We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Mexican restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant El Callejon Vista - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Restaurant El Callejon Vista
Cuisines: Spanish, Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Our extended family (ages 5 to 70) loves this restaurant (lunch and dinner). Virtually everything is outstanding. Menu ranges from the basics to delicious Mexican entrees. High quality meats and fresh fish combined with skilled cooking and attractive presentation make for a very enjoyable time. Manager (Miguel) is ever present and friendly. Unchanging service staff members are all attentive and focused on customer needs. Weekend mariachi groups add to ambiance in this well-decorated restaurant. (Bonus: Large tequila bottle collection displayed on the walls.)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tobejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
442 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Strong Margaritas”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a place you come to for fun, not for amazing Mexican food but that is ok with me because I like fun. The food isn't bad or anything, its just not great, but I am super picky when it comes to Mexican food so maybe you wouldn't think it was that bad. Anyhow, the service is good and you can have a fun time sitting in the bar area. Sometimes they even have live music. The margaritas are good, cheap and really strong!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aprilp2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great authentic Mexican food”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The place is always busy but the wait is never more than a few minutes. Free chips and salsa. There is usually a mariachi band for dinner. The staff are friendly. Margaritas are great. The food is always great. Good location too, next to a movie theater and an ice cream place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“El Callejon Vista California - great find”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were all set for a Mexican lunch on Sunday only to discover the restaurant we chose did not open for lunch, and came upon El Callejon Vista on Main Street which was open for lunch. The restaurant had a large function already in progress, but offered to take us in without a booking. We were quickly given starters of their home made corn chips and salsa, which was freshly made and wonderful. Our orders were taken promptly and meals were delivered not too long after, and we were all pleased with our choices. Generous servings and the food was very fresh. Only delay to our table were a drink order, which was quickly attended to once we notified the waiter. I certainly would go back again to try the seafood on their menu. All in all it was a pleasant discovery on a beautiful Sunday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perthtrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant El Callejon Vista also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing