We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for one night.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I enjoyed the stay.
But missed room service. We had to pick up food at front desk no french fries.

But the breakfast made up for it. Really nice front desk. It was a pain to keep your card in for the lights I suggest you get an extra room card to solve the issue.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bajavaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Bajavaga,

We are delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast during your stay with us! We can deliver food to your room, but it is based on the availability of our team to bring it. One cool thing about our food and beverage is our team don't take tips so there are no needless charges for "delivery" and awkward expectations for gratuity for a team member just doing their jobs. Also, we don't have French fries (we are looking out for your health), but we do have a plethora of other unhealthy options should you desire!

We typically do provide additional keys for the energy management system should you have multiple members in your party or want to briefly step away. I will make sure our team continues to follow through on this offer.

We hope to see you again soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 683 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I were moving from Arizona to California and spent 12 nights at this wonderful hotel while waiting to close escrow on our new home. We thought it would be a nightmare for the 2 of us to be together in one room for so long, but it turned out to be quite the opposite. Very spacious accommodations with the bedroom divided from a nice sitting area that included an adequate work space area and a bar with refrigerator and coffee maker. Nicely furnished, wonderful staff in every area of the hotel and an amazing daily buffet breakfast! For us, the highlight of our stay was meeting Patricia Dunne, Director of Sales. Pat was aware of our situation of not being able to move into our new home and went overboard to make our stay a pleasant one. With sincere thanks to Pat and all of the staff at the hotel our 12 night stay was delightful in every way!!!

Room Tip: Lots of families here during the summer months. If you are travelling on business, request a room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Carol P,

Congratulations on making the weather upgrade from Arizona to sunny Southern California! We appreciate you selecting our hotel to meet your needs during your time of transition!

I will pass along your compliments to Pat and the rest of the team! They take a lot of pride in exceeding the expectations of our guests, and it's always great to hear that their efforts are appreciated!

We look forward to hosting your friends and relatives when they come to visit you!

Wes Lavender
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hyatt really did a fantastic job furnishing this hotel. The rooms were well appointed and still in crisp, new condition. I would absolutely stay in this facility again. Actually, I would even look forward to staying here again. Bonus, breakfast was served with real tableware. Nothing plastic!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingfamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear travelingfamily_12,

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the design and contemporary furnishings and color pallet of our new hotel!

Thank you for selecting our hotel from the myriad selections in our market! I hope you enjoyed your vacation from Wisconsin!

We hope to see you again soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a great experience at the Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad! The property still looks brand new! The staff we encountered couldn't be friendlier... the rooms comfortable and clean and a GREAT complimentary breakfast buffet. (wow! really... wow!) Filled our bellies and then drove the very short distance to Legoland (they have a complimentary shuttle bus to Legoland if you want it -- make sure you sign up way in advance if you want to get there when the park opens!) We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear abbache,

I'm delighted to hear about your very positive experience you enjoyed at our hotel!

Our breakfast is definitely one of our largest points of differentiation from our competitors as it meets the needs of every type of guest from the kiddos with the hot sweet items such as waffles or French toast to the adults with Starbucks coffee, steel cut oatmeal and hot breakfast sandwiches.

Our shuttle runs on the half hour beginning at 7am until 10 am then again from 4pm until 8pm.

I look forward to your return trip from LA!

Wes Lavender
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a new hotel, everything is in good condition and very clean. We loved our room, having the seating area with a couch made the room feel large and comfortable. Plenty of space for a family of four and our suitcases.
The breakfast buffet had a big variety of items including some hot dishes and we really enjoyed it. It gets busy after 8 am, but they never seemed to run out of anything.
There are three computers in the lobby with a printer that you can use free of charge. Internet in the room worked very well.
Pool is an average size, but fun for kids after a busy day.
The only thing I wished was that the hotel was a little closer to Legoland and Carlsbad. I would say it was about 15 min drive which adds up if you are doing that a couple of times a day.
Staff at this hotel is very friendly and polite. I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mone100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Mone100,

Thank you for selecting our hotel to be your home away from home during your trip down from Winnipeg this month! I'm excited to hear we earned your recommendation!

Our breakfast does get busy because of its popularity but our staff stand ready to meet the needs of our hungry guests! We do have three computers in our business center open 24 hours as well as a printer that is networked in so that you can print from your mobile device or notebook in your room or anywhere in the hotel.

We are only 6 miles from LEGOLAND and 8 to Carlsbad downtown, but I understand with stoplights and traffic it may be up to 15 minutes, but we are away from the noise of the airport and the heavy traffic of Palomar Airport Road. Next time you stay with us, ask our team about the back way to LEGOLAND! Much faster and less traffic!

We look forward to your return! Maybe once winter hits in Canada and we are still sunny and 70 degrees?

Wes Lavender
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Staff was excellent, rooms were very modern and clean. The room was like a mini studio apartment. Although not on a beach or near iconic scenery it was still a good location to the beaches, safari park, Lego land, shopping and San Diego. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. They provided several options which changed each day so you get a variety. Would like to have had a microwave in the room and the gym was very basic but had a nice treadmill. There is a really good Mexican restaurant across the street.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view facing the west for some nice sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torreezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Torreezee,

Thank you for selecting our hotel to meet your needs during your recent visit with your family! We are very centrally located to all the northern San Diego County attractions and our rooms, while lacking a microwave, are spacious and have modern amenities such as a plug panel allowing you to stream data from an electronic device (e.g. iPad or notebook computer) directly to our 42" HDTV!

We do rotate our breakfast selections so that things don't get repetitive.

I appreciate your thorough review, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Spacious modern room, larger than normal with all the up to date technology at your service.
The breakfast is what I wish 5 star hotels offered that this hotel does at no extra charge. No parking or internet fees at this well known hotel name.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XciteSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear XciteSteve,

I'm so excited to hear the our breakfast and bundled room rate (without all the niggling charges) met your needs! We endeavor to create an easy experience with our suite of amenities and purposeful service.

Travel safely out there, and we hope to see you again soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vista
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
4.9 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#2 of 5 in San Marcos
444 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
#21 of 36 in Carlsbad
158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
#25 of 36 in Carlsbad
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad

Address: 2645 S Melrose Dr, Vista, CA 92081-8783
Location: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Price Range: $117 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing