We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd time was not the charm.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walnut Creek Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walnut Creek Marriott
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Solvang, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“3rd time was not the charm.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

My family and I have stayed her 3 times within the last 2 years. Overall this is a very nice hotel, and up until this visit we have had no complaints about it. So, take this review as a 2 out of 3 stays were very nice. This time we arrived and they did not have the specific room types requested when I made the reservations available, which were supposed to be guaranteed. We specifically asked for two King rooms with a connecting door, so that our teenage child could be in the room adjoining ours with access in the room available if needed. Upon check in we were told our 2 rooms were 4 doors apart. After our disappointment was expressed, the check in staff did find us two connecting rooms, however they were 1 queen & 2 double beds, and on the Freeway side of the hotel. We had asked for the quiet portion of the hotel. Having stayed there before, we knew to do this. I suggest you do as well. The rooms do offer sound machines, and your own ear plugs. Hmmm?
The rooms themselves are very nice and clean, beds are great, and HD TV's.
We asked for a 7AM wake-up call. It NEVER happened!!! BIG NO-NO. Thankfully I woke up at 7:22, but we were rushed due to the hotels negligence.
Room service breakfast was okay, and saved us time.
Being able to self check-out via the TV was also helpful in getting us out the door faster in the morning.
The parking garage is a nightmare unless you drive a mini-cooper sized car. Opt for the valet parking for something like $7.00.
All in all a decent hotel, we were just somewhat disappointed with a few short-comings this last stay.
Good luck, and set the in-room alarm as back up.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LUVSYVCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    219
    108
    39
    30
See reviews for
161
111
31
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hesperia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

I've stayed here before and appreciate it's cleanliness. But the main reason i stay here when in town is their customer service....it just can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermosadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed in this hotel in a Friday night. Front desk was small, but well organized. The restaurant was right in the lobby, looked nice. Our room was a standard king, not big, but reasonable. The room was clean and quiet. We used the fitness center. The size was reasonable compared with some other hotels we stared. They had all kind of equipment and free weights.

The only negative impression is the room doors and the hallway. They seemed need to be updated.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caltraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

When I got to my room I noticed ear plugs and a white noise machine. Seemed odd however, I thought it was a nice touch in case one needed such devices. Little did I know it would be required to drown out the constant drone of traffic noise. Location to office buildings is great. Convenient access to BART. Service is rather poor. Restaurant staff unorganized. Food good except for the breakfast sausage. Front desk was poor when checking out. Not even a thank you for staying. Valet guys were always nice and on top of things. Parking is atrocious as there is a sever lack of parking spaces. If I have to stay in Walnut Creek again I would definitely look for an alternative property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkchen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel during a 10 day business trip to the Walnut Creek area. The hotel is centrally located in WC. It is near the town center and its businesses, shopping, restaurants, bars,and the BART station for easy access to San Francisco.

The hotel looks like a typical Marriott hotel; nice, comfortable,but nothing really fancy. However, the service in general is excellent. The employees at the reception desk are very friendly and accommodating. The valet drivers are quick and efficient, always ready to give directions and just extremely helpful. Everytime we walked in and out of the hotel, we were greeted by every employee we walked passed.

The concierge lounge was very nice; always open with beverages available. A continental breakfast is served in the morning and hot snacks are served in the evening along with complimentary open bar service for marriott reward guests. FYI, if you have access to the concierge lounge, the fresh baked cookies and brownies are a delight!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBNtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Exceptionally nice employees, good arrangement in the restaurant for family gatherings in the back room, comfortable room, nice pool but right by the highway so more than bit of traffic noise. Close enough to Walnut Creek for a good walk or there is a free shuttle service, BART station very close by.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jrsDenverColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stayed here for two nights after getting a really good deal on Priceline. The room was average in size but clean. The tv didn't work initially but was repaired right away. The channels would occasionally blink out but it wasn't a big deal. When we arrived there was a sign that said the parking garage was full and to see the attendant for valet ($18/day). We went in anyway and found a space right away. The location was walkable to the BART station which was very convenient. The strange part was that the window in the room overlooked the lobby and restaurant and not outside. You could get a sense of the sun/weather as the lobby area was encased in a glass atrium but it still left the room a bit dark and gloomy.

Room Tip: Ask for something with an outdoor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norvalnelson11, General Manager at Walnut Creek Marriott, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Dear KTRuby - NJ,

Thank you for your valued feedback regarding your most recent stay. Please accept my apology for the difficulty you experienced with your LCD Television. These TV's and our hi-definition channels are a recent addition to the property, so your comments were helpful in identifying a potential problem that could have affected other guests. I was pleased that our engineer was timely in responding to your problem and able to correct it.

We are pleased to offer limited complimentary parking, however, occasionally when we have a very large event in our Ballroom, it can become filled to capacity. We will work with our Valet team to provide cost-efficient alternatives in the future.

The Walnut Creek Marriott is unique in that our Lobby Atrium and multi-wing guestroom layout allows our 338 guestrooms varied views which include the pool deck, city, Mt. Diablo and our atrium lobby. I would invite you to call me direct when you come and visit again, and we would be delighted to have an opportunity to provide a more accommodating view for you.

Thank you for your compliment regarding the cleanliness of your guest room. Our housekeeping staff takes a great deal of pride in providing our guest with a clean and comfortable guest experience and I will be pleased to share your comments with them.

Sincerely,

Norval Nelson
General Manager
Walnut Creek Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
1.0 mi away
Renaissance ClubSport Walnut Creek Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lafayette Park Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 5 in Pleasant Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Concord
Hilton Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Creek Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Creek Marriott

Property: Walnut Creek Marriott
Address: 2355 N Main St, Walnut Creek, CA 94596-3544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Walnut Creek
#4 Family Hotel in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Walnut Creek Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated hotel is just 2 blocks from the Walnut Creek BART station and convenient to San Francisco, Oakland and the rest of the Bay area. A premier green-certified hotel in downtown Walnut Creek, guests are sure to enjoy our outdoor pool, spa tub, on-site fitness center, business center, fresh cuisine at 'Atrio Restaurant and 17,500 square feet of banquet space. Visit our beautiful hotel and experience comfortable living with many convenient amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Walnut Creek Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walnut Creek Marriott Hotel Walnut Creek
Marriott Walnut Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing