We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to enjoy lunch with family and friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Va de Vi Bistro & Wine Bar

Va de Vi Bistro & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Va de Vi Bistro & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 288 Restaurants in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Wine Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Main
Transit: Walnut Creek BART, free shuttle bus: route #104
Description: Va de Vi translates to "It's all about wine!" in Spain's Catalan language. Of course, it's all about food, too! Chef Brad Zeller's menu encourages diners to explore and share a variety of eclectic, international small plate portions. Bold tastes encourage diners to explore the large international wine list, easily navigated by tasting notes. Many wines are offered by the glass in addition to pre-arranged flights to allow diners to compare different wines and discover new favorites. A warm, casual elegance defines the ambiance. Outdoors, dine under an ancient oak tree or grab a table in the picturesque lane.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A nice place to enjoy lunch with family and friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

One of our favorite places to dine when in Walnut Creek. The tapas style dishes are great for sharing and tasting different dishes amongst family and friends. The pork belly dishes were awesome as well as the salmon and slider flight. The service was friendly and quick.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mahalo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    118
    27
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phila
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good Wine, Impeccable Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Tapas style dining so go with someone with adventurous taste buds. The wait staff was fantastic and excited about the wine flights - very attentive throughout the meal. The Rabbit Gnocchi is a MUST HAVE - so good in fact that we decided to have it again for dessert so that we could finish our meal remembering it! Nice romantic atmosphere with seating both indoor and out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Little Plates in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very intimate place to share a special evening. Great wine list! Summer under the Oak makes for an ultimate best table in Walnut Creek.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have been visiting Va de Vi for years, and have always LOVED them.

The food is exceptional, and I love the small plate concept, even now, when it's supposedly not as en vogue these days....

I also enjoy the wine selection. You may order glasses, bottles, or I would highly recommend the flights that they offer for tasting. A great way to try some of the wines on their extensive list of offerings!

There are not a lot of tables in this restaurant, and is difficult to get a table without reservations....and even with reservations, you still have to wait. It's definitely worth it, however!

A real treat for me, is to sit in the rear, where they have the "Chef's Counter." That's what I call it anyways...It is bar style seating around a counter that looks on to the cooking and prep area. If you enjoy cooking, or food in general, this is a really fun way to eat, and interact with the chefs, as you watch them create. Not an intimate setting, but fun.

Bon Appetite!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, wine and beautiful garden outdoor dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went here with a business colleague who is a local and was very impressed. I was worried as she does not eat meat and the small plates are ideal for sharing, but found so many (delicious) choices I didn't miss the meat at all. Love the wine flight idea... Was happy with my choice of the Master Blender flight. Great service topped off a great dinner!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MomGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Va de Vi Bistro & Wine Bar also viewed

Walnut Creek, CA
Walnut Creek, CA
 

Been to Va de Vi Bistro & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing