We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat was either spoiled or contaminated by untidy conditions”
Review of The Counter

The Counter
Ranked #24 of 294 Restaurants in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Meat was either spoiled or contaminated by untidy conditions”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Everyone in party got sick within 2 hours. Dine at your own risk. Also, 4 burgers, 3 fries, 4 shakes cost $65.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johndhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    26
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alamo, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Waiting at the counter”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Thought I should come back for another chance
Arrived
Waited
Told to sit anywhere, but there
Waited, waited, and waited.
Neighbor on right happy to finally get part of order. They were hungry, and the nibbled fries.
Finally, a waitress, we ordered beers, waited, waited, and waited some more.
Neighbor on left was manager interviewing waitress. He should have been in off limits section.
We thought we should have also put order in for burgers and fries when we ordered beer.
We waited, but no beer arrived.
Decided to leave.
Went down the street to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CurlyQ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Heights, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good,pricey burgers”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The only place in Walnut Creek that Serves a "medium" cooked burger that is really "medium." Really like the sweet potato fries and onion ring combo. Only downside is that it is on the pricey side.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chaser1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Create your own amazing burger!
Pick your burger: beef, turkey, chicken, veggie, ahi tuna
Then select your toppings: variety of cheese, veggies, sauce, other toppings....the choices are endless.
Choose your bun:

Best burger I ever had.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rsmaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Now that's a burger!”
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Hard to believe restaurants don't all have this quality of beef on the menu. A build your own, except with really good stuff! I chose caramelized onions, bleu cheese and fresh tomatos. Lori, my fabulous server kept my water filled and after the manager personally delivered my lunch and welcoming me I proceeded to enjoy almost every bit put before me. I also ordered the sweet potato fries which are humongus...
Great chow. I am planning to have some business associates at the Counter soon. This place is a win!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GAndersGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Counter also viewed

 
Walnut Creek, CA
 
Walnut Creek, CA
 

Been to The Counter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing