We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it! Must go whenever in the area!”
Review of Ciao Restaurant

Ciao Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 217 Restaurants in Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Ciao Restaurant has been serving fine Italian cuisine in an elegant family setting and catering to North County, San Diego for over 15 years.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it! Must go whenever in the area!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We discovered this place earlier this year. Couldn't wait to return. Visited twice this trip so we could try the pizza. We ordered Rustica - Excellent ! We added a side of roasted garlic - added it liberally to pizza. I love their roasted garlic. Have it with spaghetti, so simple but so good. We also love their chicken parmigiana and Fusilli con Pepperoni Rossi. One salad was enough for 4 people. Generous portions for a great price! Fed us for three meals.
Staff is very friendly, nice atmosphere! Lovely Christmas tree during holidays.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori_Db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    29
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
170 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food at a very good price.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very much a locals place but we were sent there by a nearby winery. The food is plentiful and good with very good service. They have a wine list but allow you to bring your own which is a nice touch. The Corkage fee was waived for the local winery bottle that we brought along.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dickpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Center, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Ciao's authentic restaurant is really a hidden treasure in the working class city of Vista, run by two Italian chefs with their endearing Chilean wives. The intimate buffet lunch on weekdays is delicious, fresh and well priced. The artichoke chicken is my favorite, with a beautiful walnut balsamic blue cheese salad, fresh pizzas, home made bread, etc. Weekend nights are busy and fun as well.
Ciao's also catered our school's Christmas banquet and our own daughter's wedding !! It was wonderful, complete with all of the tables, chairs, tablecloths, napkins, china, silver, and glassware. The chef came and prepared a four course meal with his wait-staff to spoil our guests, who have raved about it since. Enjoy !

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Al Dente!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I loved the rigatoni cooked al dente perfect and the Chicken Marsala is awesome. Fast service and a great atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Corey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“First time visit, won't be our last!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I've lived in Oceanside 10 years, and just now became aware of
the existence of this fabulous local gem of a family style Italian restaurant!
The dining area is warm , cozy and very Italian. The dinner choices
are numerous and entree costs are very reasonable.
The orders are large enough to be shared, and the wait staff
are very warm and friendly! The antipasto salad, spaghetti Carbonara and Pasta
stuffed shells with cheese and spinach were fabulous!
(ditto on all the comments made by "the bionicwoman"'s review.A large
group arriving as we were finishing made for a loud atmosphere)
This restaurant will likely become one of our favorites for Italian dining!
PS, we also are eating delicious leftovers as we type!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbB2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ciao Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing