We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful fish”

Walnut Creek Yacht Club
Ranked #2 of 294 Restaurants in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Locust St
Transit: Walnut Creek Bart
Outside Basingstoke
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful fish”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

As we found it too noisy in the main restaurant, we were moved without fuss to the covered area adjacent where we enjoyed a fine meal off the a la carte menu. Cooked for us, well presented and served, this provided an enjoyable evening which, at $130 for three courses with a glass of wine represented good value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DickTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    91
    28
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Seafood done well!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A land locked yacht club? What a treat. Great independent seafood place using their own distributor. Eat in, or order fresh fish to take home.

They have won a lot of bar awards at different competitions too. So try a cocktail if you like. Nice wine list to compliment the seafood, and there is usually a couple of "meat" entrees to choose from as we'll.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank clayton d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not to be Missed”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Really great fresh fish and raw bar. You can't miss the jalapeno au gratin potatoes. Best potato dish I have ever tasted. Their bar is also know for award winning mixologists. The place gets busy and the waiting area in the bar is very nice. The only negative is that when it gets busy the kitchen doesn't seem to keep up as well as it should. But it is worth the wait

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“California Salmon Season is Open”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Had a wonderful meal at Yacht Club tonight. Fresh California King Salmon. It was excellent. YC does a great job with seafood; haven't had a bad meal there yet and probably won't! I always order a fresh grilled fish choice, on the side of the main menu. It's the way to go. The new jalapeno potato gratin dish is a nice addition to the menu. And, the grilled asparagus was fresh and crunchy. I also enjoy the mixologist's creativity; always something new and creative on the cocktail menu. You can't go wrong here. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrazyforTravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, but ...............”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Well established restaurant specializing in raw bar and fresh cooked fish. On this evening the swordfish/shrimp kabobs over a bed of rice was the choice. It was prepared perfectly. The starter was the WCYC famous clam chowder with bacon. Always leaves me wanting another serving. The staff recommended and excellent bottle of chardonnay which we just loved. Great food, great service, not so great table placement. Too many tables so close together that we were forced to hear two other couples dinner conversation. Not so romantic, but still the food is good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walnut Creek Yacht Club also viewed

 
Walnut Creek, CA
Walnut Creek, CA
 

Been to Walnut Creek Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing