We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Vista
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (979)
Filter reviews
979 results
Traveler rating
520
254
108
50
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
520
254
108
50
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lego land visit legoland min drive safari park san diego free breakfast great place to stay sofa bed yogurt shuttle service family vacation mini fridge enjoyed my stay fitness center beds were comfortable free parking tub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 979 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2020

Beautiful hotel, very comfortable bed and great service! I highly recommend Hyatt Place in Carlsbad. Their breakfast selection was quite impressive. Keen attention to detail by staff. All around pleasant experience.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank cherylhenry2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

The Hyatt Place in Vista/Carlsbad has the friendliest staff, always ready to help you out. Plus the hotel is clean and quiet. And there’s a great breakfast every morning. They have a pool, workout room, and you can get a meal and a drink pretty much whenever you want.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank LAWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

The highlight of our stay was one of the managers: Michelle. She was engaging, warm and welcoming! We were traveling with our 12 year old granddaughter who had not been to California nor seen the ocean. fMichelle had great suggestions! David her co-worker was also very helpful. The breakfast at Hyatt Place was plentiful and delicious. Our room was very comfortable. The water pressure and temperature were a little wanting though. Parking is easy and free.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

This hotel is great for short stays. It has a great breakfast, gym, pool and a great staff. Nicolas was the gentleman that helps us out. He made our stay much more pleasant. He gave us great advice on our stay and how to make the best of it. It is a great family hotel. We were visiting LEGOLAND and The Safari Park. It is very close to both parks.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank fgonzalez2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_Irwin, Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Thank you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response to make every guest experience the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

I hate leaving bad reviews, but this hotel was just awful. I made the mistake of believing all the positive reviews here.

Although the gentleman at the front desk (David) was really nice and helpful (actually the only helpful one who actually solved all problems encountered), mostly everything else about the hotel was just awful.

First of all, the carpets were disgustingly dirty and stained in our hotel room and our whole family had to keep our socks on the whole time.

Second, we all had bad allergies in the room (our eyes were puffed up and our throats sore the first night) because of the really dirty air ventilation system going through our room and the hotel (there is a wall unit on the wall that is dirty and sounds like an airplane taking off when it starts).

Third, both our room and the hotel are very old and outdated. Really feel deceived by this property's website as the pictures on their web site show a really new-looking and modern and clean type of hotel and property - and nothing could be farther from the truth! The property when we arrived was dirty outside (animal feces left by owners all over property on the outside - not Hyatt's fault on this one but Hyatt should impose some sort of penalty on owners leaving crap behind; building itself is dirty-looking on the outside as if it hasn't been washed in a while; leaves and other garbage were littered around the property, dirty windows etc.,). Also, we were there for a few days and there was no one taking care of the pool or hot tub outside on a daily basis and the hot tub water was cloudy.

Fourth, house-keeping at this hotel was the absolute worst that we have ever experienced! Every day something was missing (towels missing, dirty glasses never replaced, toilet paper not left in the room etc.).

Breakfast was mostly good and included in the hotel price but their fruit (especially the mouldy cantaloupe) was not that fresh. This is a value hotel and although it's cheaper than most hotels you get what you pay for. On the positive side, we didn't see any bugs in the room and the bed itself was clean. There were many, many kids at this hotel as Legoland is nearby - so this might be the right hotel if you're looking for a basic, budget-friendly hotel close to Legoland.

Budget or not though our family will not be returning and we are very disappointed in this Hyatt hotel.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CanadaTrueVoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca_Irwin, Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Thank you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews