We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Margaritas...”
Review of El Ranchero

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Ranchero
Ranked #98 of 217 Restaurants in Vista
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Margaritas...”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Enjoy the outdoor dining and the indoor decor. Good food, friendly staff. Service a bit slow on Sunday's but coupons for brunch make it well worth it.

Monday is senior discount day.

Good shredded beef tacos, good flour tortillas, GREAT refried beans.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retiredandready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
So. AZ
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

When we dined here, we were the only customers at 5:30 PM on a week night. This had me a bit worried until the salsa arrived. The quality of the salsa indicated there was hope for the meal. (My companion was a semi-regular at this restaurant, so I wasn't actually too concerned.) The mole dish was quite good - while it did not have the complexity of flavors of an excellent mole, the above average spiciness of the sauce made it quite interesting. We'll return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank az_tripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“GREAT NEIGHBORHOOD MEXICAN RESTAURANT”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Great food and service. The owner makes you feel like family and excited to come back again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank dhbrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Mexican cuisine”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Loved the food, authentic Mexican flavors. the owner was our waiter he was very friendly. Prices are affordable. Margaritas are delicious! One of the best Mexican restaurants I have been to. I will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan_5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Horrible Service”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Service in this place is ridiculous - the owner is very rude. They are very slow and selective about who the provide higher levels of service too. The few times we were there, all the servers were attentive to what seemed like regulars, ignoring us. Food is mediocre and over-priced.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ranchero also viewed

 

Been to El Ranchero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing