We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and clean and safe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Franciscan Inn Motel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here when the San Diego HIghland Games were going on. Other more expensive hotels were booked and it was last minute, so we went here. It was easy check-in. The room was in a timewarp of the 70's, but was super, super clean. Quiet! Will stay here again!

Room Tip: 153 is on the second floor and very clean
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Franciscan Inn Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a very affordable place with decent amenities. There is a refrigerator and microwave in each room. There is also free wifi (something you can not get at a Hilton). The beds are not the best. We have stayed there 3 times and they have varied from comfortable to awful. The bed spreads have not been changed in a while as most have holes in them but the room is decent size and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

After one night in the room, we canceled the rest of our nights and found a friend to stay with for the rest of our planned trip. The main reason for leaving was lack of adequate security on the doors and windows. For 2 women travelers feeling safe in a hotel room is important to us. The hotel staff did not charge us for the additional 2 nights which we canceled, so we were glad about that. I will say the room was quite large, which is great for a family. However, the luggage rack and the clothes rack were extremely rusted, and should be replaced. The wall had various stains which could be removed. Would not recommend this hotel even for the price!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AZTraveler055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

made reservations on line using credit card. when we arrived person at front desk asked for cash. did not even give option of using credit card. I told them to use crdit card and they could not get it to work. they were using the old fashion way using paper then running through a machine that kept coming up duplicat transaction. while i was inside my family was sitting in the car and noticed that the ice machine was outside, A person came to get ice and there was none. Another person came to get a soda from soda machine that was sitting next to ice machine and it also did not work. Needless to say i got the heck out of there and went somewhere else. Yhx to my daughter and son in law we got another place to stay. I will never consider this place again or advise anyone to stay at this motel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I have to admit, the first glance I took at this place on Priceline, I skipped to the next motel right away. Something about the really "old fashioned" look of the room just didnt seem appealing to me. Well...running low on daylight and cash and with all the other motel prices out there raising because of Summer, I figured what the hell..and just booked my reservation. When we got there, the location was good and really convenient. The lady at the front desk was really sweet and really enjoyed engaging in small talk..not something I'm used to at these budget motels. The room itself was very clean & spacious. I cant stress to you how important cleanliness is, ESPECIALLY after being bit to death by BED BUGS at motels that I've actually paid MORE for. The bathroom isn't too big, but has been well-kept & is well-stocked. There's also a mini fridge & microwave. No coffee maker, but no biggie. Theres also a pool open til 10pm which is nice for Summer. Not digging the old country western kinda look..it looks like something my Grandma in Oklahoma would like. LoL, but overall, the room is pretty much immaculate and well worth the $49.50 I paid for a single bed (queen) room. They do hold $10 as collateral for the key & remote, but return both and be out by your 11am check out time and you should have no hassle at all. It feels good to be back home in SD after living in LA, and I'm happy to have stumbled upon this motel. I highly recommend it for travelers on a budget such as myself. 2 thumbs up! =)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MCfromSD1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is a very clean, friendly place to stay. It is in a central location. Very quiet. Easy to find. The staff were very friendly, but didn't know much about the area--like good places to eat. The didn't even know about the cafe in their parking lot. We had the queen size bed. The room was a very good size, It had a table and 2 chairs. I was surprised to see a small microwave and small-dorm style refrigerator too. We were just there for a place to sleep---We stayed a Sunday night and then went back at the end of our vacation, on Friday night. There is a Von's right across the street, also a CVS and Walgreens very close. The mattress was a little firmer than I like, but at least it was all clean. The room was a very good price. We didn't use the pool--too cold. There is not a jacuzzi. I would stay here again, if just looking for a clean, inexpensive, quiet place to sleep.

Room Tip: The queen size bed is the only one in the room. If you need 2 beds, then you get 2 double beds. Ther...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The owner (female) is the sweetest ,most polite person you could possibly deal with.We arrived near midnite and she came to the outside checkin window and firstly asked would we like to see the room first.
Most people get annoyed if you ask to check the room.You can park right at the door of the room, it was clean,affordable and spacious, Perfect! The furniture is from the retro era but she made you want to stay because she has charm, grace and manners. Those qualities are non existant now a days. It was a terrific sleep and we will return every time we go to the beach in SanDiego.Lovely lady will make this motel succeed,she has the touch! Thanks Sweet Pinush!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank zhazhazha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vista
1.4 mi away
Vista Inn
Vista Inn
#7 of 9 in Vista
27 reviews
0.9 mi away
Motel 6 Vista
Motel 6 Vista
#5 of 9 in Vista
81 reviews
4.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
9.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Inn Motel

Address: 955 S Santa Fe Ave, Vista, CA 92083-6909
Location: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Hotel Class:2 star — Franciscan Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Franciscan Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing