We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior food”
Review of John's Neighborhood Bar & Grill - CLOSED

John's Neighborhood Bar & Grill
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: We're located on the NW corner of Bobier Drive & E. Vista Way in the Mesa Vista Center. We're a little hidden (located behind the Auto Parts store) but worth the effort. We have a full restaurant and bar with plenty of seating.
Vista, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superior food”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

A wonderful value. John is one fine chef, and the dinner was outstanding. Creme Brulee was the best I have ever tried.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank no t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great service and delicious food”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is my elderly parents favorite place to celebrate birthdays. Friendly and courteous staff, nice atmosphere. Great food

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best secret in Vista”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Went to our favorite restaurant in Vista, Ca for a quiet Valentine Day dinner. It was great as usual! We tried 2 of their specials-Filet/scallops and lobster penne pasta. Very good. But, we love this restaurant any day. Terrific prime rib, salads...and great prices. John also has a breakfast and lunch restaurant in downtown Vista adjacent to the Avo theatre.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessie109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointed that John's was Not as Good as Curbside Cafe”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We live in Vista, and The Curbside Cafe is an excellent place for breakfast. The owner of the Curbside Cafe has opened John's, and we were hoping for a similar, positive experience. John's is located near our home, and we were hoping this could be a place we could visit frequently. We were quite disappointed. We have tried it several times, trying different dishes and the food is below average. The fish did not taste fresh, and the chicken must have been frozen strips fried in fat. Again, we tried this place more than once, hoping each time that the food would live up to what we are used to at the Curbside and it was not.

We tried, and were disappointed again and again...

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rottnestwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. San Diego County
Level Contributor
137 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Never disappointed! Great atmosphere and delicious food”
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We've been back to John's a few times since my last review. The food is ALWAYS delicious. ALWAYS! This past Thursday night we enjoyed some really great live music. This is what we have been waiting for in Vista. A casual, "non-chain" place to go with our friends and have a relaxing evening.
I have ordered the Cobb Salad the last couple of times and it is the best I've ever had. A few of our group consistantly order the salmon over spinach leaves which they say is delicious. The Rosemary Chicken is another one of my favorites and my husband usually goes with the prime rib. The prices are VERY reasonable, the portions are generous and everything is very tasty. Great staff!

Support our local entrepreneurs and try John's. You'll be glad you did!

website: http://www.johnsneighborhood.com/

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sulphursister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Neighborhood Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing