We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow! Beautiful Place!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Saint-Jouin-de-Marnes, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sarahchal...
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow! Beautiful Place!”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

What a wonderful place to spend our first visit to this region in France. Photos really don’t do it justice! Our hosts, Caroline and Darren, couldn’t have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Air Con in master bedroom was a blessing as had hot weather during our stay. Loved it so much we’re to hoping to come back in September as didn’t have enough time to visit all the places we wanted to see.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, as you say the photos do not do the property justice. There is also a lot to see in the region, you will be welcome to stay anytime - thank you. Sunshine-Escapes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a relaxing break”
Reviewed March 4, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I came to stay here in January, with my family and a group of friends, for a relaxing New Year break. Grande Maison des Tournesols is situated on the edge of the village and as you enter the double gates to the property you’re greeted by stone buildings set within a large courtyard with ample parking, overlooking the pool. This area is completely private and secluded with amazing views over the Abbaye fields. Our dogs loved running around and exploring the secure walled garden areas. The owners gave us a very warm welcome and best ‘welcome pack’ we’ve had anywhere.
The house itself was spacious and clean so we didn’t feel like we were living in each other’s pockets. The kitchen was well equipped and the master bedroom on the 1st floor was absolutely stunning. Our 3 children had their own bedroom on the ground floor with a toilet just across the corridor. They loved the room calling it their ‘Den’. The twin and double rooms on the ground floor were again spacious with a quality feel; both over looked the courtyard/pool area.
We brought our own bikes, but believe you can hire them locally if required. Great riding, wonderful scenery. From the first little climb we were amazed at how beautiful the countryside was and each day was more stunning than the last. The terrain was undulating rather than hilly, so great for riders who don’t like it too lumpy.
We will definitely be returning this summer to make use of the stunning pool area and visit the nearby swimming lake/beach at Moncontour.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The comments you made about the Welcome Pack are really appreciated - we try to think of everything as a welcome to our guests. This house as you say is great for children and pets - so much space and no one is overlooked anywhere in the grounds.. As you said there are some wonderful rides for cyclists and lots to do for people who remain at the house You will love the facilities at Lac Moncontour - lots of water sports or just relax on the beach - thank you once again and you will be welcome any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place. Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed February 16, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Beautiful secluded property in an idyllic setting, overlooking fields belonging to the Abbey. Large enough to accommodate 10 of us with ease. Last property on the way out of the village so great views, from every window, of the surrounding countryside. Great boulangerie, a few minutes walk away, which we visited far too frequently during our stay! Thoroughly enjoyed our Christmas break here. There's so many tourist attractions within close proximity we didn't get chance to visit them all during our stay. Great reason for us to return again soon. Loved it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Grande Maison des Tournesols for Christmas. As you say it is a really spacious property and if you think it is lovely in the winter with the views - in the summer with Sunflower fields next door and the pool area nestled in an abundance of flowers, you will be blown away - you should give it a try - we are offering breaks for a minimum of 3 nights - you could try a 2-centre holiday. You will be very welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing