We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part condo, part hotel, all around awesome.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Around the Sea Rotating House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Every unit gets a great ocean view due to the building's rotating nature. Immaculately clean and modern condo units with free (and fast) wifi + all the conveniences of staying in a house. The BBQ grill & full kitchen tells me it's a house, but the tiny soaps, crisp linens, and decor makes it feel like a hotel.

So many bonuses that come along with staying here:
- a complimentary welcome basket filled with local goodies (especially welcome if you're arriving late and don't have time to pick up food),
- a pass to all the provincial parks on PEI for scenic coastal drives.
- really cool & super friendly host who's there to answer all your questions (via text, or however you prefer) and make recommendations on local restaurants & attractions.
- the view! The beach is a short 5-10 minute walk away. From your suite you can see those famous red cliffs if you're aimed at them.
- the sound of the sea + chirpy birds. It was so serene I probably could've recorded the sounds to make a sleeping aid app.

Also note; these suites are decked out with really thoughtful touches everywhere you look. Dimmer switches on all the lights, USB port outlets, flashlights for night time excursions, a picnic basket for day trips... pretty much everything you could think of, and all the things you couldn't.

Loved my stay here, and look forward to spinning around again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SW1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Around the Sea Rotating House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 131 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

The units in the house are very modern and comfortable, the views are spectacular, and the local village of North Rustico is a friendly place with bakery, restaurants andl live theater. Steve was a wonderful host who was very attentive to our needs.

Room Tip: Since the house rotates, all four units are the same for views and access!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank inverlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My daughter and I had the pleasure and privilege of spending a memorable week in this glorious home! And I say, "home" instead of house because Steve and his family truly made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived! We decided to book an adventurous week to Prince Edward Island in the dead of one of the harshest winters on record! Our first venture after arriving was to grab some groceries, but we ended up stranded in a snowdrift instead, which Steve graciously rescued us from!! They decked us out with fresh warm mittens and all the supplies we needed to get through those first couple days as well! When we arrived, our fridge was also filled with special local treats and drinks that were yummy to the last bite! Steve always made himself available to answer any questions, and his connections on the island landed us in some beautiful places, including a horse drawn sleigh ride, delicious restaurants and some fabulous L.M. Montgomery sites. Steve's attentiveness to our every need and his quick response to all our communications and questions was truly remarkable! The house itself and all it's amenities provided us with a cozy and delightful stay. We even got to experience a change of scenery as the house rotated to offer spectacular views of the red cliffs and the north shore of the island, as well as the beautiful countryside all around. One morning we even had the special treat of seeing two red foxes at play just a stone's throw away outside our sliding glass doors. I can't praise the joy of this experience enough, and I would highly recommend the Around the Sea Rotating House to anyone considering a visit to Orince Edward Island. We wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good, as the house rotates, offering the same spectacular views to all!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at Around the Sea in May of 2014 for three nights following a conference in Charlottetown. We saw a TV show about the house and contacted Steve once we knew about our conference. What a lovely, beautiful and peaceful home and location. We felt very welcome, like we were staying with friends. Steve and his family are very friendly and you are made to feel at home. The suites are modern, comfortable and have everything you need, plus more. Beautiful views of North Rustico harbour, the Gulf of St. Lawerence and the National Park and beaches. We did lots of walking and felt like we were part of the small community......600 population......plus two! Steve gave us some good tips on parts of the island to see and we had a beautiful drive to Basin Head Beach and East Point. May on PEI was the start of Lobster Season, we talked to the fishermen at the harbour, bought cooked lobster and fresh scallops at the fish market. We will return again soon and will certainly stay at Around the Sea. We look forward to our return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolfhoundOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

What a truly marvellous place! Outstandingly appointed spacious suites with every mod-con. This is a place where you can really relax. Each suite has three sets of double glass doors, so you always have a view and never feel closed in. Steve, the energetic owner, is truly passionate about his 'house' and has every right to be. The engineering feat and his innovative ideas are really spectacular. I recommend any visitor to PEI stay here. We'll be back!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which room you have....because the building rotates, they all get the same vie...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were a family group of five adults. The accommodation was of a very high standard and the owners are very welcoming and friendly. It was interesting to have a tour of the basement to see and understand the mechanics involved in making the house rotate. We will definitely stay here next time we are visiting PEI. The views are outstanding and the welcome basket of local goodies was delicious!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Around the Sea is an oasis in a world of chaos and hustle.
The rooms are so well appointed and painstakingly maintained.
We were a family of four and there was plenty of room and space for us.
The quality of the furnishings is awesome.
I can't say enough about the place. The house and it's owners are wonderful.
The view is unbeatable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Rustico
4.5 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
24.5 mi away
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort
5.6 mi away
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
#2 of 2 in Brackley Beach
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
1.1 mi away
North Rustico Motel Cottages & Inn
3.8 mi away
Cavendish Bosom Buddies Cottages and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Around the Sea Rotating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Around the Sea Rotating House

Address: 130 Lantern Hill Drive, North Rustico, Prince Edward Island C0A 1X0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > North Rustico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in North Rustico
Price Range: $105 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Around the Sea Rotating House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Around the Sea Rotating House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing