We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good... But”

Ciao Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #1 of 217 Restaurants in Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bonsall, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good... But”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We've eaten here several times... Not had the same experience as most reviewers... Marco's a block away... Not as flashy is our favorite!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tpguess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    29
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great place”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went due to a recommendation from our hotel. Went back the next night because it was soooo good. "Poolo" the manager, suggested wine and gave us some great travel tips for Italy. Say hello for us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
605 reviews
416 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian place in Vista”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited Ciao's for lunch. I had the Rigatoni Boscaioli and my friend had the Ciao Special pizza. Both were excellent and the portions more than generous. The décor is not outstanding, but it's neat and clean and the staff is friendly and attentive. I'd say Ciao's is a hidden treasure. The prices are very reasonable and it's a very nice comfortable place for a good Italian meal. Their menu includes appetizers, salads, baked dishes (Lasagna, etc.), Risotto, Gnocchi, pasta dinners, chicken, veal and seafood dishes, pizzas and desserts. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal, best Saltimbocca ever!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My dad, his girlfriend and I went here for dinner. It is not a fancy place but definitely not a dive either. Friendly attentive service with knowledgeable waiter who was very patient with my 90 year old dad who is a character. I had a glass of Mondavi cabernet and they each had an Italian Chianti. I ordered calamari fritti appetizer and it was fabulous. Crunchy outside, tender and moist inside. Came with lemon and ed sauce. We loved that. My dinner order was saltimbocca and it was the best i have ever had. The veal was very tender, the cheese melted perfectly over the prosciutto and the sauce was rich and velvety. Each mouthful was a pleasure with the texture and flavors perfectly melded. Finally we each had the quintessential Italian dessert- the cannoli. It was not greasy at all, stuffed fully and topped with whipped cream and maraschino cherries. Really a little over the top but delightful after a savory meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vnoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Vista”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

There's other places in North County that are good, but for my taste this one is best. Never had a bad meal

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ciao Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing