We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Our two-night stay was exceptional from the beginning. Staff greeted us with smiles and enthusiasm as they checked us in. Very pleasant staff! We were there as vendors for the Bates Nut Farm Craft Show, in Valley Center, which they were knowledgeable about. We had a first floor room with a king-sized bed. Our room was spacious with a room divider between the bed and the sitting area. It felt more like a suite. The sitting area had a comfortable corner grouping not normally found in a hotel room. There was a corner business area as well with a refrigerator. The bathroom was large with the vanity separate from the short and toilet. Just be mindful if someone is at the vanity and another in the bathroom. The door opens into the vanity. The bed is slightly elevated with a pillow-top mattress. The 42" plasma screen swivels for viewing from either the sitting area or the bedroom portion. Indoor hallways were quiet. Business area in the lobby gave privacy from traffic paths. Breakfasts were a nice array of selections from breads, juices, yogurts, and cereals. A hot dish is available daily. Ample sitting area for breakfast.
This hotel is three months old. Pictures on the website is what you get. Overall, I would definitely stay again as well as encourage others to stay as well.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktelib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Ktelib,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us this month!. I hope your time at the Bates Nut Farm was productive! We send a lot of guests there when they request information about local events related to autumn and Halloween.

I'm delighted we met your needs with our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast, and the layout and amenities in the rooms.

We look forward to your return soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    150
    54
    21
    13
See reviews for
312
67
23
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great location, near to Legoland and only 40 min drive to SeaWorld
Pool as good for kids and us
Staff super friendly and helpful
Free car parking & internet (WIFI and they have computers available)
Cooked breakfast was included

Room Tip: We had 2 x Double queen which suited us. Couch was a fold out bed as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Graham M

We appreciate your review of your recent stay with your family in our new hotel!

I'm excited to hear that our team were able to delight you.

We do offer the a.m. Kitchen Skillet Breakfast included in the room rate and it includes such items as steel cut oatmeal, hot breakfast sandwiches, and freshly baked pastries.

We hope your trip back to Australia is safe, and please come back to visit us soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
296 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is new and truly relaxing. The staff was great and rooms were comfortable. Might be a god location for the near business park but there is nothing close to visit or restaurants at which to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConVivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear ConVivo,

We appreciate your review of our hotel last month. I'm delighted to hear our team were able to meet your needs, and that our rooms were tranquil.

While we are centrally located between two business parks, we do have a good location relative to the attractions in northern San Diego County. We are about 6 miles from South Carlsbad State Beach, 5 miles from LEGOLAND and the Carlsbad Outlet Malls, and we are adjacent to a preserved open space with a running trail that circles the space.

We hope to see you again the next time you travel our way!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elanora, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great sized room for a family. Extremely clean with Two queen beds plus an additional sofa that easily converted to a bed. There was an empty fridge so we were able to use that too. The shower was fantastic too!

The gym was good and there is a small but useable pool.

The breakfast is a bit chaotic, especially on the weekends. But there is a reasonable selection and as its included in the room rate, it's great value!

You definitely need a car though as its at least 5k from most things.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bew996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear bew996,

We appreciate you completing a review of your stay with us last month. I'm glad you were delighted with our rooms as well as our 24 hour fitness center and outdoor pool.

We take great pride in our a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast, and are excited you were pleased by the selection adn quality.

We hope to see you and your family again the next time you travel from down under!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Overall, this hotel is very nice with several features that are quite appealing. For example, there is a large 50+ inch LG swivel HDTV in the room with easily accessible input jacks to plug in HDMI cables so that your IPad or tablet can project right onto this big screen. If you are working from your hotel room on business, you can easily project a PowerPoint presentation from your laptop just as well. Free WiFi was easy to set up and worked just fine. The sitting area in a King room has a spacious couch and Ottoman so that it comfortably can accommodate 4-5 people. The bed seemed a little firm, so if you prefer that you should like it, but if you are used to a softer mattress you may feel a bit sore in the morning. The in-room coffee is not too good (generic hotel Arabica), but downstairs there's a pretty decent Italian roast. The complimentary breakfast buffet is solid with everything you would expect - e.g. cereal, fruit, toast, ham & egg English muffins with cheese. I had the oatmeal and was pleasantly surprised to see apricot and nut toppings, which were quite yummy. The hotel staff is friendly and I have rarely ever encountered a more cheerful and pleasant Housekeeping staff as they were all smiles and quick to respond to requests for service. This hotel is practically brand new, so you get a sense that there is pride in keeping things well-maintained. I recommend Hyatt Place quite enthusiastically as the guest experience very positive, and for the money you definitely get good value - i.e. a quality hotel experience where you feel like your money was well spent.

Room Tip: King Rooms have plenty of room for small groups to talk shop on business or families to hang out and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Elmer L,

Thank you for the thorough review of our hotel last weekend! We appreciate you pointing out all fo the details regarding our amenities. The oatmeal we serve on the breakfast is actually high quality steel-cut oatmeal prepared fresh daily, and comes with everything from brown sugar to nuts and fruit (as you pointed out).

I am particularly excited that you noted the service from our Housekeeping Hosts. We have a great team, and they are completely focused on delighting our guests.

We eagerly anticipate your return soon!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were extremely pleased with this hotel. It just opened a few months ago so everything is modern and new. The room was spacious and comfortable. The morning breakfast was hot and delicious. The rooms had energy conservation devices that I had never seen before, like putting your key in a slot to run the power and a/c. The locaton while out there a way was actually freeway close to all of North San Diego County and Escondido. What I absolutely liked the best was the friendliness of the staff which always makes a hotel stay so nice. We were sitting in the lobby our first night and the manager Michael approached us to introduce himself and made us feel very comfortable. Another thing I like was no parking fees which many of the San Diego hotels are now charging. I hope the staff here keeps up the good work, we really enjoyed our stay and will for sure be back.

Room Tip: They have energy efficient refridgerators in the rooms that make a clicking sound when they cycle on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmvend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Bmvend,

Thank you for your review of our hotel last month! We are excited that we were able to exceed your expectations with our suite of high-tech amenities as well as our service! I will pass along your comments to Michael, as I know he will be delighted with the feedback.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very nice hotel with ample parking and very helpful staff! Breakfast was good with the cook willing to make me a custom breakfast sandwich. Spotless room and facilities. Refrig in room and nice TV and shower.My 12 year loved it and the pull out bed. He asked if we could live here. Comfy bed. Was able to program my A/C just to the right temp. Easy access to Vista and La Costa. Good location if you have a car.

Room Tip: No view on the first floor, but easy to get in and out. No ice maker on this floor, but reception wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dentistmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesLavender, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Dentistmom,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay with us!

I'm delighted to hear that our Gallery Hosts met your needs in our a.m. Kitchen Skillet.

I also appreciate your praise for our rooms layout and sofa bed. Of course you can live here!

Please let us know the next time you are coming down.

Wes Lavender
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vista
4.9 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
5.0 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
#25 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad

Property: Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
Address: 2645 South Melrose Drive, Vista, CA 92081
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing