We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does Lunch Well”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Nordstrom

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Nordstrom
Ranked #95 of 291 Restaurants in Walnut Creek
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
370 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Does Lunch Well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Christmas shopping at Nordstrom is one thing. Eating at their Cafe is quite another place.
You stand in line and order off the menu when you reach a cashier and then find a seat. Actually it was not a bad experience listening to other shoppers in line talk about their shopping adventures and it made the time go quickly.
Nothing unusual about the food as the menu was comprehensive with sandwiches, salads, soup, etc. The grilled cheese and tomato soup on the childs menu was a hit as it came with a drink and raisins. Pear salad and grilled sandwich were hits too.
Service from the order cashier to the servers were excellent. Whenever something was needed they took care of it quickly smiling all the time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BoulderNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    23
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place to grab a bite while shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was looking for a place to grab a bite to eat while waiting for my room at the Embassy Suites in Walnut Creek to be ready.

I had eaten at the Nordstrom's bistro before so I knew that I could get something to eat without a long wait. The food was good, not a lot of choices but convenient and fast. I was able to get a decent glass of wine and take advantage of their wifi while killing time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank THOM8188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Cafe Nordstrom is a good option for lunch. My sister and I like to go there sometimes during the weekend when we are shopping. They have a varied menu, with good salads, sandwiches, pizzas and main dishes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Viajerosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinleyville, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, average service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

The pear and blue cheese salad is one of my favorites. I have had it in several Nordstrom restaurants. The cafe is as lovely as any Nordstrom cafe and the food is as wonderful as one would expect. The service, however, needed some help. My server had way too many tables. Nonetheless, after I waited for my check, waved for attention to get my check, and asked another server for my check, I surrendered and went to the registers. That flustered some of the staff, but we made our way through the process.
I will go back to Nordstrom Cafe, the food is wonderful and the service generally is as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Author567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced stale sandwiches with crappy service and incompetent staff.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Despite all the offers to get you something, the staff at this overpriced Walmart-esque cafe is totally incompetent. From having cashier's who don't seem to know their own menu to outrageous prices to ten minute turnaround to get u a cup of water, this place sucks. Do yourself a favor and go for the nearest taxi bell.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Nordstrom also viewed

 
Walnut Creek, CA
 

Been to Cafe Nordstrom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing