We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a great stay! Yes, the hotel is tucked away, but for us that added to the appeal. It was extremely quiet and calm. All of the hotel staff was warm, kind and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. We had no complaints and will stay again if we need a hotel in the Carlsbad area. I have always liked the Hyatt hotels and now I like their Hyatt Place brand also. Thank you for a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank germatt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear germatt2,

We are delighted that you selected our hotel to be your home away from home during your recent business trip! I see you are an experienced traveler, and I'm glad our team met your discerning standards.

We hope to see you on your next trip to the Carlsbad area!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    177
    66
    26
    20
See reviews for
367
72
26
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

From the moment that you walk in, one can see the smiles of the people at reception. Everyone I have seen working at this hotel has a smile and is extremely courteous and attentive to the needs of their guests. The rooms are new with everything from a great couch to a big flat-screen tv which has all the connections to hook-up any external device or just my iPod to the TV to listen to music while I shave.
The breakfast is wonderful and they are always brining more things out. Sometimes, they do get crowded but there is always room for everyone to sit and enjoy what is being served.
The location is close to all businesses in Vista/Carlsbad and close to LegoLand and shopping too.
You will enjoy the comfort of the bed and the spacious rooms.
I have stayed here 4 times and plan to keep on staying at this great hotel.

Room Tip: Everything from a great hotel for business to a family hotel. Friendly people with great service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Travel4Funk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Luv2Travle4Funk,

Thank you for selecting our hotel to meet your needs during your recent trip to our hotel on business. We are indeed well located in our market with easy access to the myriad businesses in the two large office parks adjacent to our property. We are only a 5 minute drive to LEGOLAND or the Carlsbad Premium Outlet Mall for those choosing our area for leisure travel.

I will pass on your comments regarding your positive interactions with our team and the condition and amenities of the hotel.

We hope to see you again soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

First off, we have never stayed here before. This was our first visit to this area of California and we were going to LEGOLAND for 2 days (we stayed 4 nights at the Hyatt Place), and we are very glad we chose this Hyatt Place. The hotel is spotless, the staff works hard to maintain the entire property. The lobby, halls, rooms, grounds, pool, everything looked and smelled new. We checked in quickly, got a room on the 4th floor (top floor) with a great view of the pool/spa. The room is huge, it would be considered a suite at most hotels. The pictures are very accurate of the room. We had a room with 2 Queen Beds (very comfy, slept great) and in the sitting area there is a large sectional couch that has a sleeper bed pull out! All kinds of room to move around, never felt cramped. Room was spotless, bathroom was large, great shower. Nice swivel flat screen TV that you can swivel toward beds or sitting area. There is a nice size black mini fridge in the sitting area.......and a full size desk (and swivel chair) too.

Pool is heated, nice touch. Very clean and swimmable no matter what the outside temp is. The spa was HOT and felt great. There is also a 24hr fitness room, nobody was ever using it the 4 days we stayed there.

FREE PARKING. FREE BREAKFAST BUFFET.....and it is very, very good. Hot breakfast sandwiches, Hot waffles, fresh fruit, cereals, breads, donuts, oatmeal, juices, coffee and more!

FREE LEGOLAND SHUTTLE!! Yes, that's right. No paying $15/day to park at LEGOLAND. The shuttle drivers were always friendly and on time. Door to Gate service and back. Very nice.

FREE WIFI and INTERNET. There is a strong wifi signal that is free......or you can use any of the 3 fast computers near the lobby for free too. Very nice.

We had no issues what-so-ever with our stay. I would go back in a heartbeat. No hesitations. In fact, we talked about this Hyatt so much during our stay.......we just couldn't get over how NICE it was. The Hyatt staff was so polite and friendly, we always were greeted with a hello.

Location of the Hyatt Place is a little remote, but its within minutes drive of everything. The Carlsbad Outlet Mall and Carlsbad Flower Fields were only a 10 minute drive. LEGOLAND shuttle was about 10 minutes too. Plenty of restaurants and shopping (grocery and retail) close by.

There is a reason this Hyatt Place gets such high reviews, they deserve it. I would give it 6 stars if I could......yes, it was that nice.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor, over looking pool/spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vegaspeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Vegaspeeps,

It is so gratifying to read your positive comments regarding your experience with our hotel and team. You have hit on every aspect about what makes our hotel such a great choice for travelers!

I will pass along your comments to our team so they can see the impact that their efforts had on your family's trip from Las Vegas.

I hope to see you again soon! Maybe when it gets over 100 in Vegas this summer?

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for business. The first room I got was a bit noisy but the staff was very solicitous in moving me to a quieter room. Clean big rooms, good breakfast.

Hard to go wrong here, either for business or nearby legoland

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swb_muir_beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear swb_muir_beach,

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent business trip to our area. As a frequent traveler you understand the value of a quiet and tranquil room, and I'm excited to hear that our team met your needs.

I wish you safe travels and look forward to your next trip to our area.

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt for a week on business and found the stay to be pleasant. There is a small buffet style breakfast that on a busy day they do have trouble keeping up with demand. But all in all it is a nice brand new hotel that has the Hyatt brand attached to it so you expect a high quality standard level.

For the business traveler it is perfect and close to many business in the vista area and for families its only a short drive to the Carlsbad premium outlets and Lego Land.

Certainly recommend this hotel for short stays

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyteoficarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Flyteoficarus,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent business trip to our area. I'm delighted that you selected our hotel, and am excited to hear that we met your expectations.

We appreciate your positive comments regarding our location and suite of amenities. Our breakfast is very popular due to the wide variety of items and the selection of high quality products, but we endeavor to meet this demand with our smiling hospitable team members.

We look forward to your return!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I got a great deal on this hotel and chose it despite the reviews that stated it was in the middle of nowhere. I lived in Oceanside for five years so I was familiar with the area and knew what I was getting in to. It's a newer facility, several miles inland and bordered by commercial, residential, and undeveloped area.

Access is difficult. Coming from the west, you have to do a u-turn in order to access the hotel. This isn't obvious and there is only one entrance from Melrose. There's an entrance on Faraday but it's right turn only.

The building is new and nice. Room layout is a little strange and the key in the slot to power the room is also a little strange, but workable. A clean room with a fridge. NO BATHTUB so be prepared. Outdoor pool that was cool on the first day but nicely heated the next.

Breakfast was good with plenty of choices. Breakfast staff was great and always on the move. Really impressed with these folks; always had a good attitude no matter what some of the guests did or said.

Shuttle to and from LegoLand was convenient. Saved $15 on parking and a little on gas. Shuttle drivers were nice.

Staff was great. Everyone was nice and helpful. They made the stay even better when there was little to complain about to start. I'd give 4 stars on the hotel but the staff bumps it up to 4.5, so I round to 5. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear dougneb,

Thanks for picking our hotel to be your home during your recent trip from Washington! Our hotel opened in July of 2012 and we still have that "new car smell"!

Our hotel can be tricky to arrive the first time due to strictures of entry for safety required by the city, thanks for your persistence!

I hope our team were able to explain the energy management system during your arrival. These systems are becoming more popular as hotels become more sustainable. By the way, we do have bathtub/shower combinations in our double queen rooms, so those families traveling with small children can do the nightly bath.

Thank you so much for the positive comments regarding your interactions with our breakfast and shuttle team. As you remark, these team members are under significant strain during busy times, and to be recognized is huge. I have already passed along your praise.

We hope to see you again soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Really nice, new hotel near Legoland. Large rooms with living room area and mini-fridge. Incredible menu with the best tomato bisque soup I've ever had! Will definitely go back in our next trip to Legoland.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgasperini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Mgasperini,

Thank you for allowing our team to meet your needs during your spring break trip to LEGOLAND!

Our tomato bisque is awesome, but next time you come you have to try the chicken tortilla soup or perhaps the mushroom and brie bisque!

We hope to see you again soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vista
4.9 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
4.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
#22 of 36 in Carlsbad
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad

Property: Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
Address: 2645 S Melrose Dr, Vista, CA 92081-8783
Location: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing