We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of St. George Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volcano
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We went here to eat, not to stay the night. We have been going to the bar for a long time. My wife and I like to ride the Harley from Jackson to Volcano, and relax in town for a while. This was our first time going for dinner. We had Chicken Marsala, with risotto, and a burger. Both were cooked perfectly, and the service was excellent!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Number1Duno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    20
    3
    0
    7
See reviews for
10
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Volcano, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I am reviewing the St. George Hotel Bar also known as "Whiskey Flat Saloon". This is a destination for all bars!!! In the motherload country nestled in the foothills of the Sierra... What could be better than bellying up to the age old bar being with drinks of your choice!! Love the service staff. Everyone is laid back and so friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bamboopearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed at the St. George on a Saturday night. Two couples stayed in the bungalows and we stayed on the 2nd floor in Hell's Delight. The diningroom was closed for dinner due to a 90th birthday and the backyard area was set up for a high school reunion, but beds were comfortable and noise level wasn't bad. Have to share bathrooms if stay in hotel for most rooms, but there are plenty of bathrooms available and clean. Coffee making supplies available in quaint lounge areas on every floor. This is an old historical building with lots of character, so stairs and floor boards creak, and paint is peeling in places, but it is worth the stay overnight to enjoy a local Volcano Theater production in the evening and not have to drive home. Enjoyed sitting on the balcony outside chatting the next morning and listening to the little town wake up. Breakfast in the restaurant was amazingly good - had the eggs benedict with fruit. Service staff were friendly and quick. Our waitress knew how to read the personalities at the table and went with the flow. The town of Volcano is small (it will take you about 5 minutes to walk the entire town) but it has a lot of interesting history. Black Chasm is close by as well as other Amador County towns worth a visit like Sutter Creek (check out the cheese shop), Amador City (go to Andre's!), Plymouth (Taste and Amador Vintage Market) and wine-tasting in the Shennadoah Valley area.

Room Tip: Stayed in Hell's Delight on second floor, south? corner room. King sized bed and great balcony v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelingelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The whole atmosphere sets everything up. Outback is beautiful, weddings are also held outside. Food is excellent, you can eat inside or out on the porch. They also have a bar menu. In the bar they also cater to you needs and make you feel at home. Will continue going there, very good people and just a very enjoyable time a place to go. The St George Hotel fits in with the old gold town of Volcano. You won't be dissapionted.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Creek, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a great time hanging out in Volcano for a few days on a motorcycle rally. Sharon and her staff could not have been more accommodating. The rooms were comfortable, beautifully decorated and aptly named for things relating to the historic nature of the town.. The Garden cottage was so sweet with a huge jacuzzi tub and a two headed shower. The Zinfandel Suite was luxurious with a great seating area. The grounds were well kept lovely with so many places to sit and enjoy the solitude. A nice walk thru the historic town and then a wonderful dinner and a drink at the bar to complete the day but wait there is more we were treated to a free concert across the street. love Volcano and the St. George!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitbuell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tombstone, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Volcano, California is one of my favorite little historic mining towns in the Gold Country. Nestled in a little valley about 12 miles off of highway 49, Volcano has escaped the urban sprawl that has marred so many towns along that route; I think of towns like Grass Valley and Sonora among others. I have been coming to this town off and on for almost 30 years and Volcano has barely changed a bit since my first visit; and the locals want to KEEP it that way.

If you’re looking for a quaint little “Gold Rush” village with many little shops to look through, this ain’t it and you’d best try Sutter Creek or Jackson, both just up the road(s). About 5 to 10 minutes and you’ve just about toured the two-block town site. There is a Gallery, a Wine tasting room, the Union Pub (also operating as a restaurant and B&B), “Old Abe”, the famous canon with a great Civil War story I won’t repeat here, a small park, General store, an amphitheater where plays are performed on weekends during the summer months (the Cobblestone Theater, just across the street, is used for the plays in the spring and fall months) and, of course, the St. George, certainly the most impressive structure in the town. But don’t let that stop you as there is plenty to do in the area. After a quick tour of the town you can go up to Indian Grinding Rock State Park (you saw the entrance if you came to Volcano from Pine Grove) where you can learn about the Miwok Indians at the Visitor’s Center and then hike the grounds to see several interesting displays and Indian Petroglyphs that dot the site. Camping is available here too. Black Chasm Caverns in about a mile away on the same road and there you can get a guided tour of one of the interesting caverns that seem to be all around the Highway 49 Gold Country. A three-mile drive will take you to Daffodil Hill which is best experienced in the springtime when the daffodils are blooming. And the aforementioned Volcano Theater Company is worth a look. Sometimes they have matinees, sometimes not. You can check it out on their website. You can even picnic before the play and both restaurants and the general store can fix you up for a nice lunch or dinner.

Imagine my surprise and disappointment when I went to reserve my usual room at the St. George and attend one of the plays last year when I found the place suddenly CLOSED! Having stayed at the hotel for the first time almost 30 years ago the closure was a very sad moment. But not to worry, eight months later it has reopened and is just as good, if not better than it ever was. Its new owner, a longtime Volcano resident and businesswoman, plans to keep it virtually the same with a few tweaks. Megan, the longtime bartender referred to the new owner as “Awesome” and after meeting Sharon, the owner, I have to agree. Incidentally, Megan is pretty “Awesome” herself; one of the world’s GREAT bartender’s, and I’ve met a lot of great bartender’s from the La Fonda Hotel in Santa Fe to the top Las Vegas casinos and she’s at the top of the list! Many of the other great former staff members have also returned making it a pleasant reunion all-around.

The rooms are nice and unpretentious but be forewarned: as with most of the historic hotels in the Gold Country most rooms do not a private baths but a shared bath in the hallway. If this is important to you mention it when you call in your reservation. Also there are no telephones or televisions in any of the rooms, so if this is important to you you’d best look elsewhere. There are plenty of regular motels Jackson (12 miles away). As for me the hotel is cozy and home-like with a big balcony on the second floor where you can sip and glass of wine and just enjoy the quiet serenity of this wonderful 19th century town.

There are many old hotels in the Gold Country and many of them are wonderful. Some you might even prefer to the St. George, but for me the St. George Hotel in Volcano, CA has a special place in my heart and always will have. I hope it NEVER CLOSES AGAIN as I intend to return many times before I pass on.

Room Tip: I forgot to mention that the hotel also has no air conditioning and although it can get hot in Volca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westernbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

After a year of being closed, the St. George Hotel in Volcano CA is once again open. Did not get to meet the new owner, but met several staff members. Some of which are returnee's from the hotel's previous management. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We stayed for two nights in the main hotel. Room was clean and very comfortable. New mattresses in all of the rooms. When one stays at the St. George, you have to remember, the floors and walls are original. The floors do squeek when you walk on them and the walls are thin. If you can't deal with that, then stay in one of the cottages or the "annex"....which is a single story addition to the hotel. The restaurant that is right there at the hotel serves some fantastic food and wine. You need to have at least one meal there. The Whisky Flat Saloon has some pretty good bartenders and they pour a decent drink. Bar grub is really good too. They must be doing something right because the place was packed on Friday and Saturday night. We've been going to the St. George Hotel for many years and were very happy to learn that they would be re-opening on almost the same weekend that they closed in 2012. We were there with several other couples and there were no complaints from any of them. Is this style of hotel for everyone...no. But it definitely works for us and most of our friends. We simply love this place and will returning.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex, cottages and 3rd floor back corner rooms of main hotel are pretty quiet. Front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 59peterbilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
2.8 mi away
Pioneer Inn & Suites
Pioneer Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Pioneer
64 reviews
10.1 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
560 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Best Western Amador Inn
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
10.6 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Hotel

Property: St. George Hotel
Address: 16104 Main St, Volcano, CA 95689-9901
Location: United States > California > Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. George Hotel is located in Volcano-the “Gem of the Mother Lode”, slightly off the beaten path in the Sierra Nevada Foothills of California. This 3-story building with wooden balconies is the first thing you’ll see upon approaching the entrance to town. The St. George Hotel is listed on the national Register of Historic Places.The main Hotel was built in 1862. It is a 3-story brick building with 14 inch thick walls. The Hotel, built by B.F. George, was named “The St. George” to “thwart the demonic Fire Dragon”. The first two Hotels on the site (Eureka in 1853 and Empire in 1859) were destroyed by fire. The Hotel was known in the late 1800’s as the best Hotel in the County. The Hotel was one of the first 3-story buildings in the State, and Volcano is one of the original Gold Rush towns in the Mother Lode.The main Hotel has 14 guestrooms on 2 floors, two with private baths and the remainder with shared bathrooms. An additional one-story annex building, built in the 1960’s, offers 6 rooms with private bathrooms and televisions. Want to bring your dog? No problem. We have one room in the annex which we allow your pet to stay with you for an additional nominal charge. In 2003 the “Garden Cottage” was added and features a private deck, queen size bed, fireplace, double Jacuzzi tub, shower, television and DVD player. At the back side of the property, the Zinfandel Conference Center offers a perfect setting for meetings, gatherings or conferences with its small kitchen, separate queen bedroom and spacious area for seating in the living room and a television.The lovely and magical grounds of the St. George are a joy in every season. They are perfect for outdoor wedding ceremonies, receptions, summer teas and parties. The Daffodils and Tulips in Spring time and the grand trees and flowering bushes in summer provide privacy and shade and offer beautiful outdoor sitting areas throughout the gardens for reading, meditating, or reflecting on simpler times. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St George Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing