We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been 5-star except for those St. George ghosts”
Review of St. George Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volcano
san jose, california
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Would have been 5-star except for those St. George ghosts”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Marvelous historical hotel in a beautiful location. Daffodil Hill, the great Black Chasm Caverns (as a family, we have hit all the public caverns in California) and the absolutely stunning Indian Grinding Rock park and combine it with a quaint little town with yummy pie, good food and nice comfy room and inviting staff. The grounds around the hotel are simply stunning, a picture postcard of a giant 3 story hotel in the lovely mountains. The entire staff felt like family.

When we were told that with a Thursday night stay, we got to stay ALONE in the hotel, we thought that was something out of a movie but felt honored to occupy the large house. We were able to view all the rooms before deciding on one. If you are a "sensitive" and you know what I mean when you read this, then I am forewarning you for being prepared. However, the place was utterly charming and I had a nice chat in the morning with the sweet lady caretaker about all of our experiences from our evening alone in the giant house with its invisible occupants.

One thing I am happy about staying here, my husband, who doesn't believe in ghosts things, became a believer in the middle of the night. I have a photograph of him the next morning, completely exhausted. Perhaps we got the brunt of it because we stayed alone, or because I could pick up on their activity. Would I go back again...? Yes, only to clear the property. I did speak with a young gal from Volcano the next day, around 19 years old, who said she won't get near that hotel because she is scared to death of it. However, all others, you probably won't notice a thing.

Room Tip: Avoid the 3rd floor, period. The noises you hear are not coming from the kitchen. The closet on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catalinamarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    20
    3
    0
    7
See reviews for
10
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My Sister and I stayed at the St. George Hotel 7-31 to 8-2-11 From the moment we walked through the front door until the time we walked back out, we felt like we were treated like family! The staff were all friendly, warm and welcoming. Our three day getaway was exactly what we needed! The St. George is located in Volcano which has a population of 103. The town is small, quaint, all everyone we came into contact with was very hospitable. The food at St. George was fantastic (must try the pull pork with is make with a bar - ba - que sauce that is to die for). The chef was awesome, fun to chat with, sharing his cooking history with us. Jeff was very warm & friendly and shared local swim spots for my sister & I to visit. The grounds are beautiful and invite one to stay and unwind easily. The Union for dinner was recommended to us for more than one person and they were right, the food is fantastic along with the food at St. George Hotel. Another must visit is the St. George Wine Room, where owners, Susan & Dave make you feel as if your entering there own living room! The live music from Pat was wonderful! We felt like we were hanging out with long lost friends! We will definitely be back for more fun and relaxation!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loverofocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

A group of 4 went to this wonderful hotel through a deal from Living Social. What a wonderful place to stay. It is located in the tiny town of Volcano and is a real piece of history! The food is great, the staff was very friendly and accomodating and the grounds were beautiful. It is a perfect spot to travel out to the wineries and other eating establishments that are in the foothills of California. If you have the opportunity to stay there - I recommend you go..........Also if you have dogs, they have one pet-friendly room that is only $10 more a night (which is very reasonable!). They said they had a free continential breakfast but it actually included eggs/bacon/sausage which was much more than expected. Really cool place and a cool bar called Whiskey Flats that has good food & drinks!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iskyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn,CA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This old hotel that dates from the 1850’s is beautiful. It is well maintained on lovely grounds that evoke a resort atmosphere of a different era. Nestled in this tiny town, the St. George is just a short distance from several days’ worth of interesting adventures. These include caverns with guided tours, the Sutter Gold Mine with a tour down into the mine, the delicious wine country of Amador County, Amador Flower Farm, many old Gold Rush towns, including the lovely and lively Sutter Creek.

Room Tip: Excellent web site, but note some rooms without private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sssnancysss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

After reading some of the previous reviews, I was a little concerned. However, our Wednesday to Friday stay was delightful! When we arrived, we were helped immediately after buzzing for service. (Maybe previous reviewers who complained about not being helped did not notice the buzzer.) We stayed in one of the motel-style rooms in the building behind the main hotel. Our room had a hardwood floor, a ceiling fan, AC, assorted antique furniture, adequate but simple lamps, a coffee maker with coffee and condiments, and an attached bathroom. No TV/no telephone. (Some more expensive rooms do have TV.) The spotless room had some nice touches, although it was fairly simple and in, I think, a cinder block building probably dating from the 40's. The bathroom was small and the shower was tiny but fine for us. The bed linens and blanket were spotless, with a tasteful quilt and matching shams. We had a total of seven pillows. The bed itself was on the firm side but not hard. The hotel grounds are lovely with lots of interesting plants and trees and shady benches where you can sit and enjoy the sunshine, bird tweets, and water sounds. We took our breakfast out to the garden. Breakfast was served from 8:30 to 9:30 and, during our visit, included a selection of cold cereals, packaged instant oatmeal, granola bars, sliced watermelon and oranges, whole apples, two types of warm quiche (spinach, mushroom and tomato as well as ham), English muffins, canned juice, and coffee and tea. While the buffet wasn't elaborate, it was more than adequate, and the quiche was good and homemade. We also had a terrific dinner in the adjoining Whiskey Flat Saloon on Wednesday night which shares the St. George Hotel kitchen. (The St. George Hotel dining room is not open Mon-Wed.) The Whiskey Flat pulled pork sandwich was one of the best I've ever had, with lots of pork and a great blueberry barbecue sauce. My husband enjoyed a giant hamburger with garlic fries. I had read that the fries came on a bed of garlic, but that wasn't the case at our dinner. Tiny bits of garlic were mixed in with the fries and would be just right for a garlic-lover. My husband thought the meal he had the next night at the St. George Hotel was one of the highlights of the trip. His rack of pork ribs was gigantic. We shared the ribs and had enough left for another meal for the two of us and even leftovers from that. Service was very good at both meals, and the food came out quickly. (The only error was my husband ordered balsamic vinegar for his salad but received ranch.) Hotel staff was friendly and even helped my husband with his wireless computer. If you want a relaxing escape from the busy world, then I recommend the St. George Hotel. The tiny town of Volcano is full of historic markers and fun to explore. Jackson and the Jackson Rancheria Casino are not far away. The casino lunch buffet at $10 adult/$9 senior is a bargain. Stop off at the Indian Grinding Rock Park. It's worth a look. The Black Chasm cavern should not be missed and is just a few minutes from the St. George.

Room Tip: Most main bldg. rooms are very small without bathrooms. Splurge for one with a bath or rent a cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights and found it one of the coziest old hotels we've stayed at. Each room is decorated differently with antique and ceiling fan. Definitely a place for baby boomers seeking quiet. If you're a sagger or insist on nonstop entertainment, go elsewhere. Beds are comfortable - and even though bathrooms are shared, no wait and very clean.

We ate two meals here and found the food excellent and of good value - chicken marsala and their version of the phillie sandwich for dinner on the outdoor patio. And breakfast brunch (eggs benedict).

We chose the living social special and got a bottle of wine and voucher for dinner worth $30. Plus a Jackson Rancheria casino voucher. This area is filled with stuff to do - a bar next door, Black Chasm Cave 1 mile away, and of course the wineries and casino.

Bring a book and settle down on the balcony.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmlandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davis, ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

St. George hotel has obviously been coasting on the reputation of it's past owners. The grounds are pleasant and the porches and views are lovely. But the rooms are overrated and overpriced for what you get. I stayed in the Annex section of the hotel. A row of rooms that are not connected to the historic hotel. We greeted by the unfriendly owner who when giving me a corkscrew for my wine told me not to steal it as people in the past felt entitled to take their corkscrews. My disappointment in this establishment only grew once I entered the room. What we got was a standard room with threadbare towels, old furniture falling apart at the seams, and dust bunnies under the bed. It also didn't have some of the basic amenities a standard hotel for half the price would have things like a clock radio, television, and a telephone. The telephone was especially troubling as I did not phone service. What if I had a health emergency and needed assistance? There were outlets were all of these things but obviously in an effort to save money the hotel did not provide them. The restaurant was adequate and the bar was fun. But if coming to Volcano I would look into to staying in another establishment.

Room Tip: Look into the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkristis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
2.8 mi away
Pioneer Inn & Suites
Pioneer Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Pioneer
62 reviews
10.1 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
552 reviews
10.1 mi away
Best Western Amador Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
153 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
69 reviews
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Hotel

Property: St. George Hotel
Address: 16104 Main St, Volcano, CA 95689-9901
Location: United States > California > Volcano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. George Hotel is located in Volcano-the “Gem of the Mother Lode”, slightly off the beaten path in the Sierra Nevada Foothills of California. This 3-story building with wooden balconies is the first thing you’ll see upon approaching the entrance to town. The St. George Hotel is listed on the national Register of Historic Places.The main Hotel was built in 1862. It is a 3-story brick building with 14 inch thick walls. The Hotel, built by B.F. George, was named “The St. George” to “thwart the demonic Fire Dragon”. The first two Hotels on the site (Eureka in 1853 and Empire in 1859) were destroyed by fire. The Hotel was known in the late 1800’s as the best Hotel in the County. The Hotel was one of the first 3-story buildings in the State, and Volcano is one of the original Gold Rush towns in the Mother Lode.The main Hotel has 14 guestrooms on 2 floors, two with private baths and the remainder with shared bathrooms. An additional one-story annex building, built in the 1960’s, offers 6 rooms with private bathrooms and televisions. Want to bring your dog? No problem. We have one room in the annex which we allow your pet to stay with you for an additional nominal charge. In 2003 the “Garden Cottage” was added and features a private deck, queen size bed, fireplace, double Jacuzzi tub, shower, television and DVD player. At the back side of the property, the Zinfandel Conference Center offers a perfect setting for meetings, gatherings or conferences with its small kitchen, separate queen bedroom and spacious area for seating in the living room and a television.The lovely and magical grounds of the St. George are a joy in every season. They are perfect for outdoor wedding ceremonies, receptions, summer teas and parties. The Daffodils and Tulips in Spring time and the grand trees and flowering bushes in summer provide privacy and shade and offer beautiful outdoor sitting areas throughout the gardens for reading, meditating, or reflecting on simpler times. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St George Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing