marilyn always makes us feel welcome. Thanks to all! And, hopefully, we'll see you again in November!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dixie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I'm from another country and it is my first time stay at this hotel. Everyone's friendly and very welcoming from the front desk staff, restaurant staff and even the cleaning crew. It feels like home away from home experience and more.
Walking distance from the commuter train station and a complimentary shuttle service definitely helped a lot for someone without a car, like myself.
I would definitely come back to this hotel, and would recommend to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed briefly at The Walnut Creek Marriott for a business meeting. Great service all the way around and excellent location for shopping, dining and drinks. The personalized service was great and the GM, Eddie really cared about his clients. Nice Club Level as well. Front desk could not be more helpful in answering questions on anything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

It's a nice change to have a quiet room and surroundings. There were no slamming guest room doors, vacuuming or cleaning carts being wheeled about in the early morning. My room (two queen beds) was a good size as was the bathroom. Everything was clean.

Check-in was quick & easy, the staff was friendly. I was here for a company offsite and sometimes it was a bit of a maze to find the smaller breakout rooms or bathrooms which seem to be tucked away. The air conditioning was a bit much in some meeting rooms, but a simple call to the front desk to turn it down by a few degrees did the trick.

Decent location. Easy to find off the freeway. Offsite parking was easy to find and I'm glad there was an option to the $18/day valet parking. A walk to downtown Walnut Creek is anywhere from 20-30 min. Hotel has a shuttle that will take you down there or a cab ride is approximately $13.

Catered meals were o.k

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsballbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The service we received at this Marriott was very friendly and welcoming, which was appreciated. The room was quiet and clean, although the fixtures were dated. Everything worked and was clean, however. We did have some trouble with the room temperature, but daytime temps were very high during our stay so maybe the system just couldn't keep up.

Overall, this hotel didn't stand out as being particularly good, or particularly bad.... so I think "average" is a fair rating.

As others have noted, unless you want to pay $18 per night for the valet parking, you have to park about a block away in a dark, unsecured lot under the BART tracks. Getting out of that lot and back to the hotel requires a trip around the block, since the entrance is one-way. It's not very convenient, but it's free.

The hotel charges for WIFI in the rooms, which I find offensive at this price point. It's such a basic, cheap amenity to provide that I'm very disappointed to be charged extra. In this age, it would be like turning on the TV and finding you have to pay to watch broadcast TV. Maybe Marriott is taking cues from the airline industry and charging for every addition beyond a bed?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAKWC M, Front Office Manager at Walnut Creek Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Jeffrey R,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel, and we appreciate the kind words regarding our staff. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry about the temperature of your guestroom. It was an exceptionally hot day that day, you are right! Guest comfort and satisfaction are our top priorities and we regret you did not experience this. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be happy to make your reservations for you.
Best regards, Mike Clarke, Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
1 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Hilton Concord
Hilton Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
1,005 reviews
2.1 mi away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 6 in Pleasant Hill
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Creek Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Creek Marriott

Address: 2355 N Main St, Walnut Creek, CA 94596-3544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Walnut Creek
#4 Family Hotel in Walnut Creek
Price Range: $119 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Walnut Creek Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated hotel is just 2 blocks from the Walnut Creek BART station and convenient to San Francisco, Oakland and the rest of the Bay area. A premier green-certified hotel in downtown Walnut Creek, guests are sure to enjoy our outdoor pool, on-site fitness center, business center, fresh cuisine at Atrio Restaurant and 17,500 square feet of banquet space. Visit our beautiful hotel and experience comfortable living with many convenient amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Walnut Creek Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walnut Creek Marriott Hotel Walnut Creek
Marriott Walnut Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing