We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit or miss service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Counter

The Counter
Ranked #23 of 288 Restaurants in Walnut Creek
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
bay area, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hit or miss service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This visit after a year's hiatus was a hit. Once we switched waiters, he was spot on and accomodated our request for rush service for part of our gathering (who had to leave early).

Food was exceptional this visit, everything fresh, hot as it should be, and nothing missing. Even though we took up 4 tables (9 of us), they did not rush us through dessert so kids enjoyed the experience.

If their waitstaff and service was more consistent, as it was this past Saturday evening, we would not hesitate to return more frequently to justify the price (average $9 for a custom burger - which is more than double the cost of 5Guys and they don't limit the # of toppings you pick). They do not take reservations, Parking on street is also hit or miss.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jlcaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
“so disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Sad presentation, served cold .. vastly different from other locations. Tried the ham and grilled cheese, bread was great, but cheese wasn't hot enough.. only that on a plate, just looked lack luster.. salad was ordered and wasn't asked which kind of greens, and it was just greens, nothing else... would have been much nice presented on the side of the sandwich. If it would have been described to me as plain greens, I would have had the option to get different greens or add some vegetables.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BellaBaronessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not enough food for the hefty price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

In my opinion they do not give enough food for the expensive price they charge. However there slider burger is good

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank momma277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Meat was either spoiled or contaminated by untidy conditions”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Everyone in party got sick within 2 hours. Dine at your own risk. Also, 4 burgers, 3 fries, 4 shakes cost $65.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johndhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Waiting at the counter”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Thought I should come back for another chance
Arrived
Waited
Told to sit anywhere, but there
Waited, waited, and waited.
Neighbor on right happy to finally get part of order. They were hungry, and the nibbled fries.
Finally, a waitress, we ordered beers, waited, waited, and waited some more.
Neighbor on left was manager interviewing waitress. He should have been in off limits section.
We thought we should have also put order in for burgers and fries when we ordered beer.
We waited, but no beer arrived.
Decided to leave.
Went down the street to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CurlyQ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Counter also viewed

 

Been to The Counter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing